Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

philips pronto 940 poorly!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by jimbo2, Jan 11, 2005.

  1. jimbo2

    jimbo2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    taunton,somerset
    Ratings:
    +7
    My 2 year old but not used much pronto 940 seems to be faulty. The display window illuminates when touched/activated but no graphics are visible as if the contrast setting is wrong. I`ve tried re-setting the remote, removing batterys for 10 mins and downloading different file to remote all to no avail.If I upload file to pronto edit though it still detects configuration file in remote and works on the emulator! Anybody have any ideas or experience of this fault please, gutted if its had it :eek: Any advice or thoughts greatly appreciated, cheers :smashin:
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +9,835
    Have you actually tried adjusting the contrast?
     
  3. jimbo2

    jimbo2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    taunton,somerset
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes I have adjusted contrast, the screen lights up green and emits the high pitch noise that most prontos seem to make, but there are no digits/black graphics showing what-so-ever. Adjusting contrast makes no difference. Any other ideas? :confused: Cheers.
     
  4. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,284
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,894
    Try a search on remote central , I think this is a common occurance (?)
    I had a look when I thought the kids had broken mine (pronto's , kids and laminate DON'T mix :blush: ) .Turned out it was just the contrast wheel after all with mine :blush: . Altho the backlight button does not work any more :mad:
    atb
    JS
     
  5. jaguar

    jaguar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +0
    Slowly getting the impression that Prontos have a bit dodgy build quality.
    Am I right?
     
  6. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,284
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,894
    Not any more than any other electronic device ,dropped onto a laminate floor by a 3 year old :laugh: .
    Don't think its fair to base that conclusion on the comments placed here .
    How many have failed , how many have been sold .
    JS
     
  7. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +9,835
    have you tried a complete reset, via the small hole on the bottom of the unit?
     
  8. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yep!
     
  9. jimbo2

    jimbo2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    taunton,somerset
    Ratings:
    +7
    :eek: Opened up pronto to find furry p.c.b board and a yellowish brown staining all over the case, funny how they dont work when a cup of tea is spilt all over them. Cleaned up board but its fried, courtesy of my darling 11 month old son, :lesson: :lesson: Bless`em!!
     
  10. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +9,835
    think of it, as a sign to upgrade to the colour version!
     
  11. jimbo2

    jimbo2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    taunton,somerset
    Ratings:
    +7
    Great idea MJN! That sure is a big frown on my mrs face :) Cheers for all the feedback
     
  12. SilverPenguin7

    SilverPenguin7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    I have dropped my old 2MB Pronto on my laminate flooring on a few occasions over the years and it still works as well today as it did the day I first got it!

    Thats not to say I haven't had that sick feeling come over me as I hear it bounce!! :eek:
     
  13. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +29
    Can sympathise with that. My gf is totally unsympathetic about making sure the Pronto isn't dropped on the floor and normally leaves it lying where it's going to get knocked off the sofa or table quite easily (especially if the cat is passing by!).

    I've lost count of the number of times that I've been called into the lounge to sort out a non-responsive Pronto after she's dropped it!
     
  14. mitch

    mitch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +607
    anybody know where i can get my pronto fixed?the backlight on the screen has stopped working
     
  15. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +9,835
    you can get spare parts directly from Philips
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice