Picture in Picture Issue - Samsung UE32F5000

Discussion in 'Samsung TVs Forum' started by Baggie79, Feb 22, 2014.

Tags:
  1. Baggie79

    Baggie79
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    Please excuse my ignorance as although I am good with pc's i have not got a clue about tv's so I might be going at this the wrong way so bare with me :)

    I have just bought a Samsung UE32F5000 tv, the intention was to use it as a pc monitor but have my wireless satellite box plugged into either the rca or scart connector and be displayed as the pip, so I could watch satellite tv and also work on my pc.

    The tv turned up yesterday and I plugged my pc into the hdmi socket as the main input but when I went into pip options only the aerial socket was available as an option for display in the pip window and not scart or rca.

    I need to find a way around this, my only thought was is there any cable or device that will convert my rca or scart connection in a coax connection so I can plug this into the tv and run it through there, would this even work?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,570
    Get hold of an old VCR (you may already have an old one kicking around yourself) and plug in your Satt receiver via scart and connect the RF out from the VCR to the Tv and tune it in on the TVs analogue tuner...or buy an RF modulator.
     
  3. Baggie79

    Baggie79
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that it sounds good, not got a vcr, could anyone recommend a rf modulator?
     
  4. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,570
  5. Baggie79

    Baggie79
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I will give that a try now.
     
  6. JohnyM

    JohnyM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +18
    This seems a little odd, I have a T28C570 in front of me, using it as a monitor and when I press the PIP button on the remote I get the full range of source options (that I have connected) I occasionally use the PIP function for monitoring my CCTV DVR. Obviously sources that aren’t connected are greyed out so have you checked the cable you’re using is good?
     
  7. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,570
    You have a completely different model.
    From the UE32F5000 manual...

    "You can watch the TV tuner and one external video source simultaneously.
     
  8. JohnyM

    JohnyM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +18
    I did notice that lol.

    My T28C570 and the UE32F5000 are both current models and I assumed Samsung would have kept the PIP feature the same across different models.
     

Share This Page

Loading...