1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

phone extension confusion

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by bunyboy, Jan 28, 2004.

1. bunyboy

bunyboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15
    so.. i have an old second line master socket in the spare room which id like to reconnect to my main line and just use as an extension to plug my computer into for the internet..

i followed the wire from this socket down the stairs, the hallway and to the front door where is has been cut off 6 inches to the right of a junction box.. the main black bt line comes in thru a hole in the wood work above the front door to this junction box and a white wire (similar to the one thats cut off from the spare room) goes out the other side of the junction box, thru the wall and to my main line downstairs in the living room...

my question is:

if i can get the cut wire from the spare room to reach this junction box then what wires do i need to put where toget the upstairs line to work as an extension of the main line...

ive taken a picture of the junction box (with the lid off) to give an idea of what im dealing with but i dont have the facility to post it.. so if anyone thinks they can advise me i could mail it to them and be very grateful!

thanks

2. stegalv

stegalv

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +31
    if i remember correctly you can't use a master socket as an extension,just replace it with a extension socket, hardly cost anything,then use pins 2-3and 5 from the master to the extension
    as long as you match the 3 cable colours from master to extension you will be fine

3. WeirdFish

WeirdFish

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15