1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 434 Cable and Wallmount

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by RzSwede, Feb 19, 2005.

  1. RzSwede

    RzSwede
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I am just about to buy a Pioneer 434XDE (the feedback and my personal experience at the shop has convinced me that this is the one to get =) and I am hoping someone out there with this plasma could give me some info.

    What I need to know is:

    1) How long is the cable connecting the media box to the actual plasma screen? (and are extensions available?) I need to place my media box roughly 5-6 meters from the screen.

    2) I am building a new wall where the plasma will be hanging, and I am ordering the PDK-WM02 wall mount, has anyone got this mount and if so - is there any way of finding out the distance between the mounting points? (I will be reinforcing the wall exactly where the screws come in from the wallmount)

    Many thanks in advance.

    Rz
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Cable is 3m, Pioneer 10m cable = £200, sharp 7m cable, identical, = £125. These are replacements, not extensions. The wall mount is a total rip off, get a wall mount for a sensible price, do yourself a favour. Loads are available for under £100, I'm sure anyone you mail order off will tell you the spacing of the mounting screws.
     
  3. Drd

    Drd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Approaching the doghouse at great speed
    Ratings:
    +246
    Hi RzSwede

    I just mounted my mxe on an AV sales slimline wallmount (see power buys).It's an excellent bit of kit fixed on each side by four screws/bolts of your choice.I had a problem with a power cable in the wall I was drilling into but this mount was great for me as the horizontal separation of the holes was 500mm.

    Cheers
    Ian
     
  4. RobbieTT

    RobbieTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    7m Sharp cable?

    Sounds like you have just saved me £75 quid, so thank you. Is the cable any good, quality wise and where can I get it from?

    Didn't like the idea of a 10m cable, as I only need about 4.5m anyway. Anyone do a 5m version of this system cable?
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    It's the cable Pioneer supplied up until last year, quality is fine. No 5m versions, sadly. I hope I've saved you another £150 on the bracket. There is absolutely nothing special about the Pioneer one, it's just a chunk of pressed steel like all the other cheaper ones. I don't sell the Pioneer ones on principle.
     
  6. RobbieTT

    RobbieTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks again - I'll follow the advice on the braket too.

    Not managed to find the cable on a google search, any ideas?
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Where are you? I keep them, can post I suppose, it's not my line of business, I'm a custom installer. Email or PM if that helps you.
     
  8. RobbieTT

    RobbieTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    E-mail sent!
     
  9. RzSwede

    RzSwede
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whey, thanks for all the replies =)

    Great advice too, I'll definitely think twice about the wallmount and get a cheaper one!

    I would be very interested in the Sharp cable, 7m sounds good to me. Would you be interested in selling me one too as I haven't found it anywhere in Sweden when I looked for it? I would obviously cover shipping charges and a bit extra for the hassle.

    Drd, is that the tilting slimline wall mount you bought?
    http://www.av-sales.co.uk/plasma/html/slimline_tilting_plasma_wall_m.html

    Regards,
    Rz
     
  10. Drd

    Drd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Approaching the doghouse at great speed
    Ratings:
    +246
    Hi RzSwede

    Yes it was,performed the hang test after putting it up,it took my weight no problem!I've mounted mine flat, but the tilting mechanism is very simple and effective.
    Cheers

    Ian
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I guess there's nothing to stop me shipping a cable to Sweden, not exactly outer Mongolia is it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...