1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 506 XDE settings

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Sooren, Oct 5, 2005.

  1. Sooren

    Sooren
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Beccles Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi
    Have had a Pioneer 506 XDE for a couple of weeks now and wondered if anyone has had their screen isa calibrated yet and if they are willing to share their settings with this thread. If not Im sure we would be greatful to share their current settings, I will post mine this weekend.
    regards all.
     
  2. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    ISF settings will depend on the situation the panel is displayed in, ambient light, and a whole host of other matters that can influence a correct setup. Each install will be different and each calibration will also be different. It is not fair to ISF calibrators to suggest that getting one setup and simply copying the results on a load of others will be correct, there is a lot more to a proper calibration than just entering in the same numbers each time. have a read on the ISF web site for an in depth document on what can be achieved and why. Panels also vary in batches too.....
     
  3. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Graham,

    Well said.
     
  4. Sooren

    Sooren
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Beccles Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks for the reply. I guess if I had £250 spare I would get mine calibrated along with most people. I would happily pay but Im not sure if I would be better waiting until Sky HD is rolled out and getting it done then.
    Irispective of this there are a lot of people who will not go down this route and will want to try other peoples settings to compare and try and improve on their picture quality. This surely what forums are all about.
    regards
     
  5. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    I'm not beefing about anyone sharing settings just agreeing with what Graham posted. If anyone had had their 506 ISF calibrated the settings honestly wouldn't give an ISF calibrated type of picture on another 506 in another location. Sure, they might well be much better than the out of the box settings but not ISF calibrated. The last 10% is what makes the wow factor and that doesn't come from someone else's settings.
     
  6. 6022tivo

    6022tivo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +81
    I think the £250 for ISF calibration is pooh to be honest.

    Below are a Few settings I have picked up from various threads for the 505/506.

    I have set mine up as these and am more than happy with the results.



    Contrast 25
    Brightness +8
    Color -10
    sharpness -2
    Mpegd low
    Dnr low
    Cti on
    Dre off
    Cinema off
    Color temp. mid

    Contrast: 27
    Brightness: +7
    Colour: -4
    Tint: 0
    Sharpness: -2
    Mpeg: Low
    DNY: Low
    CTi: On
    DRE: Off
    ADV: Off
    COLOUR TEMP: mid/low


    Contrast: 27
    Brightness: +7
    Colour: -9
    Tint: 0
    Sharpness: -2
    Mpeg: Low
    DNY: Low
    CTi: On
    DRE: Off



    Contrast:25
    Brightness:+8
    Colour:-10
    Tint:0
    Sharpness:-1
    ADV
    Colourset:hand
    Mpeg:low
    Dnr:low
    Cti:eek:n
    Dre:eek:ff
     
  7. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    £250 for ISF calibration is pooh. Fair enough you clearly aren't a potential customer.

    The 436 and 506 have ISF day and ISF night modes built in. To calibrate these modes you need new software - circa £750.

    Your settings look good without ISF, ever thought about what might result from switching ADV on?
     
  8. 6022tivo

    6022tivo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +81
    I may try a tweak the settings with ADV on??. I have spoken to Pioneer, and they have given me some great advice about the setup.

    Unfortunatly I do think professional ISF calibration, or the calibration you are offering if you do? Is expensive. I like having a go myself, it makes it more fun.
     
  9. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also own a beautiful PDP-436, I calibrated it to following settings:

    Constras 32
    Brightness -1
    Color -10
    Sharpness 0
    Mpgnr: off
    DNR: off
    AVL: ON
    GAMMA: 3

    I cant's understand the posted settings in this thread.
    Why set the brightness at +7 or +8? It makes the black to all gray and wash out the depth of the picture. Is it nessesary?
     
  10. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    TINT: 0
    CTI: ON
    DRE: OFF
    Colortemp: MID
    Pure cinema: AVD (only activated when watching a NTSC movie)
    HZ Settings: 100 hz for PAL (Freeview/PAL DVD)
     
  11. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used a lot of time calibrating, both with several dvd movies, THX optimizing and demo dvd's.
    Piers/Graham, how would you comment my settings?
    ISF would be wonderful, but I live in Denmark :eek:)
     
  12. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,785
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +667

    I agree, I think you should loose a bit of detail in the dark areas to get a deeper black, as this is what gives you real depth in a picture. You will notice a washed out imagestraight away, however you don't know that there maybe some detail missing in the dark areas unless you know the disc really well.
    I am sure alot of people wil disagree with that, but that's how I would prefer it.
     
  13. Blade10

    Blade10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody else???
     
  14. blossom

    blossom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +15
    I got mine yesterday. Haven't really had a chance to have a good play with it yet. All I have done is reduce the contrast to 10 for running in and put it to 100hz. Left everything else as was out of the box. I know that the brightness is on 0 and also colour is 0. Can't remember the rest will check later.

    I have to say that I think the picture is awsome. Running Sky thru RGB on input 1 and the freeview channels from loft aerial there is nothing to choose between them. They are both just great.

    Put a DVD on through component from a cheap progressive Toshiba player and it was like Spiderman was in my front room ( OK I'm sure the novelty will wear off but at the moment I think it is the dogs b....cks. ). Will have to get an HDMI player now.

    Cheers

    Paul
     
  15. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    The human eye is lousy at measuring......The reason why calibration costs money is down the equipment needed to measure the result acurately, ask anyone that has bought the kit...... You will never get close using your eyes alone. Getting a screen to track accurately the entire grey scale (which your eye is sensitive to) and colour balance needs this kit, anyone that says they can do it by eye doesn't understand how that bit of your body works. I'd never comment on a set of numbers, I'd come and measure your screen under normal viewing conditions and post how far it is out though, if you paid me...... Proper calibration can make a large difference in most cases. It is nothing more than luck to take a unit out of the box and it measures correct. I'm not saying it can't happen but I've not seen it. When you consider that people pay thousands of pounds for a top notch plasma screen (or projector), geting the very best out of it is a reasonable thing to do. I know many ISF calibrators that would spend several hours adjusting the finer elements of a screen to get it as close as the technology allows, if anyone thinks they can get the same by copying someone else's settings they are almost certainly mistaken. I personally take the view that copying someone else's ISF calibrated settings (which as we have said may not be right at all for your setup) is on a par with spending several hours in a dealer demo room listening to lots of different speakers and then buying them from an internet retailer. It is not good for quality or the AV business as a whole, all I would ask is that people appreciate this and the damage to someone's business this can do. ISF is a genuine service if done properly.
    Rant over.
     
  16. symphara

    symphara
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +33
    Just wondering... can't the people doing ISF calibrations ensure the secrecy of the settings through the contract? I know you're going to say the settings are useless for anyone else, but if the subject is sensitive enough for this type of rants it might be worth it? After all, it's a rather expensive service (please note - that's not to say bad value).

    </symphara>
     
  17. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,785
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +667
    It doesn't matter, let people share settings, they are useless.

    Have you seen the service procedure to calibrate a set when it comes off the line ready to ship, it tells them how to set it up correctly for each input and each frequency, and once done they have to then zero the contols in the service menu and the user menu, so this is the reference point.
    But each screen is done individually, you are relying on one person getting your screen right, and do you think they sit there for 2-3 hours in a dark room to make sure it is perfect? Of course they don't, every screen is different, so how can you share greyscale settings?

    You can share brightness, contrast saturation and hue but most people will be able to see when their screen looks best using these settings, it is the stuff that your eyes can't tell is wrong (until it is right) that you can't share.
     
  18. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Exactly ;)
     
  19. Munin

    Munin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also calibrated my 506XDE with DVE, and brightness had to be set at -1, 0 or +1 depending on the input. +7 or +8 is way to high.
     
  20. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Remember people that any user setting depends on where the factory set the zero point........ Numbers mean little, measure the display for the truth..... Who knows, +8 might be right for that chap due to factory defaults.......
     

Share This Page

Loading...