Pioneer 436XDE - Jerky scrolling / movement problem?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Dazza Cole, Mar 22, 2006.

  1. Dazza Cole

    Dazza Cole
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Palm Jumeirah, Dubai
    Ratings:
    +21
    Noticed this for the first time on the rugby on saturday, that there seemed to be some elements of the picture jerking slightly when scrolling - like when motion occured there seemed to be a missing frame or 2 before "catching up".

    I also noticed last night the same sort of thing when watching sky sports news. The scrolling panel along the bottom of the screen would sometimes appear quite jerky, before reverting back to a smooth scrolling motion.

    Is this to do with the I/P setting? I've got it currently set to the middle option for the sky input, with truecinema set to OFF.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. GavTNewbie

    GavTNewbie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cumbernauld
    Ratings:
    +33
    yep, i think its a common issue - both my mates and my 436xde (jan 06 and october 05 builds respectively) also do this - most notably on sky sports news. as far as im concerned its not a fault, or anything to do with user settings, just something to live with...
     
  3. Bacus

    Bacus
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,995
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Close to the sea
    Ratings:
    +2,925
    Its probely more to do with the signal from sky and not your screen !!
     
  4. Dazza Cole

    Dazza Cole
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Palm Jumeirah, Dubai
    Ratings:
    +21
    Ta - I hadn't noticed it on DVDs or the 360.....will have a play around with some of the settings and see if it makes any difference
     
  5. lunddal

    lunddal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try and set it to 100Hz.

    But I wonder if some of it has something to do with the original signal being interlaced?
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Every one I've seen does this. It's not apparent on every plasma or TV, it's the Pios that do it. I think they do it with all sources, it's most noticeable with scrolling text. As it's rarely a problem, I think most owners get so used to it they are oblivious, it would only occasionally affect your viewing pleasure after all.
     
  7. WSH

    WSH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +39
    This is one of the reasons why I didn't get a Pioneer. I saw it on a 506XDE with both an Arcam DVD player and freeview and found it distracting.
     
  8. lunddal

    lunddal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I only see it with fast horizontally scrolling text - not much of that in movies ;)
     
  9. kamaran

    kamaran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    Have you tried turning PureCinema mode off?
     
  10. Canalsman

    Canalsman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was reading a review on www.homecinemachoice.com today - here John Archer writes:

    'The 436XDE's pictures are nearly flawless. The only negative point is that motion can look a bit stilted if you don't take care with the TV's many different progressive/scanning options. But it is just a matter of setup, not an inherent unfixable problem.'

    Does that shed some light?
     
  11. Dazza Cole

    Dazza Cole
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Palm Jumeirah, Dubai
    Ratings:
    +21
    Thanks guys, Purecinema is off - I think it may be something to do with the interlace/progressive setting. I'll also try switching between 75 and 100 hz
     
  12. jayjayw

    jayjayw
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a full demo of the 436 at Sevenoaks and the horizontal jerking was horrendous even with top of range upscaling ARCAM DVD player through HDMI. I would have thought they had it set up correctly as it was in a dedicated viewing room with all their high end kit etc. I would love to know if there is an easy fix for this or if it is an inherrent problem???
     
  13. yorkyred

    yorkyred
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Never take for granted that any piece of kit is set up correctly,frankly many staff can't be bothered to go though all the set up options and tweaks.
    Why do you think so many flat panels look so bad in shops.

    And hi-fi dealers can be just as bad.
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    100Hz is best usually, that's then as good as it gets. Still jerks a bit, but not too intrusive.
     
  15. THERAAAVEN

    THERAAAVEN

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    ruislip
    Ratings:
    +10
    Turning Off The Pure Cinema Mode Should Get Rid Of This As It Is A Featurwe That Is Always Turned On In The Settings On All Av Channels - Designed Foe Movies So Pioneer Say But Yes It Is Annoying Blur!
     
  16. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Are the pubs open that early on a Thursday?
     
  17. Dazza Cole

    Dazza Cole
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Palm Jumeirah, Dubai
    Ratings:
    +21
    well switching to 100hz (purecinema was always off) has really helped a lot :smashin:
     
  18. alistaln

    alistaln
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +181
    Check the FAQ for more (see my sig).

     
  19. Blue Triangles

    Blue Triangles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +81
    I remember reading a post of a reply from Pioneer regarding this issue that stated it was just a side effect of their plasma's! Wonderful side effect Pioneer! It really annoys me when playing my 360 on my 506, fast camera movement in 3-D games (most 360 games are 3-D) gives me a headache and makes my eyes water.

    I shall think twice when buying a plasma from them next time out, I play alot of console games you see. Does anyone know if it's to do with FRC? I think a panel will suit me better next time!
     
  20. Dazza Cole

    Dazza Cole
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Palm Jumeirah, Dubai
    Ratings:
    +21
    Panzer - I don't have any problems on my 436 with fast moving games. Lots of PGR3, Quake, Condemned sessions..... Have you got Truecinema OFF though? And are you playing at 720p or 1080i ?
     
  21. Blue Triangles

    Blue Triangles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +81
    If you don't notice any camera issues I won't elaborate to much on it, just incase it does become an issue for you and you blame me. ;)

    True cinema is off, I've tried both 720p and 1080i and notice it with both.....
     

Share This Page

Loading...