1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips963saPAL questions from a Newbie

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Argento, Jan 19, 2003.

  1. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm considering taking back my Limit dvd player - too many problems for 4 days!

    I want to get a philips963saPAL - but have a couple of questions:

    1. Can It play DVD-Audio or any SACD? (6.1 output)

    2. I'm I right in saying that you need a special remote to enter the Pal progessive hack?

    3. If so, can anyone tell me of a supplier of this player that sells it with both the Region free and pal prog hack already done...

    4. Does it have compent out?


    Thanks for your help folks.


    Richard
     
  2. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like you need to do some more research....

    Can It play DVD-Audio or any SACD? (6.1 output)

    Its SACD only, and SACD is 5.1, not 6.1

    I'm I right in saying that you need a special remote to enter the Pal progessive hack?

    No you are wrong. The PAL-P hack can be made with the remote that ships with the player.

    If so, can anyone tell me of a supplier of this player that sells it with both the Region free and pal prog hack already done...

    Machines with the new 7.1.11 firmware don't need the PAL-P hack - its enabled by default. Most supplies will be able to get you MR, if not DIY with a 4 in 1 Remote, or Pronto.
     
  3. MontyUK

    MontyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Puddleduck,

    Is there a simple way to check the firmware version of the machine, via the menus etc ?

    Thanks,
     
  4. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Andy, The Home Theatre Forum says that It is DVD-A compatable......


    Rich
     
  5. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It will play DVD-A's if it has a Dolby Digital track (they play in ANY DVD player), but you won't be able to play the high-resolution Meridian encoded DVD-A content.

    If you want SACD and DVD-A you'd need a Universal player, like the Pioneer 656 for instance.
     
  6. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    To check the firmare:

    Press the System Menu button. Navigate to the leftmost menuitem. Go to "Access Control -> Status Window -> Low Power Standby"

    Keep pressing the Down button and your firmware revision will pop up on your TV screen.

    If you don't have 7.1.11 firmware do this:

    to hack, PAL-P press "Play", "159 222 023 00", "Play" on your 963SA remote.
     
  7. MontyUK

    MontyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Deleted . . .
     
  8. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    err.. thats why I just posted above!
     
  9. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, If I want pal & ntsc progressive, dts es & dd ex, dvd-a and SACD, multi-region, component output, 6.1 audio out - what DVD player should I get?

    Rich
     
  10. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a bit confused by your talk of dts es & dd ex and 6.1 out.

    DTS-ES and DD-EX is 6.1 (well DD-EX is matrixed 5.1...) and ALL players will output this via its Digital Bitstream. You just need an amplifier that can decode this.

    If you mean 6.1 via Analogue Out (pre-decoded) then there ain't no such animal. 6.1 in the context of DVD-A and SACD makes no sense as its a 5.1 format.

    At the moment, there is no universal player that is PAL and NTSC progressive, and also does SACD and DVD-A.
     
  11. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    BTW I agree with Limit is junk - I picked one up as a possible bedroom player, and I've never taken anything back to the store so quickly....
     
  12. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    At the moment, there is no universal player that is PAL and NTSC progressive, and also does SACD and DVD-A.

    How about if you skipped thje sacd.....


    Rich
     
  13. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK - But the Philips DVD963SA can do pal & ntsc progressive, dts es & dd ex SACD, multi-region, component output, 5.1 audio out.

    Is this correct?

    If so, I will order one!

    Rich
     
  15. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,560
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Yes!!

    Steve
     
  16. ebury

    ebury
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +12
    there is a universal player available from techtronics:pAL&ntsc prog,sacd,dvd-audio:pioneer 747(or at least they did-not sure about the 757i)
     
  17. Mark P

    Mark P
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  18. Mark P

    Mark P
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry, i put my question in rich's quote

    can anybody point me in the direction of one of these?.....i'm after one but havn't located any yet.

    thanks mark.
     
  19. Mark P

    Mark P
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, thanks to some helpful forum members, especially tim, i have just about decided to purchase the PHILIPS 963a.

    a quick question please, the player is sold as region 2 only. i am aware it can be made multi region, but how?, is it a difficult job as i can't seem to find a handset hack.

    once that i'm sure it WILL be able to be made multi region i will put in an order. am i right in also thinking that it needs to also be programmed to output progressive scan?.....again how?

    any help much appreciated, i'm looking foward to joining the 963A club.

    thank mark.
     
  20. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    The hacks are in " Philips 963SA due for release in October " thread.
    See post by jonny m on page 17. ( or just search jonny m's posts ).
     
  21. dejongj

    dejongj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice to see such a constructive statement. There are quite a lot of very happy Limit 9900SE owners. When you take a look on this and other forums you will see problems reported with the Philips as well.
    People are so impatient, when you have a problem get it fixed or exchange it but don't paint it all with the same brush....
     

Share This Page

Loading...