1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 565 and RGB mode

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Vodder, Jan 29, 2004.

  1. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't know if this is the right part of the forum but...

    When switching to RGB from video mode on the DVD player, the resolution becomes extremly better (like it should) however the whole screen moves to the left. So much so that I actually can't see about 1cm as its off the screen. If I revert back to video mode then I can see everything again.

    Exactly the same happens with the freeview box, if I switch RGB on then part of the Sky News clock disappears.

    Could it be the fact that its all currently rigged up to a normal 4:3 28" Sony? The scart socket on the TV is RGB enabled. Any ideas?
     
  2. Zacabeb

    Zacabeb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    This happens on lots of TV's and it is caused by the RGB signal getting its synchronization from the composite signal in the SCART cable. The synchronization must first be separated from the composite signal, and before (and while?) this happens, it may get delayed. As a result, the TV starts drawing each line a little too late, making the RGB picture itself start drawing 'too early', i.e. further to the left.

    Some TV's compensate for this and some don't, but it is a common problem. It's probably more common on 50Hz sets, since 100Hz sets may easily compensate for this in their digital processing.
     
  3. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for the info.

    Its quite an old TV, so I don't know the refresh rate.

    Is there anything I do about it? Apart from buying a new TV!

    If I get a widescreen TV will that stop the prob, or is it all down to the refresh rate?
     
  4. Zacabeb

    Zacabeb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    Newer TV's may still have this problem, even 100Hz sets I think. The best way if you want to buy a new set, is to find out if the problem is there by actually testing it in the store.

    I don't know what can be done about it on your set. If you won't use non-RGB sources much, an engineer may be able to adjust the set so that the screen is optimally centered with RGB input.
     
  5. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bummer - looks like its normal video mode from now on then...
     
  6. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,260
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,200
    You could always draw up a short list of TV's and ask the guys on the forum if they have the same TV and DVD player if there are any compatibility problems.

    I seem to remember some one saying Pioneer and the Panasonic caused problems and body else remember this post?
     
  7. Johndl

    Johndl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    S Devon
    Ratings:
    +8
    I've got a 50" Sony RP and find the problem more complex. All my connections are RGB. On dvd the pic is always correctly placed. From Sky+ it is mainly correct, but lots of anomalies. The main news in the studio is correct, with outside broadcast offset. The local news is all offset. Most other programs are correct. So it seems also to do with how it's broadcast.
     
  8. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    My brother has a Sony 28" widescreen, don't know what model, but when he runs the Sky box on RGB everything is absolutely perfect.
     
  9. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,260
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,200
    I run my 565 on a Loewe OK and my last player (Grundig) on a Sony and Panasonic both on RGB. But as I say I seem to remember them being some issues with the Pan and Pioneer and each was blaming the other.
    Mind you it could have been a one off which is more than likely.
     
  10. Stew

    Stew
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    will an RGB only scart lead correct this problem?
     
  11. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,358
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +145
    For the sake of 1cm superior RGB :confused:
     
  12. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know 1cm doesnt sound a lot, but it makes the freeview really bad, you get a big white streak down the right hand side and I ain't sure that will be doing the TV anygood.

    I've enabled it on the DVD player though, as it doesn't seem to effect the film too much and I haven't found a menu yet that isn't all in the middle.
     
  13. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,260
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,200
    For the 1 cm you could always go into the service menu an stretch the screen out if your bothered about the black line but then you will miss 1cm at the other side.

    Or move the picture horizontally but will have the black band on the other side on normal TV.:(
     
  14. kev3

    kev3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am experiencing the same problems..
    I've got a newish tv a Panasonic TX-32PB50 its 100Hz.
    1 cm is'nt a lot, but its annoying as hell to think you're not getting the best out of your new dvd player!

    Anyone got any more information on this?
    Or a way to correct this?!

    Cheers.
     
  15. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +527
    My brother has a Sony KV32FQ75 now replaced by the FQ80 (I assume?)

    Anyway the instruction booklet for this model specifically mentions the RGB jump to the right scenario and has the ability to adjust accordingly just for that particular RGB input.

    Hope that helps!
     
  16. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,510
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,850
    Ive got the 565 and the Panasonic TX-32PB50 and do not get this problem. So it must be fixable. I'm using an RGB only scart lead - can't remember the make of it but it cost about £50 and was recommended by the mags at the time.
     
  17. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    922
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    After messing around with this player and my Panasonic tv I have noticed that when a PAL disc has been played the RGB seems to be centred but insert an NTSC disc and off it ( the player's menus ) goes to the left, bob in another PAL disc and problem solved.
    I do unfortunately have to watch NTSC disc via S-video due to a strange line type effect.
    I bought this player to replace a Sony 900v for more relliable DVD-R and SACD/DVD-A, unfortunately it seems I still need to use them both, so not such a "universal" player.Shame really.
    Ged
     
  18. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    I sent off for this player the other day(not got it yet)anyone got any probs with a philips tv.
     
  19. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    922
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    This line problem was something I retuned a Mico player to Sainsbury's for, I wonder if they are of the same production line?
     
  20. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I don't know what I've done but its fixed!!! Perfect RGB picture centred on the TV via DVD or the Freeview box!!! :clap:

    I've now connected my VCR, DVD and the freeview via all the scart sockets using the loopthrough method, and now when the VCR is switched to line 1 - the TV shows perfect RGB when set to RGB mode!!!

    :smoke:
     
  21. kev3

    kev3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using a decent Ixos RGB scart, but still get this prob, anyways..
    I managed to get into the service menu of my TX-32PB50, moved the picture to the right a bit.. Solved my probs!
     
  22. BAD Dave

    BAD Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dundee
    Ratings:
    +18
    I have been thinking of buying a Pioneer 565 DVd player for a while now.
    Does anyone know whether or not I am likely to experience R1 RGB banding problems with my Panasonic TX-32DK1 TV?
    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...