Pioneer 540: Disable GuidePlus+ downloads?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by cpm, Aug 13, 2006.

  1. cpm

    cpm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    My Pioneer DVR-540HX keeps waking me up by updating its GuidePlus+ info at (I think) 3am and 5am every day *yawn* :mad:

    I only want to use the built-in FreeView tuner - no Sky / cable / analogue. It's still doing it despite setting the EPG Type to Digital EPG and removing all the country / postcode info from the GuidePlus+ system.

    Is there an alternative to unplugging it when I'm not using it? I'm bound to forget to plug it in when timer-recoding etc.
     
  2. carcher

    carcher
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I think if you remove your postcode from the setup screens it will stop the guide plus downloads.
     
  3. cpm

    cpm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks. I've tried that (it's set to "None") - it still starts up for about 7 minutes or so (reading elsewhere, it usually takes hours so it looks like it stops a short way into the process).

    Before I bought it, I read about it on these forums and thought that this was all that was required, but evidently not. I've changed the Country from "United Kingdom" to "Other" to try and stop it too.

    [edit]: Just found that the manual (on Page 52) says removing the postcode is sufficient too. I've only had it a few days and it says "Updating" (IIRC, I was half-asleep) instead of "EPG" (as per the manual), so maybe it's doing something else.
     
  4. Damian1978

    Damian1978
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,519
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Fleetwood, Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +262
    You can change the EPG to Digital but it will still check for updates to DTT channels and software. Mine seems to do it in the afternoon. It may do it at night but I'm in another room.
     
  5. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +460
    Hi

    Sounds like it is checking for new digital channels and/or software updates, both of which may be disabled from the setting menus.

    Regards

    Phil
     
  6. cpm

    cpm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Excellent idea - I hadn't thought of that. I'll give it a go. Thank you very much Damian and Phil. :)
     
  7. cpm

    cpm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Update: It's still doing it :mad:

    I switched off auto update (Initial Setup > Options > Software Update > Auto Update = Off), but I couldn't find any option to disable automatically scanning for new FreeView channels. It's now only updating for about 3, rather than 7, minutes each time though.
     
  8. cpm

    cpm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    According to Pioneer there's no way to stop it happening - apparently the vast majority of users don't find it a problem. Also it's not designed for use in a bedroom. :confused:

    Looks like I'll just have keep unplugging it when I'm not using it. :mad:
     
  9. Ysl

    Ysl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what I do :

    I set a dummy timer, just one minute ahead of the Guide+ update, with a duration of 2 minutes.

    Because of this, when the guide+ want to update, it is not possible because my DVR530 is recording (for 2 min.) and then it stop.

    So this is not the perfect solution but it may help

    Ysl
     
  10. knotpc

    knotpc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +18
    Or just leave the machine ON!
    All the parts of the DVD recorder will outlast the DVD drive anyway.

    Regards
    knotpc
     
  11. cpm

    cpm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the replies. :)

    Starting up to record a 2-minute programme will make just as much noise as starting up to "update" (GuidePlus+ is disabled (no postcode set), so it only starts for about 3 minutes at the moment, rather than several hours).

    I don't think leaving it on is ideal either - it'd be making a noise all the time and using lots (well, 28W I measure) of electricity.
     
  12. knotpc

    knotpc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +18
    AS a matter of interest how much does it use instanby and how much when downloading (and cooling)

    Regards
    knotpc
     
  13. cpm

    cpm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    In standby, it goes between 1 & 2W (power save mode 1 / front panel off). The resolution of the meter is 1W though.

    Presumably downloading is pretty similar to when it's just sitting there on but not playing or recording (i.e. around 28W).

    Playing from hard disk = 30W
    Playing DVD = 34W
    High speed HD to DVD = 38W

    Measured using this:
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=38343
    I've heard that it's been on offer (around half price IIRC) in the past.
     
  14. knotpc

    knotpc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +18
    CPM

    Cheers:beer:

    Regards
    knotpc
     
  15. MikeMcr

    MikeMcr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Ratings:
    +18
    Did you ever find a way to permanently disable GuidePlus? I was planning on getting a 540 for the bedroom (so has to be quiet when off) but this "feature" is a showstopper.
     
  16. MikeMcr

    MikeMcr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Ratings:
    +18
    Just an update; I got hold of a 530 instead and it does NOT do any kind of update after I reset the system (and obviously not set up GuidePlus). Completely silent at night :clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice