1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 504HDE - no HDMI input!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Brogan, Oct 18, 2003.

  1. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I've just downloaded the 504HDE Operating Instructions from the Pioneer UK website and there is absolutely no mention at all of the HDMI input!

    Am I missing something?
    I thought this was the big thing about this new plasma? :confused:

    Here's a pic of the rear panel of the media receiver and as you can see, input 3 is only scart and component (Nos. 11 and 7 respectively)...

    [​IMG]
     
  2. andya

    andya
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +26
    hi its definetly got one because i saw one today at the manchester video and hifi show,so it must be a printing error on pioneers behalf
     
  3. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    That's reassuring.
    I wonder if it's an old manual then which was printed before the specs were finalised.

    P.S. How did it look?
     
  4. andya

    andya
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +26
    through hdmi it looked amazing really improving the image without it i thought it was just ok but i must ad this was on the 50inch version so you will see it doesnt look as good anyway.on the 43 inch it was superp with component and just fantastic with hdmi.dont forget the hdmi players are going to be £600 for the cheapest one which i think is a little bit to much but at least the plasma is future proof
     
  5. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I've been quoted around £1K for the 868 which is HDMI capable so I'm aware of the prices.
    However, this is my first upgrade for 3 years and I intend to keep this kit for a similar (if not longer) time so don't mind the initial highish outlay.
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,464
    Brogan

    Its definateley got an HDMI input on the R04 Media Receiver - not sure why that file is on the Pioneer web site; I'll call them Monday and have it sorted.

    I have the relevant file plus the 1 page HDMI manual - drop me a note if you want a copy of either.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  7. joys_R_us

    joys_R_us
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I already got an email from Pioneer Germany stating that the online manual is a prelim. version and is to be updated (when ?). I also had the media box in my hands and it had an HDMI connection. The only question is are they already activated because I am hearing noices that Holywood is still making problems cause of copyright issues.

    Hope the best
     
  8. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Thanks for the offer Joe.
    You have a pm :)
     
  9. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,560
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
  10. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Thanks for that Dutch.
    That's a few hundred pounds cheaper than other provisional quotes I've had.
    However, I suspect some of the info' on that page needs updating as they have JPEG playback listed which we now know isn't going to be available.
     
  11. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hmm so you think the 434 has better picture quality than the 504 when using anything that isn't HDMI? Why do you think that was, just a case of it being that much bigger without having the same relative amount of pixels? Or was just from looking at things right up close (where a bigger screen is always going to look worse). Interested as i've been set on a 504, even though it will most likely be far too big for my current room, but saves me the 'what ifs' if i move at the end of my current lease in March.
     
  12. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I'm doing exactly the same as you.
    The 504 is probably too big for our current place but as I want to move anyway, it seems like a good excuse.
    Estate agents just don't seem to understand when I tell them why I'm moving and why we need a big lounge in the new place :D
     
  13. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Heh yup.. though at least the real estate agent doesn't get any input into it.. i find living with the girlfriend she takes a bit more convincing ;).

    Now that i think about it though, i don't think i should really be worried about picture quality when someone here says its not perfect, as i'm not really that hot on serious fidelity, (i'd like to be of course), i mean heck i'm not even bothered that the back to the future trilogy dvd i bought doesn't show the full picture or whatever all the furore was about. I just want a larger screen with similar quality to my 32" CRT that i can watch movies and normal tv on (including a fair share of football as you may have guessed ;)).
     
  14. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Well you know what they say - garbage in, garbage out and as you're an Arsenal supporter I think the lack of fidelity on the plasma is the least of your worries....:D :p ;)
     
  15. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    heh they keep saying every year that Arsenal haven't progressed like their rivals, and they won't be in the picture, but every year they are up there with manyoo, and where are they now? Top of the table, the only undefeated record in the premiership, and having played manyoo, chelsea, liverpool and newcastle. So i'll be quite happy to watch my first Arsenal match on the 504, thank you! ;) :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...