1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Picture in picture

Discussion in 'TVs' started by jcan, Jul 21, 2002.

  1. jcan

    jcan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know how the Picture In Picture facility available with Sony FX66 models actually works and what sort of functionality it provides? It says it has a single tuner? I can understand how the FQ series would do it having 2 tuners, but how is it done with 1?
     
  2. Christ

    Christ
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +18
    It uses the tuner from another source (i.e. Video/Sat/DVD) for the
    second picture
     
  3. MadAxeMan

    MadAxeMan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm going to buy the FX66 soon - need to clarify how the PiP works though...

    ...anyone explain fully what you can display in the PiP??? The guy in Comet reckons only the main picture, which is obviously BS.

    Can I have analgoue in the main picture and any AV source in the PiP and vice versa???

    Cheers.
     
  4. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,026
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,349
    Two years ago I was looking into buying a new set and at the time no set only the Loewe had PiP(also PaP). They had all switched to PaP. Picture and Picture. Have they gone back to using Picture and Picture?
     
  5. Christ

    Christ
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +18
    Jcan

    All it means is that whilst watching from one source (say TV through aerial) you can view any second source in any corner of the screen (with the sound through headphone socket), the input to this can be TV/SAT/VIDEO/DVD. Probably not something you would use every day but it is occasionally handy..

    Chris
     
  6. MadAxeMan

    MadAxeMan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers, that's the kinda thing I want.

    Like you say not something you'll use everyday but handy none the less.
     
  7. TommyP

    TommyP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found the best use was when your going to record one thing and watch another you can have a picture of whats going to be recorded in the corner and get the right point when it starts rather than having to keep flipping back and forth.

    Also good for finding out when ad breaks have finished.

    If anyone wants I can take a piccy to show the PiP working?
     
  8. MadAxeMan

    MadAxeMan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, that would be cool :D

    Also, how does it work on the remote - is it easy to flip between sources...
     
  9. ryanos

    ryanos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes there is a button on the remote which lets you switch between pictures
     
  10. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
    Hi,

    I was playing the PS2 yesterday, whilst watching the Spurs game using the PIP option on my FX66.

    Not something i use very often but does come in handy everyonce and a while, this TV does have some great features!!

    I also used the remote finder for the first time yesterday, an excellent feature and should be on all TV's

    Cheers

    Dal :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...