1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 434 vs Philips 42PF9986 Apocalypce

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by jdl, May 18, 2004.

1. jdl

jdl

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    :lesson: Hi I am a sound engineer and i live in Athens Greece, yesterday a good friend of mine invited me in the labs of the DVD magazine here in Athens to see the new LCD from Philips the 42pf9986 they were testing the unit in order to write a review for the magazine, i guess it will be one of the first reviews worldwide for this TV.
    He was actually screaming at the phone when he called me "do your self a favor and come to see this beast".
    They had 2 set ups just for the reference, the first one was a Pioneer 434 with a Pioneer 868Avi linked thru HDMI, the second was the Philips 42pf9986 again with a Pioneer 868Avi linked thru RGB Scart, the 2 sets were side by side.
    First you may wonder why someone wants to compare a plasma and a LCD, while this Philips its actually a new era in TVs forget what you know about LCDs you have to see to believe it, anyway back to the review.
    Another point before i proceed is the "unfair" comparison between the HDMI and the Scart RGB connection ( The Philips DOES NOT have components inputs and the DVI-I input its not compatible with the HDMI even if Philips claims that it is, it can accept both analog and digital signals as long as the digital is NOT a HDCP that means you cannot connect it with the DVD players that have HDCP HDMI or DVI outputs but it can accept digital signals from a HTPC or from the DVDO iSCAN).
    The Pioneer was accepted a digital signal 720p (thru HDMI) in order to be closer to its native resolution, first demo "Attack from the clones"......