Pioneer 444 Problems

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by MalcolmD, Jun 13, 2002.

  1. MalcolmD

    MalcolmD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have recently purchased a 444 from Richer Sounds and I am suffering problems with the picture quality. During bright scenes in films the top part of the picture is much brighter than the problem. This is very noticeable in the black band of the widescreen. This only happens in RGB mode and I know that it is not the television as when I plug in my Panasonic A360 using the same scart lead etc then the picture is fine.

    Can anyone give me any ideas what may be causing this as I want to make sure that I know what I am talking about when I return the unit to Richer Sounds.

    Many Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Cliff

    Cliff
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Messages:
    6,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Kent Accra Rub Al Khali
    Ratings:
    +3,687
    It could be an incompatibilty between your TV sets RGB and the Pioneer. I take it the A360 was in RGB mode, the same as the Pioneer?
    Remember you need a composit connection in the RGB lead as well.

    I would explain the symptoms to Richers and ask for a replacement to try. You may find it does the same thing.

    Sorry I can't be more helpful.
     
  3. MalcolmD

    MalcolmD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +5
    Cliff,

    Thanks. Richer Sounds exchanged the unit and it does exactly the same so I think you must be right that it is a compatibility problem between the Panasonic TV and the Pioneer DVD player

    The A360 was used in RGB mode so I have connected this player back up and had a refund on the pioneer. This is a great shame as I really liked the 444.

    Anyone else had compatibility problems using a Panasonic TV TX-32PK20. Let me know.
     
  4. shaunthedude

    shaunthedude
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the Pioneer 444 too. When I first got it I plugged it in to my Panny tv using RGB. When the screen was black or very dark there were 3 bright patches at the top of the picture. I tried it on 2 other tvs. 1 Tosh and 1 sony. It did exactly the same although on the sony the bright patches were in the middle of the screen. It only happens on reg 1 discs and only through RGB. S-Video plays fine.
     
  5. garry_brock

    garry_brock
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Yes, I have the Panasonic TV you mention, and also a Pioneer 545 player (from Techtronics). When I originally got the player, I tried connecting up in RGB mode through AV1 Scart on TV.

    I noticed light horizontal bands drifting up the screen, especially on dark scenes in the film. At the time, I posted on this forum, and a solution was suggested involving the service menu and DVCO adjustment to the TV.

    However, the TV is still in waranty so I will get an engineer to come and make the adjustments, that way if he f**ks it I get a new TV:)

    But try using the TV in S-Vid mode, picture is still great IMHO.
     
  6. martin davies

    martin davies
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    being very new to this game, im after a dvd player
    but i like to read all the comments and gain as much info as possible , but one phrase keeps getting mentioned " RGB MODE"
    could anyone explain in plain english what this is ??
     
  7. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    DVD Players can output video signal of different types. Composite is the poorest quality, s-video and RGB offer much better quality and Component Video is the American version of RGB which many DVD players can output but only some Toshiba TVs of the mainstream brands can accept.

    digiboxes also output in composite or RGB but the problem arises because many TV's only have one scart socket that will take an RGB signal.

    My solution was to buy a Pioneer 545 DVD player which has two scart sockets so that I had the scart from the Skybox plugged into the DVD player which was then plugged into the RGB scart socket on the TV.

    The difference in quality between RGB and ordibary composite is considerable.
     
  8. highlanders

    highlanders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    841
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +58
    A lot of people in their opinion say that RGB mode (method of sending video to tv) is the best. The other method is S-video and composite video. I think RGB is the better method some people say S-video it could be down to your tv as I read that some tv's don't like a RGB signal. I suppose I'll have to try both but I think you'll opt for RGB.

    James
     
  9. Hippy

    Hippy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    New to board and currently going through same problem, but with a Panasonic PL30. My problem also only happens with the DVD444 and this television and using the RGB only, but on either region disks. But it sounds one step worse with mine, I get a strange pink band at top of screen, with green band below, this is even apparent on the B&W scenes of films. Obviously this really isnt something I can ignore, and wonder if there is anything I can do.

    Because, due to the fact neither the TV nor the DVD is faulty, the shops involved, even though authorised hifi dealers, will not do anything. The player is 5 months old, and they are offering me the Toshiba 220 which is selling for £50 less than what I paid for the 444 5 months ago for an extra £100.

    Is there some way of fixing either item, or is it a matter of using either the S Video output or a new DVD player. :(
     
  10. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it definitely sounds like a compatability issue between these two pieces of equipment, if the stores involved absolutely refuse to do anything I'd think of using s-video.
     
  11. Hippy

    Hippy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yah, looking like the only option bar getting another DVD player. Just annoyed at already buying a Squart to see if I could cure issue (ie to make sure not dodgy Scart/RGB cable).

    Just cannot believe the retailers dont know of these issues, and give more assistance on discovery of problems. :(

    I will now always try for a home trial. Lesson learnt as they say.
     
  12. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you might get a refund on the squart or you could sell it to someone on here
     
  13. andypandy

    andypandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +10
    I never noticed that you origianlly posted this problem as I also posted it soon after.

    That may explain why no one replied on my thread !!!!

    Well anyway I messed around and found out the hard way on how to fix it albeit not the 'proper' fix it solution.

    However low I turned the brightness on my TV control I could never get rid of this white patch, but turning down the brightness within the service menu....well it was like a miracle unfolding !!!

    You have to re-adjust your colours/contrast and brightness on the TV - mainly turning everything up, but the picture certainly seems a lot better.:)
     
  14. Hippy

    Hippy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    U mention turning down controls in service menu, is this something specific to you TV, or is it on all Panasonic TV's?

    Willing to try, although tunrning up colour/contrast/brightness up seems to be bizarre logic, I could only get round it on mine by turning colour off entirely. :(

    Does this involve pulling apart TV??

    Thx for any further help.
     
  15. andypandy

    andypandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +10
    I have the Panasonic TX36PF10.

    In the service menu there is a specific brightness setting which seems to have quite a different and more stronger and dramatic effect than the normal brightness control.

    I thought all Panasocnic TV's had a service menu option , albeit not something you could accidently come accross.
    A small word of advice is to note down all the setting values before messing about with all the different values.

    There are also colour adjustments you can make within the service menu which again are DIFFERENT to the colour controls on you remote!

    To access the service menu for my TV , maynor be the same for yours, but turn treble volume to the lowest setting and bass to the highest. Then hit the V/- button on the TV together with the INDEX button on the remote control.
    You can basically step through the options with first 2 colours on the remote and the other 2 allow you to change the values up/down. To save a value press STB to exit the menu press N.

    I must find the link for the service manual and post it again. I have posted it previously on the forum , some time ago.
    NB. I am not sure if all Panny's get into the service menu the same way !
     
  16. oorwillie

    oorwillie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too have the panasonic PL30 and a pioneer 444. When I use the RGB mode I get a green band across the top of the screen. I have the 444 connected to scart 4 in the TV as this scart has s-video and RGB. I set the 444 to output s-video and set the tv to display s-video and the picture is now perfect. I dont think it would look any better if the RGB worked properly.
     
  17. Hippy

    Hippy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thx all for the helpful replies, will try all and see, at the end of the day I have resorted to plain video input just to remove green lines, so s video at least an improvement. :)

    And thx for service menu, I will try to access it, although it still sounds a touch scarey, but as you say take note of previous settings, how bad can it be. :eek:

    Anyway you have got at least got me throught this post purchase depression, I still just cannot believe 'compatibility' issues, and the fact it is no-ones fault. Why is it displaying green and purple bars (the purple wasnt apparent until B&W scenes, the green always has been)? especially on B&W film?

    I have posted to Pioneer, and will reply if they come back with anything at all that is useful. I have also informed the retailer of the issue and my upset at their lack of knowledge or help.

    Is it just the case with these new video cabling standards, we are more prone to these issues??

    Thx again all. :devil:
     
  18. andypandy

    andypandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Ratings:
    +10
    s
     
  19. Hippy

    Hippy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to finalise my post, thanks all for advice given, and likewise I am now using s-video options through my scart cable, and the green lines have gone. SO at least it is viewable, although I do wonder if the picture is as good as it could be, and also is it worth getting a specialised s-video cable, although if I do that I may get green lines hey. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice