1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

photoshop elements 2

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by indio uk, Sep 21, 2005.

  1. indio uk

    indio uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    help, i'm trying to capture stills from my sony dv video which was shot in 16x 9 ratio, but when i try to import into elements direct from my camcorder it has a ratio of 4 x 3 in elements how can i change this?

    regards
    dave
     
  2. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +57
    Not sure about this, but does your cam record and replay 'true' widescreen, or just a squished 4x3?
     
  3. indio uk

    indio uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    it says 16 x 9 looks perfect on the tv, its a sony dcr pc105e
     
  4. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you mean the image is anamorphically "squashed"? Which is how widescreen is usually recorded. That is it looks:
    http://tinypic.com/dwsyyw.jpg
    If so, all the image is there, you just need to resize it by increasing the width by 133%
     
  5. indio uk

    indio uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats what it looks like in elements but on the tv its perfect
     
  6. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what a widescreen TV does automatically - stretch the picture by 133% horizontally (extra 33% width). With Elements you'll need to do it manually.
     
  7. indio uk

    indio uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm new to this how do i do it?
     
  8. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +57
    Resize to 1280x768 maybe......

    All my nightmares now coming back regarding aspect ratios with DVD recording/transfer etc....anamorphic/16.9/letterbox..... :suicide:

    Maybe you could just get a camera for pictures and keep the video for movies... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
     
  9. electrolyte

    electrolyte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,030
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1,077
    Go to the Image menu, then Resize, then Image Size. An Image Size window will come up. Change the drop down option next to width from pixels to percent. At the bottom of the window uncheck Constrain Proportions. Change the width percent to 133. Click OK. Job done.

    If you want I can post a screen shot of what to do.

    HTH :)

    BTW I have just realised - I have Elements v3 while you have v2. What I have suggested I would imagine work in v2 but I haven't got v2 to check!
     
  10. indio uk

    indio uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i can see how to do it but the height changes automaticly, how do i stop this and what percentage shout the height be?

    regards
    dave
     
  11. electrolyte

    electrolyte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,030
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1,077
    Hi Dave

    You need to make sure you untick the "Constrain Proportions" options. When constrain proportions is ticked Elements will ensure that any changes you make to the width will automatically also be applied to the height. If you untick constrain proportions it won't apply the changes to the height at the same time. So set the width box to 133% and leave the height box at 100% and you should have a perfect image! :thumbsup:
     
  12. indio uk

    indio uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    brill, thanks a lot guys
     

Share This Page

Loading...