Photoshop dudes please.....

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Chubster, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. Chubster

    Chubster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Haslemere
    Ratings:
    +149
  2. RobDickinson

    RobDickinson
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Christchurch , New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +748
    Use selection tools to select a large area round it but not the dog.

    So you now have say a big circular loop around it but a perfect line along the dogs neck/head/ears.

    This will prevent you from cloning outside of that selection.

    Use the clone tool select somewhere then clone it out, start at the top work down.
     
  3. Liquid101

    Liquid101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberystwyth
    Ratings:
    +2,844
    As an alternative, you could make a duplicate layer of the whole canvas, use the clone tool to cover the offending area without worrying about covering the dog elements. Reduce the opacity of the layer, so the original image shows through then use the eraser tool tool at 100% to remove the parts where you went over the outline of the dog.

    That way you always have the option to undo, or redo parts which you're not happy with, and use softer edged tools to help with blending etc.
     
  4. BubbleDouble

    BubbleDouble
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,227
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Space
    Ratings:
    +1,883
    That's how I'd do it :smashin:

    Darren
     
  5. cedmondson

    cedmondson
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +283
    A variant on Liquid101's technique would be to add a layer mask to the top layer, and instead of erasing through the pixels of the top layer, paint in black on the mask. This has the same effect as erasing and you can still undo / redo & control brush hardness etc. The advantage is that you can also paint in white on the mask to 'unerase', so you can continue to tweak your selection after history is lost and no pixel information on either layer is lost.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012
  6. GaseousClay

    GaseousClay
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5,759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7,051
    As cedmondson says, use layer mask. Three minute job. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice