1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Picture Settings Sharp Aquos Please Help

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by mrpickford, Sep 14, 2004.

1. mrpickford

mrpickford

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

I have recently purchased Sharp Aquos LC22SV2E, however as the reviews on homecinemachoice.com state the picture settings out of the box are far from satisfactory.

As I am no expert (I am quite a novice) I would really appreciate some help from anyone who can assist me in configuring the picture settings for this TV.

I am using the TV in the bedroom and it is used for DVD, PS2, Sky Digital and some Terrestrial channels,

If you are not familiar with the set the settings are:

Contrast 0 to 60
    Colour -30 to 30
    Black -30 to 30
    Sharpness -3 to 3
    Red Blue -30 to 30 (ie -30 is red 30 is blue)
    Green - 30 to 30

I would really appreciate any help on this.

Thanks a lot

Craig Pickford

2. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,909
    The trick with any LCD panel is to get the brightness and contrast values just right - so as to make the most of the limited contrast range LCDs have by their nature, without losing anything of the image.

The easiest (and often cheapest) tool for this is a (any) DVD with THX branding on it (eg Indiana Jones trilogy and many others). Somewhere on the menu of the main feature disc (if there are 2 in the set) will be a THX Optimiser which is a set of simple, but useful test signals. There is also explanatory text.

Use the brightness (black) control to adjust the correct visibility of the black/dark tests; use contrast to get optimal visibility of the (near) white tests.