Pioneer 436XDE or 507XD?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by S3rv3d, Aug 27, 2006.

  1. S3rv3d

    S3rv3d
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +268
    I am unsure which panel to buy, I have always liked the XDE plus the external media box is a +. Now reading about the new panels i dont know whether to wait. I dont like the 427XD because of the built in speakers.So it would have to be the 507XD. The thing is, if i bought an XDE today i wont really be able to use it for around a month until i have finished decorating my bedroom. Plus i am knocking a wall down so there will be lots of dust etc so i dont really want it set up atm. But if i wait i might not be able to get the XDE after the new panels are released. What are the lip sync issues with the XDE does it affect them all? and with what sources?

    Justin
     
  2. S3rv3d

    S3rv3d
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +268
    Well i have made up my mind, 436XDE it is £2,375 is best i could find (with speakers and stand) excluding delivery. Should have went for it when currys had the offer for £2,100. Would still be in its box though if i did
     
  3. lgans316

    lgans316
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    12,203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    RM16
    Ratings:
    +2,550
    Besides the pricing go for the Pio PDP-5070.
    They have the best picture for any plasma tv we have seen so far.
     
  4. bob777

    bob777
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, I'm going for the 507XD right now. I haven't seen any actual reviews, but its the next gen screen..and pricing seems to be around the £2750 mark (wirefreehomes.co.uk) which looks like a bargain to me. Integrated tuner is irrelevant for me, but better to be there imho....

    I'm, open to alternatives and will be placing the order in a week or so...so if anyone has any info I'd appreciate it..review etc

    Cheers
     
  5. papercup

    papercup
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    you just bought an out-of-date product when the new one is in the shops? :suicide:
     
  6. papercup

    papercup
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey Bob,

    I am just at the point of ordering one of these as well; it was going to be the 436 but with them going end-of-line and these being the same price [as the 436 was] its a no-brainer. I am also looking for reviews so post back here if you find any. I am off to WH Smith in the morning to check all of the AV mags for reviews as well; i'll post back if i find anything.

    Next gen; got to be better right?

    Andy
     
  7. bob777

    bob777
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
  8. papercup

    papercup
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Have you ordered yours? I put £500 deposit on mine on Saturday at my local place (which i would like to give trade to, and will be buying a whole lot more from besides, meaning they'll get the complete install).

    I still don't know when it is arriving though; they were going to call Pioneer again today but i haven't had time to check. I think a lot of online places are saying they have stock until you pay.....
     
  9. bob777

    bob777
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    No..not yet....I've got my local sevenoaks to match the internet price, but then they are also getting an Arcam AVR350, a Monitor Audio RS6 AV setup and a Marantz DV 6600.....I'm retiring my (modest) audio setup (negotiated loss of Audio footprint for better AV, tidier you know!!!) and think this will get close in audio capability as well as being outstanding at AV.

    We're not yet ready with the room (house renovation) but the cables will have to go in next week and local Sevenoaks are doing the install..I'm expecting it all to be installed 1st week of Oct.

    What kit are you putting in?

    Bob
     
  10. Peely

    Peely
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Think I'm going to take the plunge for the 507XD too!;)

    Was also looking at the more expensive Fuji 58 series 50", but think I've decided to opt for the later screen, (awaits comments from Fuji 58 owners:lesson: )

    Was going to wait until the mags had done some reviews on the Pioneer, (not that you could actually trust them) but by all accounts the screen is better than the old 506
    model, and that was a cracker.

    I was told expected delivery to the retailers is the end of this week ?
     
  11. papercup

    papercup
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Pioneer 507XD screen, wall mount
    7x Radius R250 speakers, all wall-mount. One either side of the telly, one below, 4 along back wall; 7.1 setup
    Radius RSW12 at side of room
    Denon DVD-1930 Player
    Denon TU1800 DAB/FM Tuner
    Yamaha DSP-AX759SE 7.1 Amplifier
    Panasonic DMR-EX95 - DVD±R//RW/DVD-RAM/SD/HDD/VHS Freeview Unit

    Thast ought to just about cover it! Though i may just have to get an Xbox 360 as well.....:)
     
  12. BAD Dave

    BAD Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dundee
    Ratings:
    +18
    Just a word of caution!
    Can we be sure that the Pioneer 507 will not have the same screen retention issues and the more serious Sky HD compatibility issues which many recent Pioneer plasmas have had?

    There is considerable discussion on the possible cause and extent of this problem:
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=391118

    I hope the new Pioneers are not affected because I had almost decided on one myself!
    Dave
     
  13. dips2001

    dips2001
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know if Pioneer are gonna release their 7th generation models with an external box?? Because we just plastered our walls and i quite liked the idea of only running one cable and the power lead from the plasma to the box and having the connections there. im not sure if scart cables will fit in the conduit pipe we placed inside the wall!!!!

    please help!!

    thanks

    Randy
     
  14. Steve_B

    Steve_B
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Somewhere near Alpha Centuri
    Ratings:
    +112
    Nope no more media box... its an all in one unit now...

    Probably one reason why they are much cheaper?
     
  15. papercup

    papercup
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    why would you use scart? Component is better and smaller?
     
  16. Steve_B

    Steve_B
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Somewhere near Alpha Centuri
    Ratings:
    +112
    not everything has component out... including standard sky, sky+, lots of DVD players etc.

    RGB via scart is marginally better.

    it also carries sound which component doen't. and there were no audio in on the 6 series except for via scart (very shameful in my view!)


    you could always remove the casing of the scart (as long as its not a molded one :D) push it up the pipe etc etc etc
     
  17. simon 2003

    simon 2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +14
    i had this from pio regarding HDMI issue and new 7th gens,:clap:

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Thanks for your email.

    In our tests we have not been able to replicate the issues that arise with the
    4th, 5th and 6th generation plasma systems with the new 7th generation panels.

    We are recommending that users of the 7th Generation plasma systems can use the
    SkyHD receiver via HDMI, all other systems should be used via component video.

    Regards.
    Customer Relations
    PIONEER GB LIMITED
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
     
  18. bob777

    bob777
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1

    That lot should rock your world..but wait for the new Sony PS3..then you'll get Blu Ray too :clap:
     
  19. papercup

    papercup
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    mm not sure about that...i think its best to wait at least 6 months after a new games console is launched to make sure there are a decent amount of games [to take advantage of the new hardware, not older ones that work] and that any hardware issues are ironed out

    also, they'll be silly money for a while......
     
  20. ykhan16

    ykhan16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax
    Ratings:
    +14
    Has the 507XD got the new software for ISF calibration?
     
  21. Neil Davidson

    Neil Davidson
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +504
    I have been assured that it does have the new calibration software but you will need to make sure that your chosen calibrator has also updated their calibration software to make use of it.

    As of yet none of the tools suppliers have the software on general release but I am sure they will rolling out new versions soon.

    Neil
     
  22. bob777

    bob777
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi..I've ordered mine now..does anyone know if they are in country yet and if so what they are like?Any reviews??

    Cheers
     
  23. pirao

    pirao
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody knows if the new 7 series has less retention problems than its precessors or if meassures have been taken regarding this issue?

    I ask everybody I know of who has a plasma tv (no matter what brand) if they have had this problems or if they´ve run in their sets and always get the same answer:

    eerr no, what do you mean by retention problems? (this comes to show that sometimes ignorance=happiness :lesson: )
     

Share This Page

Loading...