1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips Pronto Pro -- Import -- ?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Gliese 581c, Oct 9, 2002.

  1. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +523
    I live in the UK and want to buy the Pronto Pro remote. Cheapest Ive seen it in the UK is for £600.

    I see they are around $480-$550 in the US and would like to try and save cash on this, so I would like to buy from the US.

    Would buying a pronto pro from the US be ok ? Everything would work the same and I would have no troubles, would I ? Compatibility etc etc (I know I would need a stepdown transformer)

    Basically what I want to know if there are any pitfalls I should know about.. ?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. homethx

    homethx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +78
    You can get them from richer sounds for £5oo on line or in the shop if you tell them the on line price . everything will work the same just the charger is the problem and the RF as it's not legal in this country and you have to use the us ccf software.
     
  3. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    RF is not legal??? :confused:

    and surely the US software is the same as the UK!?

    ad
     
  4. homethx

    homethx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +78
    sorry you can use the software you just have to select the right model when it start up pronto edit . if you use the RF base station you can not use it in this country as that frequency is used for something else ? we use 433mhz usa use 418mhz .
     
  5. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +523
    what exactly does that mean ?

    I shouldnt buy it ? or ?

    From Richer sounds = £500
    From the US = £375 delivered

    Theres a big price difference right there. But I dont want to waste money.

    Thanks again
     
  6. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +523
    Ahhh, so the RF unit is the little addon that lets you use the remote in another setup in another room ?

    If it is, I dont need that RF unit. I just want the remote and the docking station...... ok to buy it now ?

    Thanks
     
  7. homethx

    homethx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +78
    read this on what i mean. buy it from the usa if only going to use IR only, watch out for import tax.
     
  8. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +523
    will it work here in the UK or not ?
     
  9. homethx

    homethx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +78
    yes it will
     
  10. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +523
    Thanks a lot :)
     
  11. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    the vat and duty may well add to make the uk and import price the same.

    ad
     

Share This Page

Loading...