1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

picture blocking - Ntsc to Pal - CDR/CDRW

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by simon1, Aug 6, 2001.

1. simon1

simon1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +58
    Hitachi 32WF810 & Hitachi DVP515

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to dvd and hope others out there could answer these three questions:

1. When artifacts occur sometimes on dvd playback, if I go back to just before they appeared, it never seems to do it a second time. Has the player sort of realised it's mistake and learnt not to do it again or is this just co-incidence?

2. I'm a bit confused regarding different sorts of NTSC and PAL conversion. When I play back a region 1(NTSC)disc, the 'PAL' indicator remains lit on the player and the 'Hue' option on the tv menu is not available (which it would be if receiving an NTSC signal). There is an option in the dvd menu to select 'Quasi PAL', but if I select this the picture is distorted and I still don't get NTSC output from the player. Player is connected via rgb scart.

The player is based on the Samsung machines. I noted on one of these Samsung machines, there was a small button on the remote, which you pressed with a pen to change from NTSC/PAL. My player doesn't have this, and there is nothing in the menu apart from 'Quasi PAL'

To recap, picture seems fine with 'Quasi PAL' switched off, but I'm obviously not geting a true NTSC signal from either setting. Tv mentions compatibility with PAL/SECAM/PAL60/NTSC4.43/3.58. The dvd mentions compatibility with NTSC, and it's user manual simply says 'PAL indicator will light when playing back a PAL disc'