1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Phono to Coax Lead (RF)

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by abz_da_man, Jan 11, 2005.

  1. abz_da_man

    abz_da_man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can i use a Phono to Coax Lead (RF) to link the video out, of a source such as a DVD player to and old TV with only an RF input??
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    No you can't, but you can buy video modulators from places like Maplin Electronics and Keene Electronics.
     
  3. abz_da_man

    abz_da_man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    why wont this work?? Then what is the purpose of this phono to coax (rf) cable??

    Cheers
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    It won't work because video is 0 to ~6.5 MHz and RF is ~480 MHz. You can't feed a video signal into an RF socket, or vice-versa

    Probably for an American design product which uses a phono plug for output rather than coax. Just because a cable has the correct plug on it does not mean that it carries the correct signal.
     
  5. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +711
    It won't work 'cos the video from the DVD box is a baseband signal (raw video) whereas the TV needs an RF signal with the video modulated on top of it (so it's just like what your TV antenna receives over the ether).
    Such leads exist because some modulators (and other equipment) happend to have outputs on a phono (AKA RCA) socket. ISTR that traditional Astec modulators had this. They were used on many 1980s game consoles and non IBM PCs too (e.g. Sinclair Spectrums) .

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     
  6. abz_da_man

    abz_da_man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers lads...so basically i need a rf modulator, if im not mistaken?? nothing else to it??
    And can i modify a games console rf unit to do this job??
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    The Maplin one appears to do NICAM stereo according to their website, which isn't bad for £39.99, but if you have some electronics know-how, you should be able to modify the games modulator.
     

Share This Page

Loading...