Picture Morphing on W/S - What is a true, 'as broadcast', mode?

A

Andy Davis

Hi, newbie here, but I have spent many,many hours reading threads here........Thanks to all :thumbsup:

Please could I get some help with picture morphing on widescreen tv's. I have just come back from currys, and have tested every siingle w/s there with the screen modes.....and I really don't know where I am at....I mean, I don't know which TV gave the truest picture from the original signal :mad: ........I had the run of the place really, and after getting rid of the sales staff, I had every single telly tuned into bbc n24, and I tried to get an original signal broadcast........but they squezzed the faces, stretched them, lopped bits off them and so on.....get my drift.... I couldn't, in the end find a telly that showed the whole picture, because none of them told you it was a true representation etc....if thats the right phrase. some said 16:9....& were stretched, some squezzed, some lopped. on 4:£ mode , the same.........I am pulling my hair out as all i want to know is which TV's do actually show the original picture......Its a very basic question and I feel really thick for having to ask :suicide: .....I am a ws virgin and have been very happy with my sky letterbox mode on my not-ws telly......nothing morphed etc....just a smaller pic, why not w/s???? argghh ......thanks :)

I believe that the BBC channels transmit in 14:9, so to fill the (wide)screen you will either stretch or lop off the original picture. The alternative is to have the black bars at the side.

Hope that clarifies things....

The signal distribution around Currys was almost certainly RF (aerial socket), so no true widescreen signal was being supplied to the sets, hence your confusion.
With the signal applied to the scart sockets all would become clear, Wide for w/s, 4:3 for 'traditional' shape.
This means that no true w/s is available via analogue TV and you must have either Sky or Freeview to get it.