1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 575 setup help please audio

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by CatManDo, Sep 26, 2005.

  1. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +242
    Hi there,

    Just received my shiny new Pioneer 575 today!

    I have it setup basic as follows:

    Scart to TV
    Coax cable to amp

    The only part I am not sure about it in the Initial settings menu, in Audio Output Mode the default is 2 channel, should this be set to 5.1 channel?

    I have read the manual but am not sure exactly what this means.

    Sorry if I am being stupid (again)

    TIA
     
  2. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +242
    PS

    Also on page 41 on the manual it talks about speaker settings, do I ignore this seeing as I am connected by digital coax cable to my amp?
     
  3. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    well, i dont own one of those myself (so dont take my words as gospel..lol) but i would imagine if you wanna watch a DVD then set to 5.1.....assuming that this setting is for the digital out.......it could be for the external outputs (ie DVD-A/SACD).....it cant harm your player to try both and see which gives you surround sound through your speakers....

    or wait till a 575 owner wakes up and answers...lol
     
  4. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    ohh, speaker settings i think would definitely only be if you are letting the DVD player do the decoding, if you going straight to amp by digital coax then im pretty sure you can ignore those....

    bear in mind if you want dvd-a/sacd discs to work, you will need to connect by 3 pairs of analogue phono cables from dvd player to amp, so make sure your amp has external input sockets before u buy the cables...or sacd/dvd-a discs..lol
     
  5. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +242
    Thanks for the quick replies Knyght byte, this is starting to make sense, the manual does say that for the speaker settings you only need to specify if you are "connected using 5.1 channel analogue outputs, these settings do no affect any digital audio output"

    I also take on board what you are saying about dvd-a/sacd disks, will check my amp to see if it has the necessary inputs (will ultimately be buying a new one!)

    Thanks again
     
  6. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    no problems dude...

    easy to check the amp, on the back you will have 6 phono style sockets, labelled front left, front right, center, rear left, rear right, subwoofer in.
    they may be labelled as Front L Front R Center Rear L Rear R Sub
    or variations......basically if you look on the back of your DVD player you see 6 phono outputs labelled the same as what i just said, so look for a similar cluster on your amp.....tbh most brand name amps will have them (by brand name i mean good brand, yamaha, denon, pioneer, etc)....if your amp was too cheap then it might not...if it was a few hundred pounds brand new or more then it should have them....
     
  7. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +58
    Sounds correct to me. 5.1 will send full 5.1 down your digital co-ax to your amp for decoding, 2.0 will send a downmixed version of it.

    Speaker settings in the 575 only affects the analogue outputs, so leave them at defaults if your amp manages volume / delay settings for its 5.1 analogue inputs.

    HTH
     
  8. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +212
    I've done this with my 565. A problem worth mentioning is that when you set the dvd player to output 5.1....it works wonderfully via the amp but when you want to listen through the TV stereo speakers it seems to send only the left and right audio of the 5.1 track. So in other words you don't get all the soundl. So I end up having to switch between 2channel & 5.1. Most anouying. My Tosh never did that.
     
  9. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +242
    Thanks for the advice guys.

    I have left the speaker setting alone, but have changed the audio output mode to 5.1 .

    Seems like a nice little player, just need a new amp now!
     
  10. emporer

    emporer
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,077
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,640
    That annoys the hell out of me too, there are times when you don't want the amp on and just want it through the telly, very annoying indeed.
     
  11. giger

    giger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +8
    Also never knew this. However using component for the video the sound is currently only output to my amp via coaxial so not too annoying. Just won't bother hooking the audio up to the TV now.
     
  12. Degas

    Degas
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Changing the speaker settings allows you to set up the size of your speakers, either full size or mini and the distance from viewer, for example 3m away from you for your front speakers and 1m away from you for your rear speakers, so you may want to have a play with these settings.
     
  13. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +58
    Hmmm, I thought if you connected your TV to the 2 stereo outs (rather than the L&R of the analogue 5.1 outs), then you got stereo even when it was set to 5.1 output.

    Can't remember though - might give that a try. Either way, it's not that hard to change it in the player's menu!
     
  14. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +212

    May have fixed it in the 575. Hope for your sake they have :)

    I have it connected to my tv via scart...would have thought it would only try and send a stereo signal through that wouldn't you :suicide: I find it easy to do but my mrs and her 80 year old parents don't find it that easy. They think I'm talking plute when I try and explain that and the quattro+ :rotfl:
     
  15. mystic_bertie

    mystic_bertie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    i have same player and connected in same way with scart and coax

    i just checked my menu and settings, i think the 2ch and 5.1 you refer to is under speaker settings, i dont think this affects the digital coax output, i may be wrong but i think these settings only affect whether the audio is output from the multi 5.1 outputs or the 2ch outputs.

    if your using the coax output i dont think it makes any difference.

    someone may correct or agree with me on this
     
  16. Ziggy

    Ziggy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't do anything to set mine up, as i have a 575. I just conected the player via coaxial digital out to the amp and it seems to all work just fine. I use dolby pro logic 2 on tv via an optical digital out of the back of the sky + box to my amp and when i turn on the dvd player and you start the film/disc it automatically changes to dolby digital. I think it should be left on bit stream ? The way i'm reading it is that you need to change the audio output mode setting to 5.1 if you intend to use the multichannel analog outputs. I think ?
     
  17. sarnison

    sarnison
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone tell me whether there is any reason to use the analogue out if you are not intending to use SACD or DVD-A ?

    Do the analogue out's have an advantage over digital out watching DVD's ?

    cheers
    Steve
     
  18. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    I have the 5.1 outs hooked up to my AV amp primarily for SACD/DVD-A. But I have also on occasion used them while watching a film ie using the DVD player's internal decoders for DD/DTS instead of my amp. I found the perfoemance very impressive. The only reason I use my Yamaha DSP-A5 more is because it can do further surround modes which make the sound even more spacious. But for bog standard decoding the Pio 575 is very good.

    But in answer to your question, no there isn't any reason to have the 5.1 channels hooked up if you are not bothered about SACD/DVD-A.

    ...PJ
     
  19. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    pretty much what the man says........

    basically the analogue in/outs for multichannel turn your amp in to a power amp......the amp does no processing other than amplification.....this is useful if you have an amp that you like the analogue amplification of, but has crap or older digital processing ability.....you can buy a decent DVD player and use its digital decoding and the amp just to amplify.....(whether its CD, DVD, DVD-A or SACD)

    when i watch a film that i know isnt so great in DD-EX Matrix (ie an older disc that wasnt intended to be EX'd) then i often use my 3910's decoding as its fractionally better than my 3803 amp on DD....however with DTS-ES Matrix, i havnt found a disc i dont like, and my amp seems more capable with DTS anyhow...lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...