Pioneer 5100 - are the hard disks noisy?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by bluesfan, May 5, 2004.

  1. bluesfan

    bluesfan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm after the Pioneer 5100 but if the hard disk is noisy I might just buy a single DVD disc type. How noisy are the hard disks- with quiet music/passages?
     
  2. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Under normal use,you will not even know you are using a HDD.
     
  3. bluesfan

    bluesfan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ta, will go ahead. Nicest looking recorder by miles.
     
  4. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't forget,if you don't have sky+ with an s-video output,your digital tv recordings will be a bit below par as the 5100 has no RGB input.Howver,I think you will fnd its an excellent machine,offering goodies not available on any other HDD/DVDR currently
     
  5. finchy72

    finchy72
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there,

    i just got the 5100 and yes the hdd does hum a little (no more than a pc hd though) i've been watching tv and movies and it hasn't bothered me in the slightest. i can only hear it when it's absolute silence and even then it's not too bad.

    when you get your 5100 check out my post about combining chapters. i can't seem to do it so it would be great if you could offer any advice

    cheers
     
  6. JH4

    JH4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +219
    Interesting point about combining chapters. On a self made DVD, each chapter point goes back to the menu which causes a momentary picture freeze. Is that your symptom ? PM me if you want to swap info.
    Another point - although it has long recording capabability, the 5100 will only record for a maximum of 6 hours at a single title, whichever way you set it up, either "one touch" or timed, even to the hard drive. Do any other machines offer more ?
    No discernable disc noise tho.
     
  7. finchy72

    finchy72
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah it's the picture freeze i don't want! i am editing scenes together on the hdd for copy onto a dvd -R. i figured the way to correct the pic freeze was to combine the chapters but it tells the function is not allowed
     
  8. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    6 hours is the max on the Panny HS2(so presumably all of them) and even on Sky+ aswell.
    Regarding freezing-a thing to try is to alter the "frame accurate editing" setting.With this switched on,you can't high speed copy,but I believe it eliminates freezing at chapter edits.I don't know for sure,but try it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...