1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 435 FDE,HDE,XDE?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by seaco, Nov 27, 2004.

  1. seaco

    seaco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi All

    Please could someone let me know what differences there are between the different code numbers in the Pioneer range ie FDE, XDE, HDE I realise the XDE has a built in Freeview box but is that the only difference I've been told there is some other differences but I don't know what, so I thought I know I'll ask the experts!... :smashin:
     
  2. astirling

    astirling
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    800
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +44
    Not going to add much to the conversation in the areas you want but I think you can get the XDE as cheap as the others.....so why not go for that?
     
  3. seaco

    seaco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +5
    Well JL for instance don't do the XDE but do the FDE at a good price so I want to know what I would be losing with the FDE over the XDE?
     
  4. Tantalus

    Tantalus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +3
    HDE is not available in UK. Differences are as follows: - note screens are the same. You might be best to look at pioneer.co.uk or search other threads because this has been done to death...

    XDE has the following (which FDE does not):

    Silver finish on black box (FDE is all black)
    Media slots for dig camera cards
    Optical out - I would assume for 5.1 digi broadcasts if they ever happen
    Subwoofer out
    Digital Tuner
    Nicer remote (aluminium finish)

    Sure I have forgotten others.
     
  5. jwramsay

    jwramsay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +70
    Cuddly toy...

    Picture in Picture.
    PC input.
    PCMCIA adapter for Digital Photos.

    I'm sure that the Digital Tuner is just an inbuilt Pioneer Freeview box, thus the optical out just passes the NICAM signal at 48KHz. Bet any money that it doesn't pass out anything that comes into the MR box in from a SCART or HDMI input!

    I hace read the manual which is available online but its doesn't say what comes out of that Optical Output.
     
  6. seaco

    seaco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +5
    I think I'll hold out for the XDE in that case as I've seen on another thread here that if I buy the screen from a local dealer i.e. Mike Manning in Taunton Somerset with my Barclaycard at £3,500 then I find a cheaper price even on the net within 60 days then Barclaycard will refund the difference...so I get a local dealer and the benefits of sorting problems if any, I help local buisness...Result! :clap:

    Found this one so should get the difference back :thumbsup: http://www.leconcepts.com/plasma/Pioneer/piplasma5.htm#435xde

    Has anyone found a better price, without warranty and extras?
     
  7. Tantalus

    Tantalus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +3
    Try Fenwicks in Newcastle. I got an XDE for 3249 - its apparently gone up to 3500 BUT you get a 5 yr guarantee.
     
  8. jwramsay

    jwramsay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West of Scotland
    Ratings:
    +70
    Apparently, the price is about to drop 500 bar on the XDE, according to a Pioneer employee who posted this info on another thread.

    The remote for the FDE is totally plastic rubbish BTW.
     

Share This Page

Loading...