1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Picture Quality when connecting Sky to Plasma TV

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by gary7, Jun 30, 2005.

  1. gary7

    gary7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just brought a Sony Wega KEP37M1 Plasma TV and I’m having trouble with my picture coming from my Sky box.

    My picture on the TV through Sky looks washed out, you can notice it especially when you watch a football or rugby match and the camera is shown the picture from a distance (i.e. top of the stand), it is also the same on when you get a close up of some ones face or something fast happens on the picture.

    I have got the Sky box set up to allow RGB signal through the Scart connection and it doesn’t matter how many times I try to improve the picture it still looks watched out.

    I have connected my DVD Player to the TV through Component Video and the picture has improved.

    Can any one advise me how to improve the picture on my Plasma TV through Sky? Is it down to the quality of the cable?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Hard to say in a specific case but in general terms broadcast digital is poorer quality then a DVD source. A connection method which seems to find favour is to use a RGB scart to VGA convertor to feed a plasma, more info in the dedicated Plasma forum which will be full of people with digital STB's feeding their pride and joy:)
     
  3. pa 28 driver

    pa 28 driver
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    gary7, I too have recently bought a S??y but the 42 MRX1. Have the setup via scart RGB fom sky plus and the pic is superb from day one.Not had it calibrated (by all accounts doubt if it would improve it much) but am truly delighted with said pic. Everyone that sees it says the same so my thought is maybe some fault with yours ie dodgy lead etc. Lot people think the word S??y swear word:) on here, but I am more then happy, as suggested might be worth post on plasma forum. Let us know how you get on, cheers
     
  4. gary7

    gary7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have put the same post on the plasma forum and someone has told me that the problem could be down to sky signal been an MPEG 2 compression format and that with my TV been HDTV ready, HDTV is MPEG 4 format which put simply is a uses a lot more information.

    Basically I have bought a TV for the future but sky are still in the past.

    Cheers guys!
     
  5. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Whoever told you that was talking out of his rear end. HDTV is in whatever format you connect it in. SkyHD initially will connect via HDMI or component, and that has little to do with the encoding, because the signal is decoded into another format before it goes anywhere near the TV. The fact that your TV is "HD ready" does not mean that it should not perform well on SD.
     
  6. gary7

    gary7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So it could be a faulty TV then? and not down to sky?

    I've only had the TV 2 weeks and i'm thinking if i should go back to the shop and telling them about.

    By the way I'm connecitng the TV via Scart
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Try another scart cable. Get a good quality one - but there's no need to buy one that's really expensive (I would never pay more than £20 for a scart cable). You might try another type of connection - if the box is Sky+, you could try the s-video output.
     
  8. gary7

    gary7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried a number of good quality Scart cables and the picture is the same. I have also tried the different Scart sockets on the back of the TV (i.e. 3 Scart Sockets).

    I only Sky Digital and not the Sky+
     
  9. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    State the obvious here, but you never know :devil:

    The scart to the TV is plugged into the TV output and not the VCR output on the Sky box isn't it? If not then you will only be feeding the plasma a composite signal as the VCR scart only outputs composite regardless of the settings.

    Mark.
     
  10. gary7

    gary7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes the Scart is plugged into the TV output on the Sky box
     
  11. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    ...and to also state the obvious, it is plugged into a RGB-capable scart on the TV ? (Not all scart connections are fully wired).
     
  12. gary7

    gary7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to the manual 2 of the Scarts are RGB, but i've tried all of them
     
  13. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I'm just wondering if that scart cable is fully wired for RGB ?
     
  14. gary7

    gary7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I checked this set up with another scart cable from work (I work for a cable company) and the scart cable I used has RGB coax connections

    This is why I’m thinking the TV might be at faulty
     
  15. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Have you tried the scart on your DVD player ?
     
  16. gary7

    gary7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the picture from the DVD player when connected via scart was little similar but not as bad, but with the dvd player connected through component video it has a brilliant picture
     
  17. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Sounds like you could have a faulty TV
     
  18. gary7

    gary7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what i'm thinking now.

    I'm going to go back down to the shop tomorrow and tell them about it.

    I will let you know what happens.

    Thanks :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...