1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pics from Z2...still amazes me after 6 months!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by MacReady, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    I have had my first projector, a Sanyo Z2, for just six months now and I am still 'wowed' everytime I watch a movie on it.

    I did a bit of tweeking of the settings tonight and I am pretty happy with the results. Took some pics but I am still trying to get the hang of using a proper camera rather than a point and shoot so I dont think they really do the actual images any justice.

    Is anyone else the same and still gets a big grin on their face when they sit back and watch this kind of massive image in their own home :D
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,017
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    MacReady, I'd be really interested to know what settings you're using. Those images look superb.

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  3. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    I'll take note of the settings later tonight and post them on here for you.
     
  4. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,017
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    I'd appreciate that, thanks. I tried posting a few screen pics in the "Z2 with colour filters" thread as you suggested, but the results were such rubbish that they didn't really show anything. My poor old camera must be on the way out, I think.

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  5. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    That's a shame as I would have liked to see the results from the colour filters as I am still interested in trying this myself.
     
  6. shaolin95

    shaolin95
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi!
    Do you mind posting some images as close to the ones I posted as possible for a friendly comparison. Just curious to see how they compare no flamming here :)
     
  7. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    I will give it a go...allthough I dont think they will compare to be honest. I am only running from a budget DVD player via componant rather than DVi from an HTPC :( I am also still trying to get used to my camera so no matter what I do the pics never look as good as the actual image.

    Those pics you posted were superb though.
     
  8. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    For Bert Coules, the settings I am using are as follows:

    Contrast -13
    Brightness -2
    Colour 0
    Tint 0
    Colour temp Adj
    Red +1
    Green 0
    Blue -3
    Sharpness +2
    Gamma +7
    Auto grayscale Off
     
  9. shaolin95

    shaolin95
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the compliments. I too think your screenshots are very good and dont worry I know that they dont look exactly like what we see at home thats the bad part of screenshots. Which Lord of the rings is that shot from...I have part 2 on DVD and part 1 partially on HD. Perhaps I can take that picture too.
    Regards
     
  10. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,017
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    MacReady, thanks very much for those settings. I'll give them a try.

    Are you using the half lamp mode, or the full? And do you find that the iris setting makes much difference?

    We didn't talk about screens: mine is a light grey, approximately equal to Dulux Icestorm 5.

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  11. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    The screens are from The Return Of The King EE.

    I am just taking some shots from Gladiator and The Fifth Element to compare to yours for you :smashin:
     
  12. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    I am using a DRH 231x130 screen. The Z2 is in full lamp mode with the iris fully open.
     
  13. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,017
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    You're projecting a bigger image than me (my screen is 72" wide) which probably explains why your settings feel a bit too bright on my setup: the whites seem bloomy and slightly washed out, and that's with the lamp at my standard half-mode setting.

    I do think that reducing the blue setting improves the blacks, but (possibly because it's one of the few colours I can see properly!) I find the reduced blue in the overall image noticeable, even at only -3.

    This is without the filters, of course. I'm still not sure whether I prefer the image with them fitted, or removed.

    Thanks again for the settings; it's good to have more to experiment with.

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  14. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +610
    I have had my projector Toshiba MT1 for over 4 years , I still get a Big grin when I watch a Movie and really enjoy it. Its got a rock solid picture and everyone who sees it thinks its great.

    I have considered upgrading but I still love the picture, the projector has never given me any probs, no dead pixels etc and i have NEVER CHANGED THE BULB!!
     
  15. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    That is the great thing about projectors that I personally think is hard to capture with a large screen TV. You tend to get used to large TV's ( of teh 40, 42" flavour anyway) but when you start measuring your screen in feet rather than inches it becomes a different experience :thumbsup:
     
  16. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    Bert, I have been playing with the settings again tonight after my attempts to take some more pics the other night.

    I have been looking back over a few threads on here and other on the AVS forums and have been trying to get the picture as best as possible without resorting to entering the service menu.

    I am also running the image using the progressive scan on the Z2 rather than from my Pioneer 575 and am still undecided which is doing the best job.

    My current settings are as follows

    Contrast -10
    Brightness -1
    Colour +1
    Tint 0
    Colour Temp Adj
    Red -1
    Green -6
    Blue +4
    Sharpness +4
    Gamma +7
    Auto Grayscale On
    Progressive L1

    I think we should turn this thread into a ' show us your Z2 settings' one ;) It is a shame that the Z3 is getting all the attention at the moment as I am sure there are still quite a few happy Z2 owners out there.
     
  17. bigsy

    bigsy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    nice setup!, iv just bought a sanyo z2 after seeing it and a screen 235x135 which is similar to yours, could you please tell me how far away your projector is from the screen and at what height approximatly, thanks
     
  18. johann1979

    johann1979
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    857
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    It looks really cool - what screen are you using?
     
  19. dekoded

    dekoded
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Blackpool
    Ratings:
    +45
    I agree, the Z2 is a great budget PJ, great screenshots.

    I think you should consider a HTPC though as I found the improvement over Prog-Component was huge! and that's using VGA!

    One thing that has just got me a bit annoyed though is that it appears the Z2 isn't HD compliant and I always assumed it was :confused:

    I imagine that this is due to HDMI encryption and not the actual resolution of the Z2, could someone confirm this?

    I was just getting excited about the prospect of HD movies only to find I may not be able to benefit :mad:
     
  20. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    I thought the Z2 was HD compliant :confused:

    I am considering building an HTPC at the moment but need to sort out a few other things first.
     
  21. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    It's a DRH 235x131 basic manual screen
     
  22. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    The Z2 is aprox 13ft away from the screen and is attached to the ceiling with a Vogals mount using a 20cm extension tube.
     
  23. bigsy

    bigsy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    im confused about what hdcp is, i want to connect my computer to the pj via DVI, what does it mean if the cable HDCP compliant and where can i buy a decent length of cable from?
     
  24. bigsy

    bigsy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    how can i connect my pc to the pj when most cables are only 5m in size? how does everyone overcome this problem?
     
  25. FlyingBig

    FlyingBig
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lisburn
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ummm setup the projector near to your PC. When you buy a projector u need to arrange your room to suit the PJ as you can bet its the most expensive bit of equipment in your room, or the best :D
     
  26. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +117
    Buy longer cables :D

    I need a 10m HDMI/DVI cable to run from my PC and I running a 15m componant cable at the moment.

    If you do a search around the forum you will find there are a lot of places that do longer cables.
     

Share This Page

Loading...