1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pioneer 106 help

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by completenewb, Aug 11, 2003.

  1. completenewb

    completenewb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i bought the pioneer 106 last week and im having trouble with it, ive only got nero atm, and i catn seem to get it to burn in a dvd format, only cd, anyone help or suggest some other programs that r good for this, ta
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,216
    Is it working properly as a DVD-ROM drive? What type (and make) of DVD disks are you trying? What version of Nero are you using?

    Sorry to come back with questions but it will help narrow down the problem.
     
  3. completenewb

    completenewb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes, latest version of nero, and just plain unbranded dvd-r discs (they work for sure cos i tested in someone dvd recorder thing), nero recognises the drive fine, but wen i go to burn something, it gives me like 8x 12x 24x for the speeds which is cd i think, then wen i click burn it says this medium is wrong please insert a cd, do u have to tell it what u wanna burn to cos the drive does cd's and dvd's
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,216
    Nero should auto-detect it. Try going to Recorder, "Choose Recorder" and see what options are there.

    Are you sure you've properly installed all the drivers for the device?
     
  5. completenewb

    completenewb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    as far as i know it doesnt need drivers, windows has detected it all correctly, in the choose recorder ive set it to the 106, its just wen i come to actually burning something, it auto does cd and i dunno how to change it. the drive is oem so came with no drivers just an installation leaflet
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,216
    If you put a DVD-R in the drive and goto "Recorder/Medium Info" inside Nero what does it say? Does it say the "Medium is empty" (which it should do if it's recognising the disk).

    Just as an obvious check what type of DVDR media are you trying to use - DVD-R, DVD-RW or + media?
     
  7. completenewb

    completenewb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes it does, and im using Mirror DVD-R's
     
  8. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,216
    Hmmm - run out of suggestions on this one. I use the Panasonic DVD Multi Burner so clearly don't have the hands on experience to help. May I suggest you try posting a topic here:
    http://forum.digital-digest.com/

    I know quite a few people on those boards (and one or two on these) use the Pioneer so may be of more use.
     
  9. completenewb

    completenewb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok thx m8
     
  10. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +721
    you say you have the latest version of nero....
    have you tried downloading the very latest update from their website. It's free if you already have Nero installed.

    The Pio106 is quite a new machine and I had to download an update for Nero Express before it would recognise mine as a DVDRW drive.

    If you've already tried this then sorry, as above... no clue.
     

Share This Page

Loading...