1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 434 picture settings

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Claus, Nov 20, 2003.

  1. Claus

    Claus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Just received my 434. Beautiful!!!
    Just wondering if any of you have "calibrated" the picture settings on the screen by using Video Essentials or other test material DVD.
    What are your settings?

    regards

    Claus
     
  2. wiped

    wiped
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not at home at the moment, but a few things:

    Using video essentials:
    1. The color need to be turned down to about 9-10
    2. Sharpness to -1


    Then personally i have these settings for MOVIES - DVD

    Contrast - approx 26
    Brightness +3
     
  3. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Claus,

    There will be always certain settings best to your eyes only. However, using the THX optimiser, or AVIA or Video Essentials will set the basics right and you should do that. Due to the plasma nature you will find contrast very hard to setup. You will also have quite different settings if switch off DRE instead of keeping it at mid (standard position where I have left mine). In addition you you will find a difference in picture setting for each of the inputs and analog TV. I did my setup on DVD and have tried it to make it a generic setup for most inputs. In my setup Sharpness is at +1, Brightness +3, Colour -5, Contrast +35. All readings from the THX optimiser. I have also decided to have MPEG NR and DNR both off (use them only on analog TV). These features make "clean" any "grain" of the picture but they impact negatively on background "clarity and sharpness". CTI I have left on.

    Anynone else's thoughts, comments, knowledge, inputs?

    There has been another thread on this subject the other week but did not go too far since only a few had received the screens by then.
     
  4. Billilu

    Billilu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried the other day and only got two reolies, and one of them was from me.

    I hope this one lasts longer, as I'm looking for similar advice, esp as regards Sky Digital pictures.
     
  5. Diapason

    Diapason
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +7
    My settings are almost identical to wiped's listed above. I played with the DRE on and off for a while, and eventually decided to leave it off, since I felt it looked more natural without. There is, however, a trade off in really dark scenes, so the jury is out on DRE at the moment. I'm sitting quite close, and with DRE on, faces especially looked synthetic, with some blocking noticeable. I also leave DNR and MPEG NR set to mid, as I prefer the smoother picture. Again, I think this is more to do with how close I'm sitting. If I was sitting 12' away rather than 8', I suspect some of my settings would be different.

    I'm having a little difficulty getting the colour exactly right. Skin tones look a *little* green at the moment. I started to play with this a couple of nights ago when I got the blue THX glasses. However, I nearly browned my trousers when I noticed the image afterglow left on the screen from the THX colour test!! It righted itself within seconds of normal playing, but I've been afraid to go back. I'll probably pluck up the courage to do an assault on colour settings this weekend.

    Contrast is indeed the hardest thing to set. If anyone has any advice on how to do this successfully, I'd like to hear it.

    Is the Avia disc worth it? It's kinda pricey, and I don't want to buy it if it's not going to be useful. However, if it would help me squeeze some more performance out of the plasma, it would definitely be money well spent.

    I'm hoping to get Gordon over to Dublin when the time is right, assuming the issues with ISF calibration on the 434 can be overcome. I'll be really interested to see how different things look then.

    Cheers,

    Si
     
  6. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Diapason,
    Do not be afraid with after image glow lagging. You need a hell of long long time (hours) to cause a permanent burn. In fact, after the test if you play some normal movement material will help them go away faster. I also recommend doing everything using the power save feature for added protection. The 434 is a really bright screen and you can have this feature on even in daytime.

    In my opinion, the AVIA disc does not fully justify its cost especially if you have already used all the other optimisers. I bought it when I bought me previous plasma. I also tried it with the 434. It gives me similar results with the THX optimiser except colour where it takes to -10. However, you need to bear in mind that AVIA is strictly for NTSC material. I contacted them and they have no other version (tailored to US requirements).
    It is also a little out of date, if I may say, spending less time on LCDs and Plasmas. Again even if you use the advanced IRE test to set up contrast you cannot go much further than the other optimisers. Overall, AVIA is also costly because it spends a lot of time on every other aspect of home cinema setup.

    Finally, I would not attepnt ISF cal until even Pio is happy with it and until Gordon feels he has "mastered" these models. In fact, I would only attempt it, in my opinion, if I was really unhappy with the picture.

    Still any advice from anyone wiser on contrast setting is more than welcome!
     
  7. Diapason

    Diapason
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks Costas,

    I'd actually forgotten about the energy save feature. I know I turned it on the night I got the screen, but I can't remember if I left it there. Must check.

    Anyway, thanks for your thoughts on AVIA. I kind of suspected that it was a little overpriced for the use I'd get out of it, and to be honest, as time goes on I'm getting more and more happy with the picture that I have. I'll set the colours over the weekend (much happier having heard your views on the after-image) and that'll be probably be me done for the time being.

    I'm not going to think about ISF calibration until the New Year at least. Then I'll see what the lay of the land is. For now, I've spent enough money, and it's time to start enjoying the damn thing!!!

    Si
     
  8. wiped

    wiped
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +0
    Regarding DRE i have not seen much difference, regarding synthetic etc.. have to check that more.
    i have it set to mid but have also experimented much with it off..
    Seams that when it's off you can raise the contrast or brightness one or two steps to get a similar picture as with it to mid.
    Although i still haven't seen a good esplanation of how good dre is and what exactly it does to the picture, can someone point out the differences.

    i have some problems with to much read and have experimented with the setting, problem is ofcourse that if you lower red the picture (whites ) will be more cold/blue...

    anyone have a nice setting that just decreeses red's and a bit no green?

    i started with contrast at about 35 or so, but i feel that the picture wil be too bright to the point that i feel my eyes hurt.... perhaps i'm sitting to close :). With the settings today you do see the different dark color tones and as long as you see that i'm ok..
    i've basically lowered it as low as possible as long as i could see the different dark tones.
     
  9. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Wiped

    I am sitting at precisely 3.5 meters away from the screen with my contrast at +35 and DRE at mid (standard). I tried your setting of +26 and I think I start losing definition. A value of +30 is probably OK too for me. I believe that DRE helps at mid point. Somehow I think it also helps, in addtion to contrast and brightness balance, the overall colour balance. Perhaps you can try it to see if it affects your reds and greens. Other than that you may need to go a Colour Temperature + Colour Management combination trials to get what you want. I have not tried this so far and have left it on Col Temp on mid and the same for Col Man (mid values).
     
  10. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    Both 434 and 504 need software upgrade before they can be calibrated.William in Bristol the ISF guy tells me this will not be available untill next year
     
  11. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Thanks Alwyn,
    Very much in line with what Pioneer told me and what I mentioned in another thread. There is an ISF Certification (see that link) that started in US and Canada but is not covering these models yet. This is done by this software upgrade....
     
  12. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    Costos, i found your settings on your 434 interesting,I will use them on my 504 when it comes.Any new ideas let me know. I find getting the right balance a problem,so am glad of any help.regards, alwyn.
     
  13. Diapason

    Diapason
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +7
    Just a quick update.

    I had a very serious session of tweaking last night (until about 2:30 am -- I'm a bit tired today for some reason!) Anyway, I turned the power save functionality on, since I had obviously turned it off during previous messing without remembering it. I also decided to give DRE another go, since I felt dark scenes could look better, so I set it to mid. I then went through a THX optimiser in both NTSC and PAL, braving the image lag and everything!!

    Settings for DVD are now (with everything in the advanced screen set to mid, CTI on, powersave on)

    For NTSC
    -----------
    Contrast 26
    Brightness +3
    Colour -10
    Tint +3
    Sharpness -1

    For PAL
    ----------
    Contrast 26
    Brightness +4
    Colour -10
    Tint +4
    Sharpness -1

    To be honest, I didn't change the settings all that much, but the difference it has made is nothing short of astonishing. I really feel like the image has moved up a level. All of the plasma-type problems that I had started to take for granted have all but disappeared. Any lingering doubts have been swept aside. I now finally feel like I can stop looking for problems and just really enjoy it! Of course, it was 2am or thereabouts, so hopefully I'll feel the same when I look at it again this evening.

    Incidentally, do people think that plasmas "run-in" like hi-fi equipment for example?

    Cheers,

    Si
     
  14. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    This late night tweaking sounds so familiar my friend. Very Glad you are there, the point you feel really happy. I find very interesting the setting with the tint. I 'll have a go on my screen too..
     
  15. cruncher75

    cruncher75
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    southampton
    Ratings:
    +81
    does the thx just do the sound or picture to
     
  16. drago.d

    drago.d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kings Langley, Herts
    Ratings:
    +6
    Diapason,

    does 'Tint' work on PAL signals?

    I thought it only applied to NTSC :confused:

    drago.d
     
  17. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    THX does everything
     
  18. joys_R_us

    joys_R_us
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like the pic much more with higher contrast (35 or so) and sharpness in plus range. I admit this produces a liitle bit graininess at edges but the overall impression is much more crisp...
     
  19. frozendexter

    frozendexter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The North
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have contrast @ 35 and Brightness set at +3, Colour -8. everthing else is as out of the box, and I'm not keen on the power saving function. everthing looks great!
     
  20. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Diapason
    I went back to the THX optimiser and your settings. Indeed I found the -10 colour with +4 tint a very good combination setting.
    Somehow it allowed me to reduce contrast from my +35 setting to your +26 without losing any significant definition. I have also put brightness to +5. Regarding sharpness I still very much prefer the crispier +1 setting.
     
  21. Diapason

    Diapason
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Guys,

    drago.d, I was quite surprised that the Tint option affected PAL discs as well, but it does! It even says on the PAL THX optimiser that I probably won't be able to change the settings on my TV. Oh well, I'm not complaining!

    Costas, glad you had some success with the settings. I certainly agree that the sharpness setting is very subjective. Smoother or crisper? you decide!! As for brightness, I've set it anything between +3 and +5, but it probably spends more time on 3.

    I'm still getting the drop-out, on all sources, DVD included. I think it's time to start digging the heels in. I want it sorted out by the end of the week. It's starting to seriously annoy me, and I've been very patient so far...

    Si
     
  22. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Diapason,

    After quite a few hours of checking with various sources and using both AVIA and THX, I ended up with the following settings for me:

    MPEG, DNR and DRE are set to mid. CTI is on

    Contrast: +28
    Brightness: +5
    Colour: -9
    Tint: +2
    Sharpness: +1

    Feel very happy with these!

    Regarding the drop out problem, you should contact Pioneer without any further delay. Their number is 01753 789500. You can also add your case on their website.
     
  23. Diapason

    Diapason
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Costas,

    I'll give those setting a go and let you know how I get on.

    As regards the drop-out , I'm based in Dublin and therefore going through Pioneer Ireland. They, in turn, are waiting for official word on what to do. However, I checked the website last week and couldn't find that page. Can you point me to it?

    Cheers,

    Si
     
  24. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Diapason,

    Sorry, perhaps I have misled you. What I meant by adding onto their website is going into the support section and add your query there. I know already you are in Ireland but I still think it may help if you call UK and/or the German HQ.
     
  25. Diapason

    Diapason
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +7
    Ah, sorry I misunderstood you.

    We have the issue lodged with Pioneer here, and since I last posted I've spoken again to my dealer. He got a call from Pio this morning to say they're sending an engineer out during the week, so the ball is at least rolling. I'm a little concerned by reports elsewhere that the dropout issue isn't totally resolved by the replacement box. We'll see.

    One way or the other, my dealer (another Joe -- must be a prequisite to be a Joe or a Liam!) is on my side and will have no problem kicking up a fuss until it gets resolved. He seems to know the MD of Pio Ireland as well, and has suggested that he's a reasonable chap who genuinely wants customers to be happy. So on the whole, even though it's a little irritating, I'm not worried about getting the issue resolved.

    One thing I will say is that I'm glad I went through a local specialist. I know you pay a little more, but for me it's worth it when issues like this arise. It keeps the stress to a minimum!

    Si
     
  26. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Ok, this is good indeed.

    Regarding the drop out, so far from my side I did not have any problems since the Pioneer visit. It will be a week tomorrow and all seems fine. I was off work and we have done a lot of viewing from all type of sources and we have never lost the video signal again. It is indeed very interesting to see what happened to the other cases... As you said we will see!
     
  27. jeroenskie

    jeroenskie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello Found it !!;)

    There is only 1 thing i do not understand .
    Is it possible to make settings in the analoge situation (cable tv)

    And then press input 3 (DVD),and make other settings?

    BUT are these settings dedicated to this input ? or wil this chance also effect the settings for the analoge signal ?


    If it is possible to preset a setting to a input ..... how can this be made?

    kind regards jeroen
     
  28. Claus

    Claus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Welcome aboard!
    Each input has it's own settings.
    Even the built-in tuner.

    Claus
     
  29. jeroenskie

    jeroenskie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you !

    But how come when I put the ( build in tuner) analoge tv for instants on brightness 35 ,an I switch to input 3 (dvd) and i adjust there the brightness to 30,I then go to analoge tv and the brightness is also switched to 30?????

    Do I have to save the setting in some way ??

    kind regards jereon
     
  30. jeroenskie

    jeroenskie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    can i ask you if you have it on powersave ?

    kind regards jeroen
     

Share This Page

Loading...