Pioneer 420H - 'Fatal' Fault?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Struan, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. Struan

    Struan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    My Pioneer 420H has developed a fault:-

    When switched on (standby button pressed), ‘Power On' is displayed as normal, the blue (HDD) light comes on and usual noises are heard; However, it stays in this condition (‘Power On' still displayed) for about 30 seconds, then switches off, then straight back on again and repeats the process, seemingly indefinitely. It does not respond to any commands, except if I press and hold the standby button for 10 seconds, which breaks the cycle, and puts it into standby.

    Any thoughts as to what I can do to rectify the problem, or does it sound terminal?
     
  2. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +461
    Hi

    It may be worth resetting it back to factory defaults as it may be a software glitch that can be cleared.

    When it is on, use the buttons on the recorder (not the remote), press and hold the Stop button, then while still holding the stop button press the StandBy button.

    This hopefully should reset everything back to factory defaults. If it doesn't work try unplugging the DVD Recorder and leave it unplugged overnight.

    Is there a DVD in the recorder?

    Regards

    Phil
     
  3. Struan

    Struan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the speedy reply.

    Quick additional info. before I try the reset you suggest.

    Yes, there is an unfinalised DVD-R disc in the drive.

    Fingers crossed!
     
  4. Struan

    Struan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    I tried the reset, and nothing happened:(

    Also, I left it unplugged overnight, and still the same problem :(
     
  5. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
    Seems a similar type problem to the Panasonic dvd recorders continual "self check" routine when the disc cannot be ejected.

    I had to open up the laser compartment to remove the disc - which wasn't jammed BTW. After removal of the disc (which was a Ritek G05 DVD-R) the Panasonic E85 worked fine. I haven't used these discs since so no further problems.
     
  6. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +461
    Hi

    Yes sounds like a problem with the disc in the drive. Luckily the Pioneers have an emergency eject hole!

    Turn off the DVD Recorder power.
    Find a paper clip and straighten it out.
    Open the front AV cover, and the top right hand side is a hole.
    Push the paper clip into the hole and press in firmly, the DVD tray should now open slightly.
    Remove paper clip and gently pull open the tray and remove the DVD.
    Power back on, the tray should close by itself and hopefully it will start normally.

    Regards

    Phil
     
  7. Struan

    Struan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ejected the disc (didn't know about the hole!), unfortunately, the problem remains, even after attempting another reset :(

    FYI, there are a few, minor scuff marks on the top of the disc.

    I notice that ‘V' and ‘R' are still shown in the display, signifying unfinalised video mode and -R disc – it still seems to think it has a disc loaded?

    I'll leave it unplugged to see if that clears it.
     
  8. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +461
    Hi

    Try loading a new blank DVD-R to see if that is enough to fool it into thinking everything is okay.

    What if you turn it on and immediately press the "Eject" button, does the tray open?

    Is it in hard-drive mode or DVD mode?

    Were the scuff marks on the top of disc there before you used it?

    Regards

    Phil
     
  9. Struan

    Struan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1

    New disc doesn't have any effect.

    Tray does not open with immediate eject.

    HDD mode

    Scuff marks were not present before it was used.

    Its not looking good, is it? :(

    TIA.
     
  10. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +461
    Hi

    It does seem as though there could be a problem with the writer. Is it still under warranty? If so I would call Pioneer for a repair.

    Regards

    Phil
     
  11. Struan

    Struan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think the HDD has failed - I disconnected the HDD, and managed to get the recorder into DVD mode, at which point it loaded, played, and recorded to DVD without any problems.

    I don't suppose it is possible for an end user to install a new HDD, even if it is of the same size? Would the recorder automatically format a new drive when detected upon switch on?

    TIA.
     
  12. Hkan

    Hkan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It should be possible to replace the HDD in the 420. download this guide How to change HDD in DVR-530/630H, the first 2 steps in guide should be enough for you to follow, becouse the 420 do not contain any Guide plus+ system that will be messed up on replacing the HDD, right?
    So it should be the same way as when you replace the HDD in a DVR-520/720H.

    /Håkan
     

Share This Page

Loading...