1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 504 is perfect

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by alwyn, Dec 3, 2003.

  1. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    I can report that my 504 is now tuned to my liking,and that I can compare it very favourably with my previous one the 503 mxe.I have found non of the problems reported here on the 434,in short,a very good plasma indeed.
     
  2. lumpsucker

    lumpsucker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +15
    Thank goodness for that. Mine's goin on the wall tomorrow and I was begining to fear the worse.
     
  3. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Good to hear alwyn.

    Can you elaborate on your statement in the other thread - Sky+ is prog scan component to the media receiver?
    Are you using a converter to do this?
     
  4. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    Brogan,I have a very expensive dvd player(£7500)that not only converts dvd into prog.signal but also takes the sky signal in the rgb format 4xrca and converts to component prog.Both dvd and sky use the same component output to the plasma
     
  5. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Aha, that would explain it then.
    Sounds like a nice bit of kit that DVD player.
    Not sure my Sky signal is that bad to justify spending £7.5K on it....:D

    A good solution too considering there is only 1 component input on the media receiver.:smashin:
     
  6. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    Brogan, You could do the same for £400 with an Iscan ultra
     
  7. lumpsucker

    lumpsucker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +15
    Well after 10 months searching for the 'Fabled' Fujitsu and 2 months desperatley waiting for the PDP-504HDE, today was the day it finally made contact with my lounge wall :clap:

    It is far to early for me to post a proper review because I haven't even read all the manual yet but first impressions are ............

    SKy Digital - Absolutley fantastic. I was really worried about this but it is superb. I mean it :smashin: Thre is not even any lip sync problems apart from very occaissionally on poor sky feeds

    Analogue - I know you won't believe this..........but it is very, very good. I do live within spitting distance of the transmitter but I would be quite happy to demo the plasma to friends on this input alone.

    DVD - if anything I expected great things from this given that SKy was so good, but I did not see any great improvement. However I am only using a Panny DMR-HS2 through RGB scart as an input because my 868 (HDMI) is not here yet so I have high hopes of a superior picture to anything yet seen.

    The above is my honest opinion. i was expecting mediocre SKy and trash analogue but brilliant DVD had that been the case I would have said so. I now need to to spend several days tweaking but when I have finished I will report back.

    Oh yes....I nearly forgot.........Asthetics.........it looks just Soooooo :cool:

    I'll post on the 'get your plasma's out' thread over the weekend . Off to test out th PC input now.


    Cheers

    Simon of Plasma World
     
  8. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Nice one Simon. :smashin:

    I'm surprised that you rate the Sky picture so highly.
    Mine is generally rubbish.
    I was watching BBC 1 news last night and it was like watching a really bad animation.
    I really need to sort it out as it's bugging me.
    The higher bit rate channels however are great.

    And I agree that it looks really cool on the wall.
    I reckon it would look even better without the speakers and as I don't use them, I may consider removing mine and flogging them.
     
  9. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    collected my 504 todayit involved 2 ferry crossings
    Just got it connected to Sky at present all i can say is wow
    the picture is very good much much better than my rear pro
    might skip off work early tomorrow to have a play in peace
    :clap: :clap: :clap: :D
    P@T
     
  10. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I'm beginning to wonder if maybe I'm expecting too much from my Sky picture.
    Surely mine can't be that bad compared to everyone else :confused:

    Anybody near Chelmsford who knows what a good picture should be, come and check mine out...please...;)
     
  11. lumpsucker

    lumpsucker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +15
    Ok it is the morning now, so is the euphoria over ? No it bleedin isn't. gave the PC connection a good bash last night and the picture is brilliant. When I say brilliant I mean very bright. I had some after image of the new Pioneer Plasma Wallpaper (OK yes I know how sad that is ) so static images on the PC settings need to be watched very carefully.

    I haven't really tweaked any settings yet except reduce the RED colour as that seemed a bit over the top. If there is a criticism then I would say it was the lack of contrast (black) but that would be being very picky indeed.

    Should get some time to play on Saturday / Sunday when I'll take some pictures.
     
  12. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Agree with you on the red - it's way too high.
    First time I noticed it was when BBC1 news came on - the whole room was just bathed in red light.

    Speaking of which, have you noticed how you don't need lights on in the lounge at night because there's just so much light coming from the screen?
     
  13. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Brogan,
    I'm just outside Romford so about 20 miles form you and generally my Sky picture is awful. I've just had mine calibrated by Gordon and while some things have improved, in general its still bad. Football is really awful and I don't bother watching as its so bad, in fact I'm starting of think about selling the plasma as sport watching is such a let down :(

    Regards
    John
     
  14. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Thanks John.
    That has put my mind at rest somewhat as I was beginning to wonder whether there was a problem with my kit.
    I'm still toying with the idea of a getting another scart cable but ideally I want to try before I buy.
    The other option is to use a JS converter or an Iscan as Alwyn has suggested but £400....? Is Sky really worth that?
     
  15. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Guess it really depends how much you watch it? As i quite enjoy watching a football match or two I may even be tempted to get a Lumagen if it really is that bad (and of course if the Lumagen makes it acceptable).. but i'm still hoping its not going to be.
     
  16. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Well we don't have the sport channels so that's not an issue.
    It's just the general picture quality on some channels but I have a feeling it must be down to the bit rate and my obviously high expectations.
     
  17. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Brogan,
    I'm not sure a Lumagen would entirely solve your problem as although there was a difference for me, it didn't solve the general issues and in particular sport.

    For my own issues my feeling now that I have had the plasma calibrated is that it can only be down to one of the following

    1) Sky quality
    2) Scart lead
    3) JS box
    4) Lumagen
    5) Plasma


    I've straight away disgarded the Lumagen as when I bypass it the picrue quality is worse. Plasma is fine with DVD's so that can't be the issue. I doubt if the JS box is the problem or lots of other people would have reported the problem, So that leaves me with the Scart or Sky quality.
    The scart could be the problem as it's a Lektropacs 10m, although they assured me that it would not have a quality loss. So that leaves me with the Sky quality, is it my own siginal quality or Sky in general...I don't know suffice to say that I'm far from happy

    Regards
    John
     
  18. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    I imagine its mostly down to the crappy sky bit rate being output at 50".. on the worse channels its noticeable on my 32" CRT, so i'm not expecting any miracles when my 43" plasma arrives.. still i've watched football on sky on plasmas in pubs in the past, and its always looked passable..
     
  19. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    My reasoning is the same as yours John.

    My plasma with DVD is great - much better than Sky - and that's using an inferior scart via pass through from the sky box.
    So it can only be either a combination of a poor scart cable and Sky or Sky alone.
    I'm going with SKy and its low bit rate.
     
  20. Tracey

    Tracey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now I'm seriously thinking of keeping my Aconda for a while, when I eventually move in I'll be in Hornchurch and there's no way I could justify getting a plasma if the Sky sports image is that bad, that's the only reason I persuaded my boyfriend that we need a plasma so he can watch sport on a huge screen.

    Very disappointing :mad:
     
  21. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    LOL - that must be a first...:rotfl:
    A woman having to persuade her man that they need a plasma.
    Good on you. :smashin:

    I wouldn't let my comments put you off though.
    A lot of people seem to think it is OK.
    Maybe I'm just expecting too much...?
     
  22. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    Brogan,I have connected up my sky box to scart one on the media box and have used both scarts on the sky box rgb was very good pal using the vcr scart out on the sky box was ok but not as good as rgb.The point is they are both acceptable.
     
  23. Phil_Yeoman

    Phil_Yeoman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +1
    The best way to improve sky is to upgrade to a bigger sky dish 60-80cm.

    I know everyone is going to say that its digital so its either on or off but think about went it rains! you get a lot of blocking before the signal fails. With a small dish the STB is having to a lot of work to correct sinal losses. this does seem to add a lot of blockiness to the overall picture.

    Upgrading your dish (DIY) will cost you around £40, less than the price of a decent scart. The results are better than ading a scaler!

    Phil
     
  24. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Thanks for the info Phil.
    I presume though after fitting the dish it would need to be aligned and a meter would be required?
     
  25. Phil_Yeoman

    Phil_Yeoman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +1
    Brogan

    I did mine the old fasioned way. I put a damp cloth over the LNB to attenuate the signal then alinged using the sinal strenth meter on the sky box. (use the same elevation settings as your old dish)

    Phil
     
  26. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    About two months ago I upgraded to sky+,and only paid £1 for instalation.The dish that was fitted was only a 40 cm one and when I checked the quality signal level on the chart readout it was only 60%,this was six or seven weeks later.I telephoned sky and complained and asked for a 60cm dish .They sent an engineer out and not only fitted a new dish but a better quaity LNB.The signal is now 95%
     
  27. lumpsucker

    lumpsucker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +15
    I think your spot on with regard to the sky dish. I have a 60 dish installed 4.5 years ago in the early days of sky digital. I am tempted to upgrade the LNB but need to do some online research to see what the benefits are. I am even still using the first addition pace digi box. Basicall I am waiting for a new Digibox that has a 5.1 output then I'll upgrade the LNB at the same time if needed.

    My signal meter is about 70% but the picture is fine.
     
  28. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi guys
    just to say that SKY useing rgb is brill almost 3D like some chanels are better than others but the worst is still good
    Rf pictures are also very good ,DVD useing PScan is awesome the best i have seen
    RGB from my humax sat receiver is almost as good as the dvd .
    Now i have to decide how to split the signals between the 504 & PJ
    Also a bonus the tuner also does VHF tv so i can pick up tv from Ireland which still uses VHF transmissions
    The only thing i dont like so far is the time it takes to switch between inputs & tv chanels
    P@T :clap: :clap: :D :D
     
  29. Andrew_B

    Andrew_B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sticker, 30 foot is a mighty long way to be using a SCART cable. Is there any way you can get your Digibox and plasma a bit closer together to see how it looks with a 3 foot cable? Surely this excessive distance must be having some effect on your picture quality?
     
  30. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Well I think I've concluded that my PQ problems are purely down to the sky signal.
    If I do the dual screen thing the live picture is superb.
    It's just when it is stretched to fit the full 50" that it starts to look a bit ropey.
    Just tried the THX optimiser on Monsters Inc and I already had it set up pretty good.
    My current settings are:
    Contrast 35
    Brightness +4
    Colour -12
    Tint 0
    Sharpness 0

    Haven't really played around with the other settings.
    Hopefully I'll get some time this weekend to read the manual and have a fiddle.
     

Share This Page

Loading...