Phillips 42PFP5332D - green light and flashing red light

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by kinetic3, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I posted this same post in the below thread - and was told to start my own post/thread. Thanks in advance

    Btw I have not tried using a hair dryer on the board - but tonight I will - and will update post. Also I will post pictures later to help out.

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/plasma-televisions/400763-philips-plasma-blink-18.html

     
  2. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hair dryer did not work - post pictures later - still solid green light and 6 flashing red lights.

    Any help on this - could it be the power board? Or capacitors?

    Thanks
     
  3. arkinsee

    arkinsee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hello kinetic3 & mvrban

    does it smell 'fishy' ?

    Whats this ringed on pcb ?

    Good clear pictures what camera you using ?


    sorry :oops: posted to wrong person this was to mvrban
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 4, 2009
  4. rayferry

    rayferry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +133
    I had a look for known faults on this model but I'm afraid there are none listed, judging by your photo there is nothing obviously wrong with the capacitors in the power supply but you would need an ECR meter to check. It looks as though you will have to write it off or get an estimate for repair. A service manual may tell you what the sequence of LED's fault code is but it does point to a power supply problem.
     
  5. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    the picture arkinsee posted is not my board - its from a user with a 50 vs the 42 I currently own.

    Photos will be posted tonight - **crosses fingers**

    Would it be better to get a new power board or buy a "broken plasma for parts" tv from ebay?

    Just to make sure - the power board is the board in the middle of the tv?
    Also would calling Phillips do any good?
     
  6. arkinsee

    arkinsee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello kinetic3

    sorry my bad :rolleyes::oops:
     
  7. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    images attached - tell me what you think -
     

    Attached Files:

  8. rayferry

    rayferry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +133
    Nothing obviously wrong in the photos you supplied, the capacitor tops all look pretty flat but as I said without testing them with an ECR meter you can't be 100% sure. Can you look at the other PCB's in particular bulging capacitor tops they should be flat and not bulging it may give a clue as to where the fault lies.

    You may be able to source a replacement power supply board from ebay.

    Contacting Philips, they will probably refer you to dealer and a replacement power supply if aviailable would cost £200-£300.
     
  9. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whats an ECR meter? where can I find one?
    I can supply photos of the capicitors up close.... will try and do this tonight

    There are some boards on ebay - my concern is, if I buy a new board - how long before that one goes....??

    Thank you for your help really appreciate it!!!
     
  10. arkinsee

    arkinsee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    update please:hiya:
     
  11. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will get some photos tonight....

    But can someone tell me what an ECR is?
     
  12. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    It's "ESR"...Effective Series Resistance.
     
  13. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where do I find an ESR meter? And what does it do?

    Thanks
     
  14. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK I took more photos of the tv board capacitors....

    One thing a poster in the "tv on the blink" thread posted something about removing the the connectors to the main power board or the Y board... Anyway I am not sure if this matters or proves this is a power board issue. But when I removed one of the connectors (specifically two - i have a pic of them) to the board - no more flashing lights --- the tv wont turn on but hey I think I am getting somewhere...

    the first photo in the first row shows three connectors two white and one grey - the white ones if disconnected make the flashing lights go away - but specifically these two ...I can remove any other connector and the flashing green and then 6 red lights will still occur...

    Thanks again for the help
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  15. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just called phillips - just to "check" about warranty and service.

    Phillips does have a one year manufacturer's warranty and if anything goes wrong they will replace/fix the TV with no cost to me (seems decent). They would send out a tech to my place and fix the TV and then leave...

    **now for the extremely funny part**

    However, if I want to get a warranty (and was within the 1 year purchase date) I could purchase a 3 year warranty from Phillips for the amazingly low price of $600 usd. No warranty outside the 1 year manufacturer warranty.

    reference numbers
    Contact Phillips basic tech support USA - 1-888-744-5477
    Contact Phillips warranty service USA 1-866-309-9913

    The fun continues
     
  16. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    Are you saying this TV is still within warranty?
     
  17. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not sure about the warranty - I got the TV from a friend - I know he gave up on the TV about 6 months ago. And I just acquired it 2 weeks ago.

    What I am sure of is the boards inside the TV have a 2007 date... I could get lucky - I will try calling Phillips with the serial number later and seeing if its within the warranty period.

    If its not within the warranty period - I would like to try and fix it or get something from eBay. Which-ever would be easiest .... and of course cheapest.
     
  18. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My TV is out of warranty - 8-(
     
  19. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump

    Any help? Anything I can try? Should I try and locate an ESR meter? Buy new boards? How can I tell which board is bad?
     
  20. perceptionist87

    perceptionist87
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bern - Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +10
    Well, you really are systematically approaching the problem.

    Did I get this right?

    1) You purchase a broken TV and you are to repair the thing

    2) Then first thing is to produce a screwdriver and open up the Plasma TV's case by which you redeem your entire guarantee in the first place, regardless of buying date.

    3) And then you are calling Philips and seriously ask them whether or not you have guarantee on the TV which is probably spread all over in its different fragments by now?

    :rtfm:

    You might not believe this, but accidently I had exactly the same TV you have. Oh how I would like to help you, but If you would have posted BEFORE you open up your whole thing, it would have been one hell of a lot easier.

    Sorry, I am no technician.
     
  21. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    1) the tv was given to my by a friend - it has not been working for a while - about 6 months +

    2) The warranty call to Phillips was just to see if they would fix it vs me trying to replace a board which is bad. Going from the "philips tv on the blink" thread I figured people could help me solve my problem "systematically" by eliminating certain things that could easily determine what is wrong with the Plasma

    3) The pictures I posted show the TV still in one piece - which it is

    A very generous poster on here is sending me the service manual so I can figure out how to fix this.

    I will keep this thread up to date with any technical updates - for future posters who can learn from my experience.

    Thanks for your help!!

    kinetic
     
  22. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump - any advice/help please?
     
  23. zchornyak

    zchornyak
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kinetic, did you ever get that service manual? I have the same TV with the same problem and am going to attempt to repair it. If you have that manual and feel like sending it along it would be much appreciated. I'll let you know if I have any luck with the repair.

    Have you fixed yours yet?
     
  24. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did get the service manual - While I am a technical guy - I am not an electrical **technical** guy. Some of the stuff reads in Chinese to me.

    I even had a guy come out and look at it - he said it was the PCB (thats the main one in the center of the TV). He started to solder the bottom of the board - I asked him to stop before being charged 350 usd. He said Philips TVs are not the best and there can be varying things wrong with them even if two TVs display the same error.

    I wish I could tell what was wrong (if its a simple job of a capacitor or if it is a whole new board) - even the remote that was received with the set is not functional. I was going to buy a PCB off of ebay this week - I may hold off if you are going to try .

    PM me your email addy....

    btw please keep this thread going with any updates.... can you post pictures also?

    Thanks

    kinetic
     
  25. ced70

    ced70
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I heard that it was either the SSB or the power board. My TV flips the relay as soon as it is plugged in then I get flashing red lights. All fuses on all boards were okay. I am not sure what else to look at. Can anyone post or email the service manual?

    Thanks,
    Ced
     
  26. ced70

    ced70
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry my model is different but same issue 42PF9431D/37. Anyone know where to get parts?

    Thanks,
    Ced
     
  27. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  28. ced70

    ced70
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks I am downloading now. Hey got a question for you all I have a white box resistor on the power board that has gone bad. I double and triple checked them and one of them is bad. It is next to the 2 black relays. There are 2 white box resistors in series and one reads 4.7 and the other reads nothing as in it is not connected and when I try to read across the 2 together I get 0 but when I move to the other side of the faulty resistor it actually gives me 4.7 again. I believe the number on the bottom of my board is R8007. The board number I have is LJ44-00119A.

    How did you get your hands on that manual? I need one for the 42PF9431D/37. Thanks for your help.

    Ced
     
  29. kinetic3

    kinetic3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wish I could help on the electronic side....however I am no EE guy or a tv repair guy. Ive been searching for cheap parts for the TV so I can replace them.

    One of the board members on here sent the manual to me-- from the UK and I am in the USA so that was awesome!!

    Anyway - keep me updated on what is happening with your board and repairs.

    one more question how did you test the board - you can help me on - how did you test the resistors? Thanks

    kinetic3
     
  30. ced70

    ced70
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the updates. Basically all I did was put a multimeter across the pins of the resistor to see if I got any type of reading. If you get no reading (as in overload on my meter) when it is set to Ohms then you have no connection from one pin to the next which would be like a blown fuse for example. Resistors are like a fuse except they have something that backs off the power a little. The way I did it was I look on the back of the board and you have light green lines and a dark green board. The light green lines can help a little with how the circuit runs. It is not straight forward by no means but I would start near where the power source plugs in.

    Capacitors are a little more complicated. They, like many other components have a direction of flow of current so make sure and look at polarity when reading. I usually just try both ways and figure out which one works. With capacitors they should read well above 100K resistance, I usually say that anything under that classifies that there may be a leakage and it needs to be replaced.

    My hunch is on mine is that the power board may not be the problem. Since the resistor that I found was blown very close to the beginning of where the power source comes into the board it could be coming from somewhere else. However I can say that even when the resistor was blown I got a green LED on the other side of the board.

    Also I bypassed the first resistor to see if I could get anything. Please don't do that because now I am looking for 2 resistors. I burned the other white box resistor out.

    I am no guru either. It may sound complicated but I really don't know much about this. There are hundreds of components on these boards and a lot of them are digital circuitry which I have no way of testing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...