Picture Quality From Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by maxipax, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. maxipax

    maxipax
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,
    Please can anyone advise. I have a Pano ex85 Hard drive recorder. I have connected a video player to it so that I can run my home vhs tapes to the hard drive them burn them on to a dvd. I followed the instructions from an earlier post on this forum, but it has copied to the hard drive very sharp and clear but when I have burned it to a dvd it has lost a lot of quality. The home videos are 3hr long and the dvd are a 4.7gb size.
    Many thanks for any tips or help...
    Regards
    max

    Ps Happy New Year
     
  2. Hal_loe

    Hal_loe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +118
    Hi

    I suggest you record in at least SP mode to the HDD, then split the recording using the divide function.

    Have you got the NR for recording ON or OFF.

    The modes XP, SP, LP etc work totally different to the SP and LP modes on VHS.

    These are different bitrates so the lower the bitrate the more blocky the recording will become.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,049
    Hi Maxipax

    Can you direct us to which instructions you were following?

    Evidently, if your recording was good on the hard drive but not once you had transferred rto DVD then you have been re-encoding, and it is that thats has cost you quality.

    Basically, you can consider a DVD to be a 2 hour max medium at decent quality. If you have crammed 3 hours onto one DVD you can appreciate that the material had to be compressed by throwing 33% of the data away.

    Ill come back later to the various strategies you can adopt to get around this.

    The method that Hal_Loe suggests is a good one, but the methodology you use to make the transfer still matters.

    Once we know what recipe you were following it will be easier to give you better help.
     
  4. alan sh

    alan sh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I recorded The hogfather onto a VHS tape, transferred it to my EX75 HDD and then saved that to DVD - quality seems fine (now I am using decent DVDs).

    I saved and copied in SP mode - used 2 DVD's (1.5 hrs each). I've not tried any other quality yet.

    Alan
     
  5. aekostas

    aekostas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +52
    You are encoding twice, once when writing onto HDD and once onto disk. You can set the "Record for High Speed" (or sth) option on *before* writing to HDD, then transfer losslessly onto the disks.
     
  6. Mike999

    Mike999
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Alan, just curious - why did you record Hogfather onto VHS rather than directly on the ex85?
     
  7. maxipax

    maxipax
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi
    The post I followed was this one
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=353203&page=15

    I am fairly sure I did it right. It sounds like the problem could be that I am trying to put too much on to the dvd. Is 2hr the max for geting on to a disk at a good quality. Can I get bigger disks? I also noticed that the recorded dvd was in 4.3 yet when I watch it off the hard drive it is normall. I tried to switch the aspect on my tv but it would not change it. Is there a solution to that as well..
    Many thanks for all your help

    Regards
     
  8. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
    If you need to transfer a full 3 hour VHS tape to DVD-R then do it direct to DVD disc with a scart lead connecting VCR direct to AV2 on the dvd recorder.

    Use the FR mode on the DVD recorder for recording and set the time for three hours. Providing that your VHS tape is of reasonable quality then the results will be satisfactory.
     
  9. alan sh

    alan sh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    My EX75 is connected to my NTL box which does not get Sky 1 or 2. I have a SKY box in another room with a VHS recorder attached. So I recorded it that way.

    I also have a wireless connection from my sky box to the TV with the NTL attached - today, I got some scart take-off connections and connected that to AV4 - so I can now record from sky directly to the EX75 - as long as no-one walks by, in which case, the signal breaks up a bit.

    Hope that explains it

    Alan
     

Share This Page

Loading...