PIN NO. Problem with SKY+

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by bailda, Sep 18, 2005.

  1. bailda

    bailda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Stevenage
    Ratings:
    +1
    All of a sudden our Sky+ box is asking for a Pin no. for playback of any films we have recorded form the regular Sky movie channels. Any movie that has a certificate, it is asking for.
    I have tried using the last 4 no.s on my card etc but no go and I cannot get through to Sky support (waited 45 mins on hold then gave up). The regular recorded tv programs are ok and no one in our household has set a pin either on purpose or by mistake.
    Any ideas anyone?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    It should be the last 4 digits of your viewing card number OR the last 4 of the original smartcard it you were a subscriber before the change over.

    Ultimately you may have to contact SKY to setup a new PIN, maybe worth trying the number (0800 2792000 and press option 1) that has been given elsewhere and not pay the national rate.
     
  3. bailda

    bailda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Stevenage
    Ratings:
    +1
    Many thanks. Got hold of Sky at last and it was my old pin no. from my origional card
     
  4. BuzzLightyear

    BuzzLightyear
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem on Sky+ aswell - except I've tried every number I can think of so I'm on a 58 minute hold to customer service - I'm gonna complain about this when I get through.

    :mad:
     
  5. bailda

    bailda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Stevenage
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try the 0800 2792000 no. I got through in under a minute unlike the 0870 no. I tried this morning.
    The woman who answered also confirmed this has happened to a lot of people and even herself last week.
     
  6. TrevP

    TrevP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You obvioulsy haven't read some of the other threads here.....this appears to be 'a problem' after the latest software upgrade......
     
  7. AndyH

    AndyH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Current phone call length is 141 mins!


    Good idea to try the old 4 digits.. I'll try that now.. We're getting this problem tonight too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice