Picture/Sound buttons on Harmony 555

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by DECKARD71, Sep 15, 2007.

  1. DECKARD71

    DECKARD71
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +119
    Hi. Im not able to configure the 2 extra buttons of Harmony 555: sound and picture. I've learned to configure the rest of buttons, but not these 2. Can anyone help?

    Thanks!!!
     
  2. czzer

    czzer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +105
    The Picture and Sound buttons don't send commands. They are shortcuts to a customized Device mode of the devices being used for audio and video in the current activity. So, for example, if you are in the "Watch DVD" activity, you could press the "Sound" button and the remote would be dedicated to the receiver device, where you could adjust surround modes, speaker levels etc.. Press "Sound" again to return to the "Watch DVD" activity.

    You customize the "Picture" and "Sound" modes from the "Customize buttons" page for either the device or the activity. Select "Picture" or "Sound" from the drop-down at the top of the page (it will normally be on "Activity" or "Device" depending on the page you are on).
     
  3. DECKARD71

    DECKARD71
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +119
    Thanks a lot czzer. Now I see how it works... I thought that Sound and Picture sent commands....

    Last question..... is there any way to manage the Device functions displayedon LCD? I have 28 pages for my AV receiver... and I would like to remove many functions, change the order, etc..

    Thanks again !
     
  4. czzer

    czzer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +105
    Yes. Just select "Settings" for the appropriate device under the "Device" tab, then "Customize buttons". You can re-order by typing commands in the order you want (and selecting the appropriate command from the drop-down box), and delete by leaving the label column blank.
     
  5. DECKARD71

    DECKARD71
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +119
    czzer. thanks again, I owe you many beers:thumbsup:
     
  6. patrick12

    patrick12
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    two years later ;)

    is it possible to change the picture/sound buttons in for a example sound on/off?
     
  7. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    Nothing's changed since then - 15-09-2007 7:48 AM - "The Picture and Sound buttons don't send commands". They still don't.
     

Share This Page

Loading...