1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pio 520/720

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by sparkybun, Jul 6, 2004.

  1. sparkybun

    sparkybun
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    EN8 area
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hi all,

    Any reviews yet on these new beasties from Pioneer - look good but do they perform?

    Thanks

    Mel
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    There is a review of the 720 in the current What Video & Widescreen Entertainment - got a good review although they criticised it for lack of Progressive Scan and also for being the recorder that can do the shortest recording at full resolution.

    Personnally I think the Toshiba RX32 is the best machine at the moment although WVWE marked it down for having a "complicated manual" :confused:

    If you are after a Pioneer then the machine to wait for seems to be the DVDR920 due in November:
    http://www.avland.co.uk/pioneer/dvr920/dvr920.htm
     
  3. sparkybun

    sparkybun
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    EN8 area
    Ratings:
    +23
    Rasczak,

    Thanks for that. I'll nip out and get a copy of WVWE. To be honest I think the 520 will do me. I've got Sky+ (40GB) and a Humax PVR8000T(40GB) another 80GB is most probably enough. It's only really for dumping CBeebies onto DVD and taking to our weekend retreat for the Little 'un.

    Thanks again

    Mel
     
  4. sparkybun

    sparkybun
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    EN8 area
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hi,

    One more question does the Tosh take caddied DVD-RAM disks?

    Thanks

    Mel
     
  5. GoldFish

    GoldFish
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes

    Nunew33 has link to the Tosh user manual in one of his thread. Have a look if you are interested.
     
  6. Ishlin

    Ishlin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What's the word on the time base corrector in the new Pioneers? I've read that the TBC in the previous generation of Pioneers is not very good, inferior to for instance the Panasonics.
     
  7. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    I would also like to know if the very poor PAL Comb filter in these units have been replace with something better, i.e. up to the standard matching those found in the cheapest TVs would do me! The 510/310 were terrible at anything in PAL Composite.

    Regards

    Philip
     
  8. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    The What Video review states that thumbnails are no longer user selectable.This is incorrect.And although RGB input has been added,the svideo input has gone,meaning the convenience of having 2 high quality rear inputs for 2 devices is gone.Will Pioneer ever get it right?
     
  9. Ishlin

    Ishlin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So the only S-video input is now the mini DIN on the front?

    Annoying, but I guess it's acceptable if it otherwise delivers...
     
  10. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,767
    It would be interesting to get some "real world" reviews as well as the magazine ones ! I've looked in my local Asda and Morrisons and can't find the What Video mag - so it looks like a trip into town to Smiths.
     
  11. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    Probably not! However I thought that the SCART spec didn't allow for S-Video and RGB In on the same socket, something to do with the pin connection arrangements? All SCART inputs I have ever seen have been "RGB or Composite" OR "S-Video and Composite". Although thinking about it I suspect the only way to support both in the recorder would be with some hard switching (i.e. relays) and the have not done this to keep the cost lower.

    Pioneer seem to be losing it with DVD Recorders. In the main people who are already willing to pay the extra for a Pioneer product wouldn't mind paying that bit more to get everything, otherwise they would be look at the "HinYong" +RW brand at Neto from the start if cost was the only deciding factor.

    Regard

    Philip
     
  12. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    I agree Philip - although the specs for the upcoming Pioneer 920 do look good what with HDMI and PAL/NTSC progressive (the major omission from the current batch IMHO). The RRP of the unit is rumoured to be about £1200 so if build quality can match that price then Pioneer will (finally) have a all out winner.
     
  13. tabatha

    tabatha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately you just can't trust the magazines to review these products properly. It is only really in forums like this where the truth is discoved. How they missed the fact that you can't edit very accurately on the Toshiba RDXS32 is surprising. I was also surprised to find that you can't use 4xRW discs to record to on the Tosh - it just chucks them out like the Pioneer 5100. I can't undertstand why the makers of these machine do not seem to have made any provision for updating the firmware in the DVD drive.
     
  14. pavement

    pavement
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've recently started looking for a DVD/HDD recorder and the new Pioneer 520/720 is on my list of possibles. I've only seen one review of the DVR-720 (the one in What Video & Widescreen Entertainment) and it was very positive and compared favourably with the Toshiba XS32B. Now I don't own anything made by Pioneer or Toshiba so I don't have any particular brand loyalty but I'm curious as to why in this thread and others they seem to be being written of before they are even released ?

    I know the opinion of one magazine isn't going to be definitive hence me looking in here so any enlightenment on the Pioneer issue would be appreciated.
     
  15. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    They have been out for several weeks now so most of us either own them now or have had a fiddle with them in the shops. Virtually all recorders/players are available on display at most trade fairs several months before they are released though if you want a 'heads up' of what is coming...

    The new issue (September) of Home Cinema Choice reviews the Pioneer 520 and Toshiba RX32 - well worth checking out if either is of interest. Personally the Toshiba wins hands down between it and the Pioneer range though: component output, progressive scan, DVD-RAM recording/playback, iLink, ability to set thumbnail/menu background image, price all set the Toshiba well above the Pioneer range IMHO.
     
  16. Ishlin

    Ishlin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    To clarify something said above... the manual for the 520 (downloadable from the Pioneer website), clearly states the SCART input can take both RGB and S-video. But there is of course only one high quality physical input connection on the back.
     
  17. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    Just to clear up the confusion then:

    The SCART socket at the rear of Pioneer x20 models accepts RGB/S-Video and Composite inputs, switchable in the recorders menu.

    Phelings remark about S-Video having gone does not relate to the SCART socket only accept RGB and Composite, but the physical removal of an additional S-Video input socket at the rear.

    On the x20 models there are only two external analogue inputs, one on the back in the form of a SCART socket and one on the front in the form of S-Video/Composite and Audio Left/Right jacks.

    Regards

    Philip
     
  18. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct.And Rasczak has repeated the mistake that Pioneer does not give user selectable menus and thumbnails on the new models-they do.But with just one input I can see no reason to update my 5100.
    I rarely use -RW,but do use x4 -R without problems.Is there a difference with x4 -RW then?
     
  19. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    Hi Phelings - haven't seen you around the forums for awhile. Have you been away?

    Mistake in my language re the menus - I meant are unable to select the precise background image/font selection of your choice from any recording as opposed to pre-designed types. The thumbnails issue was stated by What Video - were they wrong? I haven't tried that aspect myself.
     
  20. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Computer crash and long wait for repair caused my abscence,but nice new £1000 Toshiba laptop from Curry's as replacement has helped.
    When compiling dvd's of tv series,I often use the episode title captions as my thumbnail(saves typing)and to not be able to select would be a pain and I was dismayed by the W V review,but having downloaded the manual,I can safely say that they are wrong-luckily.Although the limited menu structure could do with an upgrade.
    Off topic but you may know.I have Nero 6 and was trying to create moving menus for discs created on the 5100.Is this possible.Presumably I would not finalise first.How do I do it?
     
  21. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    Well gald to have you back!

    I can't help I'm afraid - I'm still using Nero 5.5 as my burning programme. Have you tried the Home Theatre PC forum:
    http://www.avforums.com/frame.html?http://www.avforums.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=46
    ..I'm sure one of them there will have experience of this. Alternatively you could always use TMPG Enc Author in accordance with the sticky!
     
  22. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    If you mean record all your titles in the Pioneer 5100, then record to DVD-R leaving unfinalised, then taking that DVD-R to your computer for updating the menus, it can not be done that way. Nero can not finalise a DVD-R from a DVD Set-top recorder.

    The best way to do it would be to transfer to a DVD-RW in Video mode and finalise it, then take that disc to your computer and use something like DVD MovieFactory 3 to import the titles, then you add all the moving menus and backgrounds you like, and then let MovieFactory make a DVD-R for you. The DVD-RW is simply reused for something else afterwards.

    Regards

    Philip
     
  23. pavement

    pavement
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went around several of our local (Kent) retailers yesterday both specialist and high street in a bid to take a look at the Pioneer 520/720 models. No one including two who are Pioneer dealers had any stock in yet. Has anybody actually bought one of these or had any experience beyond a demo ? I know everyone is recommending the Toshiba I'd just like some comments from someone with real world experience of the Pioneer before I take the plunge.

    Thanks
     
  24. Ishlin

    Ishlin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got a 520 and have started playing around with it. Not ready to give much of a review, but a few quick initial impressions.

    - Installation and operation a breeze.

    - Hard pressed to see digital artifacts when recording cable TV through RGB scart in 2 hour mode.

    - Tried copying a S-VHS tape through the S-video input, again in 2 hour mode. To make it difficult, I chose a tape recording that had a lot of grain and noise from the original broadcast. I could see some artifacts, but they were less intrusive than the original noise. The picture never broke up or went black, as has apparently happened to some with the previous generation of Pioneers when copying tapes. That was a relief. :thumbsup:

    - Haven't tried recording from composite input yet.

    - Above 4.5 hours, the picture is awful, but the 4 hour mode is better than I expected, way better than VHS and comparable to S-VHS. (Less resolution, but more stable picture.) I wouldn't choose it to archive "Blade Runner", but it'll do fine for, say, Simpsons or sports programs.

    So far, no regrets, but there's plenty left to test and explore.
     
  25. tabatha

    tabatha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have read that the 520/720 will record to 4x DVD-RW but will it also record to
    2 speed DVD-RW discs?
     
  26. Ishlin

    Ishlin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to the manual, it should.
     
  27. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    Indeed, it supports all DVD-RW media you can buy. You need 2 speed or more if you want to time slip on DVD-RW.

    The 520/720 (and all the *20 series) contains a writer based on the A07.

    Regards

    Philip
     
  28. Lyricman

    Lyricman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I believe the 520/720 can also use 8x -R which will enable you to make 48x speed copies from the HD to the DVD -R. That would be an excellent feature especially if can be played on normal DVD Players.
     
  29. joolze

    joolze
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Does the 520 work well with Sky - ie if you choose a program on Sky using the Sky Planner, will the Pioneer leap into action to record it when it is the correct time?

    Thought I had finally decided on the Panasonic E85, but am concerned that if I record Corrie (for example) for my parents, they won't be able to play it on their DVD player unless I use DVR-R disks. So I am now looking into the Pioneer, but I was attracted to the Pansonic originally because it seemed easy to program.

    Joolze
     
  30. pavement

    pavement
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just got a 520 and its a doddle to use.

    As for Sky + activation I can't give you a definitive answer as I don't have Sky but if its anything like connecting to freeview it should work. You set the recorder upto auto record when it detects activity through the scart socket from the decoder. I just set my Nokia 221T box to come on at a certain time and channel and as soon as this goes on the pioneer detects it and starts recording.

    I also created a test DVD-RW from the HDD in video mode and it played on a Sony 535 an a Dansai 852 without any problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...