1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Phillips LCD 30PF9975 Picture Quality

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by sjp1966, Sep 10, 2005.

  1. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    I have just received a Phillips LCD 30PF9975. It Replaces an old Sanyo Widescreen TV and i have noticed that the picture quality seems a bit inferior to the old TVs.

    I have noticed that the picture can be a little blurry, or when you bring up menus on NTL digital TV that there is a fuzziness around them

    I am (hoping) sure that it is just me being unfamiliar with the set, can anyone advise me on what to check/change

    at the moment the Smart Picture is set to Normal, contrast is 70, Brightness 50, Colour 80, sharpness 0

    I am connecting via scart, the NTL digital box is set to RGB and the scart is in Ext1

    The DVD (touch wood) seems to be fine, that is also connected by scart (and thats scart in the setup sction of the DVD too) and that is in ext 2

    any help would be appreciated
     
  2. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    has no-one any experience with this?
     
  3. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    I have one and think its excellent on normal Sky TV.

    If its very blurry, it might not have pixel plus turned on, or it might be in progressive mode.

    I can't remember the menu option offhand, but I'll take a look when I get home.
     
  4. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks Richard, i would appreciate that, i will check when i get in too, so is Pixel Plus the one it SHOULD be on?

    Also do you connect via SCART or Component? (or other) i was thinking of trying to connect via component, but i have no experience with the format.
     
  5. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    The 9975 is not really one of the more advanced LCD's and has a few limitations in use.

    The very nature of LCD's is that they show up poorer signals rather more than old CRT's do. Your settings seem pretty good, and with PP running it should be OK. Don't sit too close - min 5 feet. Is the scart decent quality? Don't use one of those nasty plastic things!

    Jimmy
     
  6. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    That seems crazy that people will "upgrade" their TV but get a worse picture!!! that doesnt make sense to me.

    The SCART is a pretty good one, metal and gold plated, i got it from a specialist shop.

    I was playing with the setting and managed to clean up the picture a little, Pixel Plus is on, i altered the settings slightly based on my digital video essentials disk, although to me the blacks still look slightly grey, the picture has much improved.

    not sure if im 100% happy with it though, i need to get the greys to black :) and if i can do that AND set up the sound properly then im away
     
  7. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    you won't get the blacks properly black without sacrificing contrast - thats not this sets strong point.

    Although I think calling this a 'limited' set is a bit strong. PP is one of the better scaling technologies out there, and DVDs look fantastic compared to my old CRT.
     
  8. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    It may be worth trying your contrast a little lower. Certainly the 9986 works best at 63 as this is the setting hat runs the backlight at its dimmest - improving blacks.

    Jimmy
     
  9. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    DVDs look great, the only problem is the blacks not being black enough, but to be fair it is a minor point, when i used the DVE disk i set them to 2% above black and it isnt that bad i guess, i managed to turn the PP on and the overall quality has improved
     
  10. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    I may well try this setting to see what it looks like, do you have to adjust the brightness to compensate?
     
  11. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    I thought i would ressurect this thread as i have chnaged the connections to component and am having some problems

    Hi

    I posted this in another area but was ot sure if it was more suited to this thread.

    OK, I bought come component connections, plugged them into the TV and the DVD (Harman Kardon DVD 22) and set the DVD to progressive.

    The picture came up but it was push over to the right which i sorted by setting the TV to PAL rather than Auto, however there are now 2 problems.

    1, The picture shakes slightly from left to right
    2, there is interfearance (a bit like tracking on a video recrder) at the bottom of the screen.

    I can't seen to work out what is wrong, DVD amd TV is set to progressive! has anyone experienced this before? the TV is a Phillips 30" 30PF9975 LCD TV, below is a pic (albeit blurry) where you can see what i mean in the bottom left, i thought the problems was only with region 1 disks, as charlie and the chocolate factory seemd to work ok, but then ice age, which is region 2 had the same problem

    [​IMG]
     
  12. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    I am wondering if it is a fault with the TV/DVD Player, the Tech Support at Philips know nothing :(
     
  13. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    I am wondering if the TV is NTSC compatable???
     
  14. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    ok, after some investigation, i found an article here: http://www.homecinemachoice.com/cgi-bin/displayreview.php?reviewid=4542 which says the following when talking about connections? i

    ...and a single set of component video
    RCAs. Strangely, the latter won’t accept
    standard 576i from a DVD player but will
    accept 576p PAL progressive scan, so those
    with decks that only feed interlaced signals
    can’t use the connection. However, you can
    pipe high-def 1080i from a D-VHS player.
    For those who don’t own a PAL
    progressive scan DVD deck there are RGB
    Scart, S-video and composite video
    alternatives.

    am not sure if this is relevant for me as further on in the article it says:

    Movie Plus is disabled when using
    component video input, but this isn’t
    a problem as, for example, PAL prog
    scan pictures fed from Harman
    Kardon’s DVD30 looked sublime.

    I have a DVD 22 which is the next model down so they have been viewed on HK kit in these tests, what i am wondering though is could this be a problem with my region 1 disks as everything above mentions PAL

    although Philips confirm that the TV is NTSC compatable, but quite frankly im lost :(
     
  15. Analogue

    Analogue
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What aspect ratio settings are you using on the TV and DVD player? Why does the picture in your example not appear to fill the screen?
     
  16. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    using 16.9 both on the DVD player and on the TV. I noticed that when i change the TV Standard type on the DVD player setting from Auto to PAL it recenters the picture, but the interfearence/tracking type issue is still there.

    I have also been advised by Harman Kardon that the TV cannot accept Progressive Scan data, even though it says progressive scan on the product sheet, tell me is component automatcally progressive scan or are they two different things, scuse my ignorance.
     
  17. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    it would seem that it is a quirk with the TV

    Rental company brought another TV and it had the same problem, i though it was the player or the cable.

    took both the player and the cable to a specialist shop, plugged it in and all is ok, so anyone with a philpps 30pf9975 you may find you have the same issue when connecting via component.
     
  18. sennen

    sennen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have one of these LCDs and have used both a Pioneer DV-575 DVD and a Pinnacle ShowCenter 200 via progressive component at 575p (and 480p for R1 DVDs, with the DVD player set to auto-switch for PAL/NTSC). I have always received very good quality, full-screen pictures with no sign of the problems you describe.

    Component signals can be progressive or interlaced, but the TV only accepts progressive component signals. I'm not sure what would happen if you fed it an interlaced signal -- but I do know that attempting to feed it the wrong signal (e.g. 720p, which is unsupported) often causes a blank blue screen rather than a nobbled picture.

    I would first try and find out whether the DVD player is sending a progressive or interlaced signal. If you take it into a shop, some TVs will give you this information if you press the info button. Or maybe search for the information in the manual, or find a setting in the DVD setup.
    Failing that, I would try a different source, perhaps a different make of DVD player.
     
  19. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi Sennen

    Thanks for your reply. I tried Component via interlaced and get the blank blue screen, i read about the TV only takes a progressive component connection. I may try another DVD Player, although my dvd player with my cables worked perfectly on a Pioneer LCD screen when i took it for testing, whereas the same problem existed on another 9975 when they brought it in the replace.

    When you mention the 480p/575p/720p etc, are those switched automatically or do you need to manually do something for teh TV/player to run like that
     
  20. sennen

    sennen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    In short: I configured the DVD to switch, the TV automatically senses signal changes.

    The DVD player outputs 575p for PAL DVDs and 480p for NTSC DVDs. It makes the decision when the disc is loaded and switches the output signal automatically. Options via a power-on/button-holding-procedure were: PAL, NTSC and AUTO - I have it set to AUTO. I also had to enable progressive scan for the component outputs. The player was multi-region from purchase.

    I did not have to configure anything on the TV in order for it to be able to display the two formats. The TV senses the video mode and switches accordingly. The signal type can be confirmed with the 'info' button. When in either of these modes, the screen sizing options on the TV are reduced to only 4:3, 16:9 and widescreen -- which is the only choice you need to make manually (and the TV remembers your last selection.)

    Hope that helps.

    Edit: BTW, have you seen this thread (DVD Player Compatibility with Philips LCD)?
     
  21. sjp1966

    sjp1966
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks for that link, very handy. you have done pretty much what i have tried, DVD set to auto and also to pal, either way i got a dodgy pic, nothing to change on the TV. I would have to say though that there is somethin gin the player that the tv doesnt like, tried on 2 TVs of the same model, cruddy pic, tried on another pioneer perfect picture.

    not sure what i can do to solve it really, bar getting a new TV which i will inm feb when the rental agreement is up
     

Share This Page

Loading...