1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pioeer dvr 5100hs launch date&price

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by alwyn, Sep 6, 2003.

  1. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    the accounts manager at pioneer uk.says that the dvr 5100 will not be available untill november and that the suggested price will be £799.95
    the sept launch will be the dvr 3100
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,216
    This concurs with the news article in the latest issue of WVWE.
     
  3. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    yes,but what puzzles me is the statement made by pioneer on there own website that it would be a sept launch for the 5100
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,216
    The Japanese version is getting a Sept launch - not sure about US. Perhaps that's what it was referring to?
     
  5. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    www.AVLand.co.uk seem to be advertising the 5100 as in stock now, they have updated their images to the English machine and remote (previously if was the Japanese remote and unit pictured), and no longer have "details tentative".

    Anyone checked with them?

    Regards

    Philip
     
  6. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,762
    Does anyone know what the playback of DVDs is like on these recording machines ? Is it comparable to say a Pioneer 565 when playing pre-recorded stuff ? Or do I need a recorder and a player ?
     
  7. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    I think that we may have a winning combination of player/recorder in the forth coming pioneer dvr 5100hs.Only time will tell,and that is a wait till november
     
  8. grahamd

    grahamd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    norfolk
    Ratings:
    +0
    according to avland pics & specs the 5100 does not have rgb in, just output. oh dear. :(
     
  9. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    As has been previousley said,the spec.that Avland are giving is the US.one.No uk spec has yet been released.I am told that Pioneer have called a meeting of main distributors on the 19th sep. when details of dvr 3100 and 5100 will be given to them to-gether with launch details. At the same meeting details of the new pioneer 504 plasma range will be given
     
  10. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,216
    Are you sure? They did update it recently. I have only seen the US version, not the Japanese or European version, but I'm sure it had component inputs and/or outputs - the spec of AvLand doesn't. Also the back template they show has a R2 sticker on it (which could be Japan I suppose) - but then the Japs don't normally use Euro-Scart do they? The specs could always be a 'hybrid' of info assembled from a variety of sources I suppose.

    I haven't heard yet whether the UK model has RGB in or not - but it certainly looks a good piece of kit.
     
  11. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    Rasczak, You could be right,we should have the details from pioneer meeting ,and then we will know for sure
    ps. Have you seen the details for the new pioneer elite DV-59AVI? with dvd, dvd audio and sacd 14 bit video etc. it sounds a super machine.Pioneer say that the dvd standard is up to high definition
     
  12. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,216
    Only seen the basic specs - but I fully agree it does look nice. Pioneer are certainly pushing the upper limits of quality. On a similar subject I've arranged a loan of the Pioneer 3100 (when it appears) to try out there iLink out. I know this is aimed at digital camcorder users but I'm interested to see if playback of DVD-Videos is possible to a suitably equipped plasma media box or even a PC and then to Plasma/Projector. In theory using digital transmission all the way to the TV should produce a stunning picture (although it obviously depends whether the system allows this).
     
  13. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    Rasczak,Sounds very interesting,keep us posted. alwyn
     
  14. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    You can not play out through the firewire commercial DVDs, only your own recordings.

    The firewire output will talk to PCs, it basically works the same as a camcorder. The only difference is of course DV in is transcoded to MPEG, MPEG out is transcoded to DV.

    Regards

    Philip
     
  15. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,216
    I sorted of assumed that would be the case. Does it just refuse to output? Whatever outputting own recordings only could still bring some benefits...
     
  16. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    Yes just refuses to output anything.

    Regards

    Philip
     

Share This Page

Loading...