Physical Media Research

Arthur Kipps

Novice Member
Hi there!

I'm a fellow disc enthusiast and am currently writing my university thesis on physical media (DVD/Blu-ray/4k Blu-ray). It is a marketing paper that is trying to generate ideas to keep physical relevant in the marketplace. I'm really keen to interview some fellow disc buyers and wondered if anyone here would mind having a quick Zoom call with me over the next week or so? All interviewees would be completely anonymised. Many thanks in advance for any responses!

IGC

I've been buying physical media for 35+ years.

Never heard of Zoom (I thought it was zoom.co.uk) until COVID knocked on our doors and still not sure what it is.

You may need to open up your contact regime a bit to get in people like me we may not be too au fait with social media. That's most likely the best type of person too.

Can't see why you can't post here you're likely to get more responses too. There's been numerous threads.

I think we all agree physical media buyers are going to hell in a hand basket.

Just on a side note you should mention in your paper the TOTAL disaster of the English riots that razed the biggest pressed disc duplication plant in Europe. Sony DADC never rebuilt of course they just ****** off to Austria and left dozens of distributors destitute. Add this to the new VAT regime for importing (caused by Brexit®) for individuals or VAT and duty for some disc materials it's not looking good.

The demise has certainly been sped up with what I mention above and of course COVID with what I call the Tiger King Effect. Streaming is the death knell.

Sony fire August 2011 (1).PNG

Cevolution

I've been buying physical media for 35+ years.