Picture Quality of Philips 32PF9976 Vs 9986

Discussion in 'Philips TVs Forum' started by zoidy, Mar 19, 2005.

Tags:
  1. zoidy

    zoidy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +53
    Hi all,

    I am in the middle of buying a new Philips 9976 and have not found a single review on-line. I have however read some comments about a jagged/pixelated image on the 9976 though. Can anyone who actually has one comment on this?

    I heard that the 9986 is far better with the Pixel Plus 2.

    Is the 9976 still far better than a standard CRT image?

    Cheers,
    Pete.
     
  2. drskhaled

    drskhaled
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +108
    i have a 9976 and it is superb. it has the same panel as the 9986 and is pretty much identical. PP2 is the only difference in terms of software affecting the image. pp2 is a moot point for me as i dont use pp1 (gives a halo effect and looks overprocessed).
    Overal i preferred the look of 9976 as it fits my tv stand perfectly and i'm no fan of the 9986's fixed side speakers (in reality the missus didn't like the look of it).
    As for comparisons with crt, this depends on the quality of input, ie dvd via component or rgb beats crt easy.
    I'd be interested to hear from other 9986 owners what they think of pp2 and wether they use it or disable it.
     
  3. Phill_1981

    Phill_1981
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,571
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Woking, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +44
    I dont use the PP2
     
  4. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    I do use it. extensively...but not at the PP2 setting. It is set to Movie Plus on mine and this gives a more natural, 'relaxed' image.

    It isn't really possible to completely disable this processing, just to back it off a little. The picture would look awful with no processing.

    Jimmy
     
  5. Phill_1981

    Phill_1981
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,571
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Woking, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +44
    Yes, i use the Movie Plus setting on mine instead of the PP2
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice