1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 575 - Firmware

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by OneEyedStuart, Nov 19, 2004.

  1. OneEyedStuart

    OneEyedStuart
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4,872
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +833
  2. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Apparently it will according to an earlier thread regarding this - HOWEVER, I called Pioneer about this and the tech support a)knew nothing about it and b) commented I was the second person that day who'd asked. He disappeared and came back and said yes it will be available, took my details and said they'd call me when they had more details.

    Good job I didn't hold my breath - still heard nothing from them.
     
  3. OneEyedStuart

    OneEyedStuart
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4,872
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +833
    Thanks, I'll hold off then.

    KH
     
  4. rockyglw

    rockyglw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    No it will not kill your multi-region and RCE setting. I have upgraded with the latest firmware and not only has it solved the problems I was having with DVD AUDIO disks, but has not changed multregion facilities. Go ahead and upgrade, but do use the official firmware available from Pioneer or on www.avland.co.uk/pioneer/dv575/dv575.htm site. Avland even state that multi region remains unchanged! :thumbsup:
     
  5. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    I sit corrected (although I was only quoting what was said by someone else on an earlier thread).

    I'm more mystified that I can download it from AVLand's site - but still nothing from Pioneer themselves :eek:
     
  6. Cool-hand

    Cool-hand
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Middle East
    Ratings:
    +77
    Hi

    Very good having a firmware upgrade on a £150 player... I don't think even Arcam are this responsive! Does the FW UPGrade work or did you encounter any problems?

    CH
     
  7. rockyglw

    rockyglw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    As I said it worked 100%, did not have any problems. Emailed Pioneer who sent firmware on CD-ROM within 3 days. Just a case of putting disk in player and selecting play when requested. Settings such as RGB have to be reset as machine returns to factory defaults, except multi region that is. Superb value for a player that cost me £119 from Richer sounds. :)
     
  8. Cool-hand

    Cool-hand
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Middle East
    Ratings:
    +77
    Hi again.

    I downloaded the firmware upgrade this afternoon and used nero to burn an image. All very easy and worked completely. Disc spins for about .1 of a second then takes a few minutes to complete the upgrade.
    I now find certain RCE discs play straight away and are not so hit 'n miss!!

    Thanks Keith

    CH
     
  9. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,845
    Is there anything else that this firmware does/improves?
     
  10. Dillz

    Dillz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +8
    I believe the main improvement is that you can now see divx subtitles, and it seems to switch on quicker (or is that my imagination!)
     
  11. OneEyedStuart

    OneEyedStuart
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4,872
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +833
    Thanks for all the updated information guys. I have downloaded the firmare from avland. will burn it to disc later.

    KH
     
  12. Pug72

    Pug72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +271
    I can also report that I did the upgrade without a hitch.
     
  13. OneEyedStuart

    OneEyedStuart
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4,872
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +833
    Thanks for all the confirmation guys, upgraded the player's firmware with no problems.

    KH
     
  14. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    what is this player like with divx files, i have lots of avi files of tv shows on my computer, can i play thes on this player, if so do i just burn them to cd or dvd as avi files and the player will autimatically play them
     
  15. rickardl

    rickardl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +127
    Yes, if you press Play, it will play them in directory order.
    If you press MENU, you can navigate to which avi you want to watch.
     
  16. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    cool thats just what i need, just need to find anyone with stock
     
  17. OneEyedStuart

    OneEyedStuart
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4,872
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +833
    Hi,

    try multiregionmagic.co.uk

    they are more expensive than most others out there for the 575 but they do have stock.

    Regards
    Keith Hurst
     
  18. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    managed to reseve one at a richer sounds store , pick it up tomorrow
     
  19. OneEyedStuart

    OneEyedStuart
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4,872
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +833
    That'll be the one nr the St Encoh's centre then. I remember getting my first SubWoofer from there, an Eltax A-12R, then trying to carry it all the way beck to Queen Street. Needless to say I got 20 yards before going back to the shop and asking them to call a cab for me :laugh:
     
  20. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    The new firmware also adds ogg support as well as subtitle to divx.
     
  21. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871

    that was my first port of call, but they are not getting any in till wednesday, i managed to reserve one in the liverpool store as my brother is in liverpool tomorrow and he can get it for me
     

Share This Page

Loading...