1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Picture Quality??

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by screemer, Oct 18, 2004.

  1. screemer

    screemer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,409
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southport
    Ratings:
    +42
    I got my Sky+ installed yesterday. I have the Amstrad box. Overall i am very impressed wit hthe service but i have to question some of the picture quality compared to my old Pace digibox. I am presuming this is down to the Amstrad unit?? I am noticing strange vertical lines like a ghosting effect which is very obvious on sports channels obviously because of the movement but have also noticed it on some dark adverts? Any ideas?? Can i ask sky to switch me to a V2 Pace???
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Others have reported similar image problems with their Amstrad SKY+ units.
    If you are not happy then by all means request a replacement, it may be another Amstrad but could be a PACE, either way when it's installed you can instantly check the quality before signing off on the swap.
     
  3. screemer

    screemer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,409
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southport
    Ratings:
    +42
    Is it possible to actually demand a PAce or could it just be a faulty unit instead of all the Amstrad boxes being the same?
     
  4. RichMercer

    RichMercer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I doubt you could demand a certain make. Many before you have tried and failed. Also, Pace either have or will stop making Sky+ boxes this month so all you'll get is Amstrad (or Thompson if you go for the 160) until the new Pace 2.5 box next year.
     
  5. screemer

    screemer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,409
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southport
    Ratings:
    +42
    UPDATE: Sky man has just been. Top bloke. Took the Amstrad one away and left me wit ha V2 Pace. The difference in picture quality is far superior, even he commented so. No more vertical lines and the whole picture seem sharper. The sound is louder and the fan noise is non existent. I can sit back and enjoy now!!!!!!!!
     
  6. Only777

    Only777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +124
    was a brand new pace?
     
  7. screemer

    screemer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,409
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southport
    Ratings:
    +42
    Yep
     
  8. Only777

    Only777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +124
    only asked cos i got sent a refurb one today, didn't think there was any new ones left. Might phone sky if i can be bothered.
     
  9. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    I have upgraded from V1 to V2 - the sound of the fan is much louder, the picture quality is perhaps slightly worse but very similar, the menu navigation is much much faster. Seems more reliable and looks ok

    Those are my thoughts between the V1 and V2 boxes to add to the comparison.
     
  10. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,106
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +109
    I've just had the amstrad box installed and from what I've seen to far the PQ is pretty good (not viewing cards to no football or movies yet). Not seen banding etc. I did see this on NTL but did a RGB scart to component conversion and it seemed to sort it out.
     
  11. giantteabag

    giantteabag
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the difference between the Pace v2 & 2.5?
    Cheers.
     
  12. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Not sure, the rumoured Pace 2.5 doesn't exist as such unless it's out of the planning stage and in production now, in that case only people involved with Pace and SKY would know the spec:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...