Picture problem with Bush FreeSat HD receiver

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Foebane72, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    I bought a Bush FreeSat HD receiver a few years ago and have always noticed a problem with the picture it produces - the EPG and any Now/Next/Programme Info and notices like Mute and Subtitles that come up have got a fine black and white levels and full contrast for the display in question... but the TV channel that is displayed always has just a dark grey background when it's meant to be black, like the picture has a lower contrast. This has varied only slightly from display to display that I've tried and it also varies depending on whether the Bush or the display is turned on first, but the picture contrast is always dark grey rather than black. Please advise about how to fix this, as it is really rather unpleasant to try to watch TV that looks washed out.

    I have tried changing the brightness and contrast on the displays I've tried it on to compensate, but it is always there, and what's more, the Sony Blu-ray player I also use looks fine on it, and I wouldn't want to change b&c each time, especially as I'm using an HDMI switch.

    Can anyone help me? Or at least advise me on a better model of FreeSat HD receiver?
     
  2. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,176
    Humax. Though anything not Bush (or Harvard group) should be an improvement, they have a bit of a reputation...
     
  3. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    So Bush is the worst? I'm certain now that I bought the receiver from Argos, and they're a Bush favourite seller.

    Thanks for the info, I'll look into Humax.
     
  4. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,176
    The Bush brand is owned by Home Retail Group who own Argos... Generally producing cheap tat for the budget market.
     
  5. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,142
    You sound like Mr. Ratner Kev:)
     
  6. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    Humax look very expensive and don't have awesome reviews on Amazon. What about other brands?
     
  7. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,789
    Humax is the best known, but look at the FS web site.
     
  8. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
  9. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,142
    I think that you will find that they do not have 'awesome reviews' either.:)
     
  10. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    [​IMG]

    This is what I'm talking about with the Bush: the BBC Three window (the standard interface for OSDs and the EPG on this Bush) is jet-black, and yet the background that represents the TV picture is at best a dark grey when it should be black. This is an HDMI monitor I'm using now in place of a TV I had just a few days before, but even with a TV I couldn't possibly adjust the brightness and contrast to erase the background grey, and believe me, I've tried. When I had the TV, I found for some reason that if I put the TV on first before the Bush, then the grey level was reduced (but NOT eliminated). The monitor seems to produce the same grey level either way.

    What I want to know is, does anyone else get this on their FreeSat boxes? How do I know that Bush is the only brand to suffer from this problem? They may ALL have this problem!
     
  11. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,142
    You can always take them back.
    That looks awful. I have a Humax Freesat box, and blacks look pretty black to me. Is the 'flare' around the text on the TV or is it a camera phenomenon?
     
  12. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    The flare is caused by the camera, I think the lens has been smeared.

    I looked at Humax on Amazon and it was at least £80 for a basic no-PVR model. I dunno if I can afford that, at least just yet.

    I might have to make do with the Bush for now or think about giving up on broadcast TV altogether and rely on Netflix, Amazon, etc. instead. I was in fact looking at their TV Fire Stick last night.
     
  13. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,789
    Look at the Freesat web site for all the makes and prices.
    I agree with post #4.
     
  14. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
  15. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,142
    Order it online and the distance selling (or whatever they are called these days) come into force. Returning for no reason is OK.
    Look for Cancelling.
     
  16. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,789
    It'll be fine - good price.
     
  17. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    Just removed the FreeSat box from my AV setup, it's the BUSH BFSAT03HD.

    Any ideas on how this could be updated? Or should I just sell it?
     
  18. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
  19. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,142
    You could buy it and send it back if you don't like it.
     
  20. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,789
    As the FS site shows you can get a Humax at exactly the same price.
     
  21. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    What? Under £50? I can't find it. Link?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2015
  22. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,789
    "From £44" same as the other.
    Freesat - Get Freesat - Simple has it as the first item.
     
  23. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,176
    The 'simple' page has no Humax boxes on it Logi.... :D

    Just noticed OP has had this box for years, why on earth put up with it?
     
  24. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,789
    On my version of Freesat site Get Freesat leads to a page with two tabs, Smart and Simple, of which the latter shows all the FS machines which at the top includes a Humax at "from £44".
    Quite agree about it being time to get a new one.
     
  25. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,176
    Didn't know you had your own version. :D Please share a screen shot with us.
     
  26. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    Cheapest current Humax Freesat box is the single tuner HB1000S and it requires a separate external usb hard disk to record.

    http://www.humaxdigital.com/uk/products/

    The HDR1000/1010S is being replaced so retailers have little stock.

    Google Humax HDR1100S
     
  27. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    I don't get that when I Google freesat and go to the first result.

    I've just forked out about £100 for the monitor as it is (full 1080p rather than the HD Ready TV) and I'm willing to commit to a budget of £50 for the FreeSat. I just want a good picture and sound, and the Manhattan model promises that.
     
  28. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    I put off buying a new box for ages mainly because I thought they were all like that, and as I said, I realised that if I put the TV on first, then the Bush, the grey wasn't so bad. But I figured I would have to get a new FS STB when I got the monitor, as I had the same issues with a similar monitor hooked up years before. Luckily, the Blu-ray player I have has a perfect picture.
     
  29. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    I've brought back the Bush until the 21st of July, and by then I can buy the Manhattan model. I miss FreeSat, you see.
     
  30. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,949
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +618
    The Manhatten is probably manufactured by Vestel, the same as the Bush.
     

Share This Page

Loading...