1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 43MXE1 and Sync on Composite

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by The Nightfly, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. The Nightfly

    The Nightfly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    The New Frontier
    Ratings:
    +23
    I'm tempted to buy the PDP-43MXE1. Will the Scart output from a Sky digibox work directly into the RGB+Sync input on the BNC video card without any conversion ? From what I've read so far it looks like it should but I havn't come across any threads where this is being recommended.

    If it does work, how would picture quality compare to the same signal being fed into the VGA port via a J.Sims Scart->VGA converter ?

    And finally, would a RGB->Component converted signal look better than both the above options on this particular panel ?

    thanks,
    Allan
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,583
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +270
    Hi Allan,

    Digiboxes output an RGB with combined sync on composite signal. You need to have that sync signal split into H and V, which is what Jon Sim's converter does very well. I believe Jon says that the RGB-VGA converter gives a slightly sharper image than the RGB-YUV converter. Hope this helps.

    Steve
     
  3. The Nightfly

    The Nightfly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    The New Frontier
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hi Dutch,

    I'm sure I've read somewhere that the five RGB input sockets on the PDA-5003 board can be configured in the following ways:

    RGsB - 3 sockets used

    RGBS - 4 sockets used

    RGBHV - 5 sockets used

    The second option looks like it should work direct from a digibox using a cable with Scart on one end and seperate R, G, B and Composite plugs on the other. Is this information incorrect ?

    If it is correct I'd be interested to know how picture quality compares to using a Scart to VGA convertor and going in via the VGA socket

    Allan
     
  4. TheCrow

    TheCrow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    597
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +41
    I made the same mistake trying to connect my Sky box to my 50MXE1.

    RGBS is not the same as RGBs.

    The 5003 expects RGBS that is a 5V TTL level sync - S
    The Sky box gives out RGBs, that is composite sync ~0.7V -s

    Therefore the MXE1 will not lock to the sync from the Sky box.

    I think the best solution is a box the strips the syncs from the composite output and converts then to TTL. Leaving the RGB signal untouched.
    This leaves the picture signal in the digiboxes native higher bandwidth RGB
    instead of adding an extra convertion to a lower bandwidth component YUV.

    Keene
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    RGBS is not the same as RGBcvS(RGBwith sync on composite). I don't think it's going to work the way you want. Perhaps someone with an MX01 can check for you.

    Gordon
     
  6. TheCrow

    TheCrow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    597
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +41
    There is a good FAQ about RGB, YUV and Syncs here
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    Mr Crow beat me to it....

    Of course the signal that the Skybox picks up is digital component.....it's turned from component to RGB in the box......YPrPb to RGB and back again should be lossless if done properly.

    John's box does the sync strip job. It's the chap to get as Mr Crow suggests.
     
  8. The Nightfly

    The Nightfly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    The New Frontier
    Ratings:
    +23
    Excellent responses guys. I'm clear on that now.

    Allan
     
  9. TheCrow

    TheCrow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    597
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +41
    If you a feeling adventurous you could build your own here.


    I thought the Sky transmissions were in RGB format and that DVD was component to save space on the disc? Not too sure on this though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...