Pioneer 106 or 107 which one??

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by w3dal, Mar 15, 2004.

  1. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
    Hi Everyone,

    Has anyone got one of the above burners, looking to buy either model just wondered what people of this board thought of them.

    Also if these are no good maybe u can tell me what is a good DVD burner to buy.

    Has to be Black in colour, burn -r and use Ritek discs.

    Thanks

    Dal
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,265
    Both the 106 and 107 are respectible burners. I would favour getting the 107 for a number of reasons: it's faster (it burns DVD-R media at 8x as opposed to 4x) and it supports reading of DVD-RAM disks - which may be useful if you plan to get a set-top DVD recorder in the future. There is also more chance of the 107 being upgradable via firmware for use with dual layer DVD-R disks (although you would probably need a new drive).
     
  3. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
    Hi Rasczak,

    Thats for the info i have been looking around and it seems to be a good burner, and its a pretty good price too.

    Do u use a Pioneer drive??

    Dal
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,265
    Not at the moment. I had a A04 in my old PC but I'm using the LG 4081 all-format burner at the moment. Another good drive but you can't get it in black (I think).
     
  5. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
    I need a black burner as my Dell PC is black.

    Thanks for the advice. I used to have an LG cd writer in my old Dell PC and it was an excellent and reliable drive.

    Dal
     
  6. cracken

    cracken
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,222
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    colchester
    Ratings:
    +39
    LG - Reliable :)

    sorry - for burners Pioneer all the way for me 105 (with 4forall) a 106 and looking at a 107 to replace the 105 now :)
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,265
    You don't think they are so otv? On the DVD burning front I can't really flaw the drive as it's performed flawlessly with DVD-RAMs, DVD-RW and DVD-Rs I've thrown at it - but I am quite conservative in what media I use. Haven't really had any other LG products to form an opinion on.
     
  8. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
    I think its gonna be thr 107. All i need todo now is find the best place on the net.

    Dal

    thanks to all!
     
  9. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,265
  10. BigRD

    BigRD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    far far away
    Ratings:
    +14
    I have the 107 and have found it to be an excellent drive. I've flashed the firmware (unofficial) to support 8X writing of certain 4X -Rs and also region free.

    Blankdiscshop have it in black for £84.98 see HERE :smashin:
     
  11. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
    Hi BigRD, that was where i was gonna get it from and pick up from Ritek discs at the same time.

    Not sure about flashing the firmware though, is it wise??

    Dal
     
  12. BigRD

    BigRD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    far far away
    Ratings:
    +14
    It really depends on whether you need it region free, want to burn 4X discs at 8X and want to rip DVDs at up to 12X.

    I wanted all of these hence the firmware flash.

    I use the Datawrite 4X yellow as they also work well in my DVD Recorder.

    HTH
     
  13. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
    I think blankdisc shop can supply you with the flash upgrade, is that the one you used??
     
  14. ElchenUK

    ElchenUK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you write to DVD-RAM with the 107?
     
  15. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rasczak's post implied it could read but not write to RAM. I think that's why he has the LG all format writer.
     
  16. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
  17. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,265
    The Pioneer definetly only reads DVD-RAM disks - it doesn't write to them. But TBH that is enough for most users - it is certainly sufficient to copy the video across from a DVD Video Recorder for editting/subsequent burning to DVD-R. The reason I have the LG is that it reads DVD-RAMs at 3x speed which makes the whole process slightly quicker.
     
  18. BigRD

    BigRD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    far far away
    Ratings:
    +14
    The 107 CAN'T write RAM but can read it. The firmware I used is on the CDRFreaks.com

    Use at your own risk HERE
     
  19. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
    Cheers BigRD ill proberly keep it as is, but will look into it for the future i guess.

    Hopefully get round to ordering mine today

    Dal
     
  20. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
    Hi All,

    Just put my new black 107 into my pc and its running 1.05 firmware have other 107 users started with that???

    I have also noticed on the Pioneer website that they have released version 1.12 is it a good idea to upgrade the firmware or should i just leave as it is.

    Is it complicated to-do???

    Dal
     
  21. BigRD

    BigRD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    far far away
    Ratings:
    +14
    My drive was shipped with Ver 1.05 and I flashed to the unofficial Ver 1.05. This is fairly straight forward to do. I'm now running the unofficial Ver 1.10 with no problems at all. :smashin:
     
  22. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
    Im having problems getting Prassi to work with this drive, come up with an error. Will need to sort this out before i think about updating the firmware.

    What a nightmare!

    Dal
     
  23. BigRD

    BigRD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    far far away
    Ratings:
    +14
    I haven't used Prassi with drive and can't say I will. I remember having problems with Prassi and my first NEC DVD writer. I've stuck with Nero ever since without a hitch. Record Now Max also works fine.
     
  24. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
    Cheers mate, my NERO should be arriving today.

    plenty of testing over the weekend, me thinks!

    Dal
     

Share This Page

Loading...