Pioneer 520H (HDD recording problem)

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ricfleming, Dec 5, 2004.

  1. ricfleming

    ricfleming
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi - can anyone out there with a Pioneer DVD recorder (either the 420H,520H, or 720H) tell me if when recording to the HDD whether it should automatically insert chapters every 10 or 15 minutes (depending on what you've selected in the setup menus).

    The chapter markers are automatically inserted when recording direct to a DVD-R or DVD-RW, but not the hard disk. I've read the manual front to back, but it doesn't specifically state whether it should auto insert chapter markers whilst recording to the hard disk.

    I've logged a message on the Pioneer support site, but nothing back from them yet,

    Many thanks for any advice.
     
  2. Mikey45

    Mikey45
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ric - my experience with my 720 is the same as yours - I was also disappointed that recording to disk does not create chapter marks as pre-supposed.
     
  3. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chapter marks are not added on HDD recording.They are added when you copy to DVD.If you use real time copying they will be added every 5 or 10 minutes,but if you have recorded at the correct quality level to enable high speed copy to disc,you can insert chapter points on the HDD recording where you want them and they will be retained on the dvd-but only in HSC
     
  4. satbunny

    satbunny
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1
    HSC?
    Which quality levels?

    Thanks for your help..
     
  5. ktng

    ktng
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    HSC = high speed copy

    What quality levels - You can insert manual chapters on all quality levels, but I think high speed copy is only available on the standard quality levels (Fine/SP/LP/EP).
     
  6. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    High speed Copy works at any rate, providing you don't change the rate from HDD to DVD.
    If you record at standard SP this is MN21. If you had 140 minute recording this would still fit a DVD-R in SP mode, but at MN19. The HSC will not be available and custom chapters points are ignored. Fixed chapter points will be inserted accoring to initial settings - page 107.

    The table on page 118 of the manual shows all the modes/times.
     
  7. ktng

    ktng
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0

    Well that's what I had hoped, but I recorded a music documentary to HDD at MN18 (150 mins); by the time I had removed adverts the running time came in at 134 mins. Tried to copy that to both DVD-RW and DVD-R using the same quality and it said High Speed Copy was not available :confused:

    So hence my original comment + the table on page 61 only gives details of the standard recording modes when discussing HSC.
     
  8. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    You recorded it at MN18,so you would need to transfer it to DVD in MN18,even though the finished edit was shorter
     
  9. ktng

    ktng
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I did transfer at MN18, but the only way I could use HSC was on DVD-RW in VR mode; DVD-RW in Video mode and DVD-R both said that HSC was not available :confused:
     
  10. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    Some time ago I did a number of tests for HSC. Have a look at http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=157301
    - it may help.
     
  11. ktng

    ktng
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the link eddyad. Looks like it was because it was a 16:9 recording with frame accurate on then. Looks like I would have been ok if I'd used MN19, but didn't think that the 3 hour documentary would get below the 140mins on removing the adverts. Oh well I will know for the future :lesson:
     
  12. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    You can 'convert' your recording to SP like this (bit tedious):

    1. In Initial Setup, Recording: set Manual Recording to On, Frame Accurate: On
    2. HSC HDD > RVD-RW VR mode
    3. Real time copy DVD > HDD specifying MN19 (this is possible because you set Manual in 1 above)
    4. Edit, Insert chapter marks as you wish
    5. HSC HDD > DVD-R (video mode)

    Set Manual Recording Off if you want to avoid HDD recordings in other than the standard SP, LP etc modes by mistake.
     
  13. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe HSC is impossible completely with Frame Accurate switched on
     
  14. ktng

    ktng
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    HSC definitely works in SP (preset rather than MN19-MN32) with Frame Accurate switched on, although the source material that I have used has either been all 4:3 or a mixture of 4:3 and 16:9.
     
  15. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    I had an LP HDD recording of a 30 min 16:9 TV program (Mastermind) and went through the procedure I described above. After step 3 the HDD copy showed as MN19. At step 4 I inserted three random chapter marks.
    The copy to DVD-R video flagged up on the Conf List display as High Speed taking 3 mins and about 850MB of 4454 available on the blank DVD - about a fifth of MN19 - 140 mins capacity. I didn't complete the copy (waste of a DVD) but it worked as I suggested.
     
  16. compuman

    compuman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    i have some problem with Pioneer dvr-520h

    When I make high speed copy from hdd to dvd on verbatim dvd-r 8x the disc is unreadable...

    I maje 4 test, all the disc have the same problem:
    on 20% of disc the disc is unreadable

    With sony dvd-r 8x all is ok

    Can it be normal?
    Ora I have to take back the dvd-recorder ?

    someone can help me?
     
  17. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    I've made transfers to DVD in LP and SP modes, of 4:3 and 16:9 material on DVD-R and DVD-RW video mode (for reuse) without problems.
    I have only used Maxell disks - 4x DVD-R and 2x DVD-RW.
    One of the HSC DVD-Rs gave 2h 24min in MN19, which is supposed to stop at 2h 20m but the recording fitted OK based on size.

    I don't make many DVD recordings, so I haven't bothered with 8x.
    But as Verbatim 8x are shown in the 'tested' list on page 61 of the manual I think I'd contact Pioneer. I've found their tech support guys in the UK very helpful.
     
  18. compuman

    compuman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to make many dvd-r
    I buy the dvd-recorder for this
    ;)

    I will record the movie on HD, edit it, and put it on dvd-r
    All in high speed copy mode.

    So if I have some problem with this copy mode I have to change the dvd-recorder.

    I don't understand why pioneer don't give the possibility to limit/chahge the burn speed.
    Why there is only "high-speed"?
    and not the list: 8x, 4x, 2x, 1x, real time (fine, sp, lp...)

    This is what I need (what ALL need to use low cost dvd-r and limit burn speed)
    :(

    Can I wish in a future upgrade?
    :lease:
     
  19. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
  20. compuman

    compuman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thaks for the link, but there don't compare the problem with verbatim 8x that I have...

    So I post a new thread...
    :cool:

    I only want to know if I have to take back my dvd-record (if the other dvd-520h write correctly verbatim dvd-r 8x) or if is normal that it don't write this dvd-r

    :lease:
    thanks to all
     
  21. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    Unfortunately some machines just do not get on well with some types of media. You could find another machine is OK - or not.
    This forum has many comments from people who have found that their machines are OK with one media type but not others. In general it seems that cheap disks are not as reliable as others.
    If you feel strongly about Verbatim (is there a real problem with using other types?) then you could change the machine if your supplier agrees. Point out that Verbatim is a Pioneer-approved 8x media. If you like the Pioneer I think you should not change to a different make. The Pioneer has very flexible copy facilities.
    Also, if you are happy with 4x writing then use 4x disks. Personally, I never write audio or data CDs at very high speeds.
     
  22. compuman

    compuman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank for the help.
    I don't have problem to use other media.
    My problem is that I have 50 dvd-r verbatim (because I thought that they was good)
    :mad:

    Now I know the true!!!
    The verbatim dvd-r 8x have some problem (many people with pioneer have some problem)
    I try Sony, Philips, TDK, Nashua, Maxell with success write.

    Now I make the final test: Verbatim dvd-r 16x (new model)
    The dvd-recorded don't see that as 8x media, so burn the dvd-r at 4x speed.
    The dvd-r result very good !!!
    :thumbsup:

    So I have problem only with verbatim dvd-r 8x burn at 8x speed.
    :thumbsdow

    I think that a new firmware that limit the write speed on verbatim at 4x speed is necessary.

    Maybe if we contact pioneer ...
    Maybe....
     
  23. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    Use the Verbatim 8x disks when you need to burn 'real time', as you said in the other thread that they are OK in real time.

    Altenatively, if you bought the disks in a store you could try retuning them to the store as unsatisfactory, particularly now you have results from other makes which are OK on your 520.
     

Share This Page

Loading...