Pioneer 433 MXE and HDMI

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by wisgb, Jul 1, 2005.

1. wisgb

wisgb
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been running a 433 MXE for a few years now and I'm very happy with it. Even the wife loves it.. :smashin:

However, I'd like to improve the picture quality. Starting with a better DVD player.

from my initial research, HDMI looks like the way to go, however, I'm of he understanding that the 433 MXE doesn't support HDMI/HCMP.

Are there any terminal boards or external modules that could connect the the DVI connector, available (That work) that will allow an HDMI connection?

I know this is a broader question, but what would be the best way forward to future proof my setup? Would it involve replacing my plasma with a current model?

Cheers

2. Joe Fernand

Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,126
    wisgb

There are a few products around that enable an HDCP encoded digital signal to be connected to a non HDCP Digital input - not strictly legal and likely to disappear at some point but they are around.

There's no reason to ditch your MXE at this time - most of what's around is evolutionary rather than revolutionary; I'd wait until affordable 1080P panels arrive.

I'd also advocate one or both of the following: 01. Have your Display properly calibrated to ensure your seeing it at its best and 02. Adding an external Video Processor to your set-up if you want to improve the picture processing across all of your video inputs.

Best regards

Joe

3. wisgb

wisgb
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Joe,