Picture quality with new LCD TV

anolanbfg

Standard Member
Hi there

New to the forum and new to HD in general. I've just bought a Samsung LE32R74BDX LCD HD. I have it plugged into a Telewest (now virgin) cable box that we've had for a couple of years- I'm using a THOR scart to connect the box to the TV and initial impressions are that the picture quality is very disappointing.

There's definate artifacting on the screen- it reminds me of the pixelation you get when you enlarge a jpeg beyond its actual size. The picture is no where near clear. All cables seem to be nice and tight.

Does anyone have any advice what might be going on ? Do I need a V+ box just to have a decent picture quality? Is the TV effectively magnifying the picture beyond it's broadcasted resolution or something? The pixelation is pretty bad.

Apologies if this is common knowledge, I'm just very new to all this

thanks!

mike7

Distinguished Member
First of all check that the Virgin box is set to RGB output. That usually improves things. Not sure what boxes Telewest used. I would assume there is a menu somewhere, leading to picture settings.

Secondly, how does the quality of picture from the cable box compare to the Freeview picture ?. I'm assuming you can receive it.

anolanbfg

Standard Member
thanks for the replies!

it's just cable unfortunately so I can't compare with freeview- i did get round to hooking up my xbox 360 and dvd quality is amazing-which was quite a relief.

Just a shame the cable TV quality isn't that high- the manual with the tv isnt very good and neither is Virgin's website.

I have to play around with it more and see if I can figure it out

DazzaSammy