Phone v digital camera

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Pepper544, Feb 6, 2014.

1. Pepper544

Pepper544
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello. Please excuse the very noobish question.

I am wanting to get a photo taken (kind of a portrait) and printed to approx 16" x 12" or 18" x 14".

I am assuming I will need a decent camera to take this.

I have an old fujifilm s6500 camera, 6.3 MP. I also have a 8mp new samsung phone camera.

My question is what will take the better pic to print at a bigger size?

I'm guessing the fujifilm camera will still be better then a phone camera even though it has lower mp. But I'm really new to any sort of photography apart from quick snaps on a phone.

2. AMc

AMc
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,274
    Photobox seem to think you'll be fine with anything over 4MP for A3 (about 11 1/2" x 16 1/2")
    Resolution Guide For Quality Digital Photo Prints - PhotoBox

My experience of cameraphones is they may have higher megapixel counts but the use more aggressive compression so although the original image might have been higher resolution, the final JPEG file will be a bit more smeary.

My gut feeling would be that an older digital camera should still take a more pleasing image than a new cameraphone, but the differences are smaller and smaller these days.
    The best way to be sure would be to take the picture with both and chose the better final result.

3. SanPedro

SanPedro

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +531
    iPhones and Sony phones take decent pics. My HTC sucks big time and that's a 5MP camera. My wife's HTC is an 8MP and it's marginally better. No idea on Samsung though...

As above, take the same pic with both. Your eyes will tell you which you prefer ;-)

4. shotokan101

shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +25,582