1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Phillips 28PW6006C

Discussion in 'TVs' started by sdavidsonuk, Mar 23, 2004.

  1. sdavidsonuk

    sdavidsonuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Killie - don't visit if you can help it
    Ratings:
    +68
    Hi all

    I'm currently looking at buying a 28PW6006 and just wanted to get your thoughts on the television.

    I gotta admit, I'm a total 'virgin' in the AV area and would gratefully accept any positive input.

    What marks would you give it out of 10? Overall? Sound? Picture Quality? etc.

    I also have an amplifier, dvd player, games consoles, etc. and would like to get the best performance out of them too.

    LMK please

    Thanks
    sdavidsonuk
     
  2. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    I've got a 24PW6006C.

    In it's price range it's excellent value with good picture and sound if you can put up with a slightly curved screen.
     
  3. sdavidsonuk

    sdavidsonuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Killie - don't visit if you can help it
    Ratings:
    +68
    Thanks eviljohn

    So you would recommend for its price then and haven't had problems with it at all?
     
  4. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    I've got the 28pw6006c as my bedroom TV. I have had no problems at all with it and the picture is very good with all sources. It was my main TV until I bought a 32" set.

    Cheers, Mylo
     
  5. sdavidsonuk

    sdavidsonuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Killie - don't visit if you can help it
    Ratings:
    +68
    Mylo
    Thanks for the info
    I guess maybe the problems were with older models or something.
    Ta
     
  6. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    No problems at all.

    The only thing is that on my 24" version the RGB scart is next to a protruding part of the case so I can't get a decent sized plug into it.

    Currently using RGB for Gamecube and S-Video on AV2 for DVD. I've also used composite in the past as an interim all with good results.

    It also produces an at least watchable picture from a VERY poor signal using my indoor aerial.

    As I mentioned, if you don't mind the curved screen it's a fantastic buy for picture, sound quality and ease of use. Plenty of nice features on it as well :smashin:
    I'd say it's best in the price bracket in every respect but it depends what you want from the TV (ie. perfectly flat screen)
     
  7. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    I think ALL TV sets have some problems, you just have to be lucky as much as anything. I got my mum & dad one of these and they love it. DVD even through composite is very good. The only downer is only 2 scart sockets & no Svideo socket hence the use of composite. Excellent apart from that.

    Cheers, Mylo:)
     
  8. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Mylo

    You know there's S-Vid on the second scart socket don't you? No auto-switching though.
     
  9. sdavidsonuk

    sdavidsonuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Killie - don't visit if you can help it
    Ratings:
    +68
    Mylo
    I'd probably only need two Scarts: 1 for DVD player and 1 for VCR. What would be my best set-up / choice of scarts sockets? And can I set-up the TV through my amplifier as well?

    I think I'd just plug the PS2 and Gamecube into the existing TV and save any problems (and cables everywhere).

    Thanks for your help
    sdavidsonuk
     
  10. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    DVD into scart 1 which is RGB (IIRC), video into scart 2. I used the 2 analogue audio out's to connect to my AV amp and it sounded pretty good.

    John, the set up at mums is a bit mad. Freeview box connected to the TV and to the video, video then connected to the TV. My theory is they can record off one while watching the other, didn't read the destructions as normal so I assume it's ok? Dvd uses composite and analogue audio in (camcorder input on side)
     
  11. sdavidsonuk

    sdavidsonuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Killie - don't visit if you can help it
    Ratings:
    +68
    Thanks Mylo, much appreciated.

    One last question ... what would be the best way to get my PS2 or Gamecube through my amp?
     
  12. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    It's always the digibox that causes the problems :rolleyes: They should ALL have an RGB passthrough!

    You'll have to use composite video from the PS2 and GC through the amp.
     
  13. sdavidsonuk

    sdavidsonuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Killie - don't visit if you can help it
    Ratings:
    +68
    Thanks evil
    :)
     
  14. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    In my setup I use the RGB scart for the Gamecube though as it can run at 60Hz.

    It depends how much of each you use but I'd consider swapping the DVD with the GC (ie. plugging the Gamecube in with an OFFICIAL RGB scart and routing the DVD through the amp).

    Depending on your amp, you should then be able to use S-Video from the DVD and PS2 into the amp and then into the TV.

    Then using something like this:
    http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=121&products_id=1467&
    You can plug the VCR into the second scart as well as the S-Vid output form the amp.

    That's how I run my setup but it entirely depends on where your picture quality priorities lie!
     

Share This Page

Loading...