1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Picture Settings.

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Stuart, Mar 10, 2003.

  1. Stuart

    Stuart
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    15,824
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Hampton, Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +3,008
    I have had my Tosh Plasma (42WP27B) for about a month now, and have still not settled on the picture settings.

    I would be interested to see what others have as their settings, including the advance settings, because I have no idea what they do.

    I have currently have the setting for the component input (DVD) at default settings in cinema mode.

    P.S. Has anybody else noticed if the automatic sensor works when in AUTO mode or not, because my picture does not seem to change whatever the ambient light conditions and is always too dark, I have to notch the brightness setting up to +5 for a reasonable image.
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    It's a Panny clone right?

    Brightness up 2 or 3 clicks contrast down around 10 possibly. Temp (low) is closest to 6500K but Med is going to be closer to what you might like watching. Cinema is good. This is all off the top of my head. Best to beg or borrow a test disc to do this stuff.

    Advanced settings are for greyscale offsets against stored settings. They have to be set using white window patterns from test discs. Best left alone...or have aplay as you can turn them on and off to see what they do.

    Gordon
     
  3. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    has anyone got settings for a panny 5 preferably one that has been set up proffesionaly think my settings are not bad but good to compare.
    contrast -11
    bright 4
    colour 2
    tint 0
    sharpness -10
    white balance warm
     
  4. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Gordon

    What is your suggestion on settings for Pio 433 HDE too? And from other HDE owners? Using THX and AVIA discs I find myself on USER set up extremely close to the STANDARD factory settings for most types of inputs

    Here is how it looks:

    USER / STANDARD
    Contrast: +28 / +30
    Brightness: 0 / 0
    Colour: +1 / 0
    Tint: 0 / 0
    Sharpness: +1 / 0
    Colour Temp: Mid / Mid
    Black: Low / Low

    Many Thank in advance!
     
  5. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Costas,

    My settings on my 433HDE are as follows:

    Contrast : +25
    Bright : -2
    Colour : +2
    Tint : 0
    Sharp : -2
    Color Temp : Mid
    Black : Low

    Out of interest have you look at the service menu on yours ?

    If you have what value do you have for Video Drive Mode ?

    Cheers, Lee
     
  6. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    some must have settings for a panny 5!
    gordon!! anyone!!
     
  7. KBDVD

    KBDVD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi thxultra,

    If your interested, after a fair degree of experimentation with the settings in the picture menu, these are the settings that I'm currently running with on my 50" Panny TH-50PHW5B.

    COMPONENT INPUT: 16:9

    PICTURE MODE: NORMAL
    CONTRAST: -10
    BRIGHTNESS: -25
    COLOUR: 0
    TINT: 0
    SHARPNESS: 10
    WHITE BAL: NORMAL
    ADVANCED: OFF

    (This works for my tastes but I'm not stupid enough to think that it will suite everybody!)

    Best Regards,
    KBDVD.
     
  8. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    loonatic,

    Many Thanks. I find your settings very interesting. When I first bought the screen and before using any calibration discs, my rough setting on USER was a variation of the MOVIE setting. It was identical to what you gave me with the exception of sharpness which I had on +1. I have entered the service menu before but did not spend anytime. I was worried of something doing/going wrong. I will have another look later and will give you the value for the Video Drive Mode. Actually, I tried to get a service manual from the Pioneer recommended service dealer but they did not have it.

    Anyone else's setting on HDE? Gordon's input?
     
  9. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    OK, Everyones settings will be different. as theambient light and partenering equipment will have an effect.

    I have not done HDE's yet, only MXE's. I would suggest though that Contrast is likely to be too high at standard settings.

    Pany5. Those settings sounded pretty close but sharpness maybe up to -8 to -6 instead of -10.

    Gordon
     
  10. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Gordon,

    Thanks. Do you find in general (MXE or Panny) that sharpness needs to be well below the 0 setting into the - (minimum on HDE is -7) and never to + side? Again +7 is the max for HDE (perhaps also for MXE)
     
  11. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    loonatic
    The Video Drive Mode value is 00. Is yours the same? Have you changed it?
     
  12. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Mine too was set at 00 but I found changing it to 05 (max) made a huge difference.

    Cheers, Lee
     
  13. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Thanks for the info loonatic. I want to make sure I use the right keys before I attempt anything in the service menu. How did you change it? Up / Down changes menu page. Did you use left / right somehow? Type or scroll to get the new value? "Enter" to save?
    Please let me know
     
  14. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Costas,

    The keys I used were as follows :

    P+ :: Previous menu utem
    P- :: Next menu item
    Vol - :: Decrease current menu item
    Vol + :: Increase current menu item
    Arrow Up :: Previous Menu Page
    Arrow Down :: Next Menu Page
    Arrow Left :: Decrease current menu item by 5
    Arrow Right :: Increase current menu item by 5
    Standby :: Exit

    Could not find an actual save button but just used Standby to switch off.

    Cheers, Lee
     
  15. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    thank you..!
     
  16. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Did you try changing the setting for Video Drive Mode Costas ?

    Cheers, Lee
     
  17. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Yes I did. Changing from 0 to 5 it does help with artifacts and "grain" on non DVD sources. However, the picture becomes rather "dull" ... a little "lifeless" I would say. I will check a bit more but I wonder if we may have a different software version. Mine is 3.12
     

Share This Page

Loading...